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CROSS REFERENCES
See sectional histories for similar State law
Speed race defined - see TRAF. 335.04

301.01 MEANING OF WORDS AND PHRASES.

The following words and phrases when used in this Traffic Code shall, for the purpose of
this Traffic Code, have the meanings respectively ascribed to them in this article.
(WvaC 17C-1-1)

301.02 AUTHORIZED EMERGENCY VEHICLE.

"Authorized emergency vehicle" means vehicles of the Fire Department, duly chartered
rescue squad, Police Department, ambulance service, state, county or municipal agency and such
privately owned ambulances, tow trucks, wreckers, flag car services, vehicles providing road
service to disabled vehicles, service vehicles of a public service corporation, postal service
vehicles, snow removal equipment, Class A vehicles of firefighters, Class A vehicles of members
of ambulance services, and Class A vehicles of members of duly chartered rescue squads, and all
other emergency vehicles as are designated by the agency responsible for the operation and control
of these persons or organizations. Class A vehicles are as defined by West Virginia Code
17A-10-1. Agency authorization and emergency equipment are defined in West Virginia Code
17C-15-26. Agencies responsible for issuing authorization for emergency vehicle permits may
promulgate such regulations that are necessary for the issuance of permits for emergency vehicles.
(WVaC 17C-1-6)

301.03 BICYCLE.
"Bicycle" means every device which does not have a motor attached and which is propelled
by human power upon which any person may ride, having two tandem wheels either of which 1is

more than twenty inches in diameter.
(WVaC 17C-1-8)

301.04 BUS.

"Bus" means every motor vehicle designed for carrying more than seven passengers and
used for the transportation of persons; and every motor vehicle, other than a taxicab, designed and
used for the transportation of persons for compensation. (WVaC 17C-1-13)

301.05 BUSINESS DISTRICT.

"Business district" means the territory contiguous to and including a street or highway
when within any 600 feet along such highway there are buildings in use for business or industrial
purposes, including but not limited to hotels, banks or office buildings, railroad stations, and
public buildings which occupy at least 300 feet of frontage on one side or 300 feet collectively on
both sides of the street or highway.

(WVaC 17C-1-45)

301.06 CONTROLLED-ACCESS HIGHWAY.

"Controlled-access highway" means every highway, street or roadway in respect to which
owners or occupants of abutting lands and other persons have no legal right of access to or from
the same except at such points only and in such manner as may be determined by the public

y having jurisdiction over such highway, street or roadway.
17C-1-41)
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301.07 CROSSWALK.
"Crosswalk" includes:
(a) That part of a roadway at an intersection included within the connections of the
1 lines sidewal osite sides of the str highwa
the cu , in the of curbs, from the of the
roadway; and
(b) Any portion of a roadway at an intersection or elsewhere distinctly indicated for
pedestrian crossing by lines or other markings on the surface. (WVaC 17C-1-43)

301.08 DRIVER.
"Driver" means every person who drives or is in actual physical control of a vehicle.
(WVvacC 17C-1-31)

301.081 ELECTRIC PERSONAL ASSISTIVE MOBILITY DEVICE.

"Electric personal assistive mobility device" or "EPAMD" means a self-balancing, two
nontandem-wheeled device, designed to transport only one person, with an electric propulsion
system with average power of seven hundred fifty watts (one horse power), whose maximum
speed on a paved level surface, when powered solely by such a propulsion system while ridden
by an operator who weighs one hundred seventy pounds, is less than twenty miles per hour.
(WVaC 17C-1-66)

301.09 EXPLOSIVES.

"Explosives" means any chemical compound or mechanical mixture that is commonly used
or intended for the purpose of producing an explosive and which contains any oxidizing and
combustive units or other ingredients in such proportions, quantities or packing that an ignition
by fire, by friction, by concussion, by percussion or by detonator of any part of the compound
or mixture may cause such a sudden generation of highly heated gases that the resultant gaseous
pressures are capable of producing destructive effects on contiguous objects or of destroying life
or limb. (WVaC 17C-1-24)

301.10 FLAMMABLE LIQUID.

"Flammable liquid" means any liquid which has a flash point of seventy degrees
Fahrenheit, or less, as determined by a tagliabue or equivalent closedcup test device.
(WVaC 17C-1-25)

301.11 GROSS WEIGHT.
"Gross weight" means the weight of a vehicle without load plus the weight of any load
thereon. (WVaC 17C-1-26)

301.12 INTERSECTION.

"Intersection” includes:

(a) The area embraced within the prolongation or connection of the lateral curb lines
or, if none, then the lateral boundary lines of the roadways of two streets or
highways which join one another at, or approximately at, right angles, or the area
within which vehicles traveling upon different streets or highways joining at any
other angle may come in conflict; and

(b) Where a street or highway includes two roadways thirty feet or more apart, then
every crossing of each roadway of such divided street or highway by an
intersecting highway shall be regarded as a separate intersection. In the event such
intersecting street or highway also includes two roadways thirty feet or more apart,
then every crossing of two roadways of such streets or highways shall be regarded
as a separate intersection. (WVaC 17C-1-42)
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301.13 LANED ROADWAY.

"Laned roadway" means a roadway which is divided into two or more clearly marked lanes
for vehicular traffic.
(WVaC 17C-1-39)

301.14 MOPED.

"Moped" means every motorcycle or motor-driven cycle unless otherwise specified in this
Traffic Code, which is equipped with two or three wheels, foot pedals to permit muscular
propulsion and an independent power source providing a maximum of two brake horsepower. If
a combustion engine is used, the maximum piston or rotor displacement shall be fifty cubic
centimeters regardless of the number of chambers in such power source. The power source shall
be capable of propelling the vehicle, unassisted, at a speed not to exceed thirty miles per hour on
a level road surface and shall be equipped with a power drive system that functions directly or
automatically only, not requiring clutching or shifting by the operator after the drive system is
engaged.
(WVaC 17C-1-5a)

301.15 MOTORCYCLE.
"Motorcycle” means every motor vehicle having a seat or saddle for the use of the rider
and designed to travel on not more than three wheels in contact with the ground, but excluding

a tractor.
(WVvaC 17C-1-4)

301.16 MOTOR-DRIVEN CYCLE.
"Motor-driven cycle" means every motorcycle having a piston displacement of more than
fitty cubic centimeters but not more than 150 cubic centimeters, or with not more than five brake

horsepower.
(WVvaC 17C-1-5)

301.17 MOTOR VEHICLE.
"Motor vehicle" means every vehicle which is self-propelled and every vehicle which is
propelled by electric power obtained from overhead trolley wires, but not operated upon rails,

aveant matnrizad whaalrhaire Ao 17012\
SXCEPL MCIOriZed wacdiiaairs, (wvacv J/L-1-2)

301.18 OWNER.

"Owner" means a person who holds the legal title of a vehicle or in the event a vehicle is
the subject of an agreement for the conditional sale or lease thereof with the right of purchase
upon performance of the conditions stated in the agreement and with an immediate right of
possession vested in the conditional vendee or lessee, or in the event a mortgagor of a vehicle is
entitled to possession, then such conditional vendee or lessee or mortgagor shall be deemed the
owner for the purpose of this Traffic Code.

(WVvaC 17C-1-32)

301.19 PARK.
"Park" when prohibited, means the standing of a vehicle, whether occupied or not,

otherwise than temporarily for the purpose of and while actually engaged in loading or unloading.
(WVaC 17C-1-54)
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301.20 PARKING AREA.

"Parking area" means lots, areas or other accommodations for the parking of vehicles off
the street or highway and open to public use with or without charge.
(WVvaC 17C-1-60)

301.201 PASSENGER VAN.

"Passenger van" means any van or other motor vehicle owned by any agency, business or
other legal entity and operated for the purpose of transportation of children under the age of
eighteen years, other than a van utilized for private use, taxicab, bus or school bus. Passenger
vans include, but are not limited to, vehicles used by daycare centers, after-school centers and
nursery schools: provided, that the term "passenger van" does not include any van or other motor
vehicle which is utilized for the specific purpose of transporting children to medical facilities for
the purpose of medical or dental treatment and which loads and unloads the children on private
property, making no stops for loading or unloading along public roads or highways.

(WVaC 17C-1-64)

301.21 PEDESTRIAN.
"Pedestrian" means any person afoot or any person using a wheelchair.
(WvaC 17C-1-30)

301.22 PERSON.
"Person" means every natural person, firm, copartnership, association or corporation.
(WVaC 17C-1-29)

301.23 POLE TRAILER.

"Pole trailer" means every vehicle without motive power designed to be drawn by another
vehicle and attached to the towing vehicle by means of a reach, or pole, or by being boomed or
otherwise secured to the towing vehicle and ordinarily used for transporting long or irregularly
shaped loads such as poles, pipes, trusses or structural members capable, generally, of sustaining
themselves as beams between the supporting connections. (WVaC 17C-1-17)

301.24 POLICE OFFICER.
"Police officer" means every officer authorized to direct or regulate traffic or to make
arrests for violations of traffic regulations. (WVaC 17C-1-33)

301.25 PRIVATE ROAD OR DRIVEWAY; PRIVATE PROPERTY.

(a) "Private road" or "driveway" means every way or place in private ownership and
used for vehicular travel by the owner and those having express or implied permission from the
owner, but not by other persons.

(b) “Private property” means real estate in private ownership without regard to the
manner in which it is used. (WVaC 17C-1-36)

301.26 RAILROAD.
"Railroad" means a carrier of persons or property, upon cars, other than streetcars,
operated upon stationary rails. (WVaC 17C-1-21)

301.27 RAILROAD SIGN OR SIGNAL.

"Railroad sign" or "signal" means any sign, signal or device erected by authority of a
public body or official or by a railroad and intended to give notice of the presence of railroad
tracks or the approach of a railroad train. (WVaC 17C-1-49)
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301.28 RAILROAD TRAIN.

"Railroad train" means a steam engine, electric or other motor, with or without cars
coupled thereto, operated upon rails, except streetcars.
(WVaC 17C-1-22)

301.29 RESIDENCE DISTRICT.

"Residence district" means the territory contiguous to and including a street or highway
not comprising a business district when the property on such street or highway for a distance of
300 feet or more is in the main improved with residences or residences and buildings in use for

business.
(WVaC 17C-1-46)

301.30 RESIDENTIAL STREET.

"Residential street" means the entire width between the boundary lines of every way,
whether publicly or privately maintained, located within any subdivision, development or other
similar area used primarily for residential purposes when any part thereof is open to the common

use of those living in such area for the purpose of vehicular travel.
(WVaC 17C-1-62)

301.31 RIGHT OF WAY.
"Right of way" means the privilege of the immediate use of the street or highway.
(WVaC 17C-1-51)

301.32 ROADWAY.

"Roadway" means that portion of a street or highway improved, designed or ordinarily
used for vehicular travel, exclusive of the berm or shoulder. In the event a street or highway
includes two or more separate roadways, the term "roadway" as used herein shall refer to any

such roadway separately but not to all such roadways collectively.
(WVaC 17C-1-37)

301.33 SAFETY ZONE.
"Safety zone" means the area or space officially set apart within a roadway for the
exclusive use of pedestrians and which is protected or is so marked or indicated by adequate signs

as to be plainly visible at all times while set apart as a safety zone.
(WVaC 17C-1-44)

301.34 SCHOOL BUS.
"School bus" means every motor vehicle owned by a public or governmental agency and
operated for the transportation of children to or from school, or privately owned and operated for

compensation for the transportation of children to or from school.
(WvaC 17C-1-7)

301.35 SCHOOL GROUNDS.

"School grounds" includes the land on which a school is built together with such other land
used by students for play, recreation or athletic events while attending school.
(WVaC 17C-1-55)

301.36 SEMITRAILER.
"Semitrailer" means every vehicle with or without motive power, other than a pole trailer,
designed for carrying persons or property and for being drawn by a motor vehicle and so

constructed that some part of its weight and that of its load rests upon or is carried by another
vehicle. (WVaC 17C-1-16)
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301.37 SIDEWALK.

"Sidewalk" means that portion of a street or highway between the curb lines, or the lateral
lines of a roadway, and the adjacent property lines intended for the use of pedestrians.
(WVaC 17C-1-38)

301.38 STOP.
"Stop" when required, means complete cessation from movement.
(WvaC 17C-1-52)

301.39 STOP, STOPPING OR STANDING.

"Stop"”, "stopping," or "standing," when prohibited, means any stopping or standing of
a vehicle, whether occupied or not, except when necessary to avoid conflict with other traffic or
in compliance with the directions of a police officer or traffic control sign or signal.

(WVaC 17C-1-53)

301.40 STREET OR HIGHWAY; ALLEY.
(a) "Street" or "highway" means the entire width between the boundary lines of every
way publicly maintained when any part thereof is open to the use of the public for purposes of

vehicular travel.
(WVacC 17C-1-35)

b) "Alley" means a street or highway intended to provide access to the rear or side
of lots or buildings in urban districts and not intended for the purpose of through vehicular traffic.

301.41 THROUGH STREET OR THROUGH HIGHWAY.

"Through street" or "through highway" means every street or highway or portion thereof
at the entrances to which vehicular traffic from intersecting streets or highways is required by law
to stop before entering or crossing the same and when stop signs are erected as provided in this
Traffic Code.

(WVaC 17C-1-40)

301.42 TRAFFIC.
"Traffic" means pedestrians, ridden or herded animals, vehicles, streetcars and other

conveyances either singly or together while using any street or highway for purposes of travel.
(WVaC 17C-1-50)

301.43 TRAFFIC CONTROL DEVICES.

“Traffic control device" means any sign, signal, marking and device not inconsistent with
this Traffic Code placed or erected by authority of a public body or official having jurisdiction,
for the purpose of regulating, warning or guiding traffic.

(WVaC 17C-1-47)

301.44 TRAFFIC CONTROL SIGNAL.

"Traffic control signal" means any device, whether manually, electrically or mechanically
operated, by which traffic is alternately directed to stop and to proceed.
(WVaC 17C-1-48)
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301.45 TRAILER.

"Trailer" means every vehicle with or without motive power, other than a pole trailer,
designed for carrying persons or property and for being drawn by a motor vehicle and so
constructed that no part of its weight rests upon the towing vehicle.

(WVaC 17C-1-15)

301.46 TRUCK.

"Truck" means every motor vehicle designed, used or maintained primarily for the
transportation of property
(WvaC 17C-1-12)

301.47 VEHICLE.
hic ce w any person or is or may be
or or pt ces moved by ower or used
up tr eelchairs.
(WVaC 17C-1-2)

301.48 WHEELCHAIR.

"Wheelchair" means a motorized or nonmotorized wheeled device designed for, and used
by, a person with disabilities that is incapable of a speed in excess of eight miles per hour.
(WVaC 17C-1-65)
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OFFICIALS.

303.01 AUTHORITY OF POLICE AND FIRE DEPARTMENT

(@ It shall be the duty of the officers of the Police Department to enforce all street

traffic laws of this Municipality and all of the State vehicle laws applicable to street traffic in this
Municipality .

(b)

Officers of the Police Department are hereby authorized to direct all traffic by

voice, hand or signal in conformance with traffic laws; provided that in the event of a fire or other
emergency or to expedite traffic or to safeguard pedestrians, officers of the Police Department
may direct traffic as conditions may require notwithstanding the provisions of the traffic laws.

©

Officers of the Fire Department, when at the scene of a fire, may direct or assist

the police in directing traffic thereat or in the immediate vicinity.
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303.02 APPLICATION TO VEHICLES UPON STREETS AND
HIGHWAYS; EXCEPTIONS.
The provisions of this Traffic Code relating to the operation of vehicles refer exclusively
to the operation of vehicles upon streets and highways except:
(a) Where a different place is specifically referred to in a given section.
(b) The provisions of this Traffic Code except Article 347 shall apply upon streets and
highways as defined in Section 351.06.
(WVaC 17C-2-1)

303.03 OBEDIENCE TO POLICE OFFICERS; FLEEING.
(a) No person shall willfully fail or refuse to comply with a lawful order or direction
of any police officer or designated special officer invested by law with authority to direct, control

or regulate traffic.
(WVvaC 17C-2-3(c))

(b) No person shall operate a vehicle so as to willfully elude or flee a police officer or
designated special officer after receiving a visible or audible signal from such an officer to bring
his vehicle to a stop.

303.04 APPLICATION TO GOVERNMENT VEHICLES; EXCEPTION.

(a) The provisions of this Traffic Code applicable to the drivers of vehicles upon the
streets or highways shall apply to the drivers of all vehicles owned or operated by the United
States, this State, or any county, Municipality, town, district or any other political subdivision of
the State, except as provided in this section and subject to such specific exceptions as are set forth
in this Traffic Code with reference to authorized emergency vehicles.

(b) Unless specifically made applicable, the provisions of this Traffic Code shall not
apply to persons, teams, motor vehicles and other equipment while actually engaged in work upon
the surface of a street or highway but shall apply to such persons and vehicles when traveling to
or from such work.

(WVaC 17C-2-4)

303.05 AUTHORIZED EMERGENCY VEHICLES.

(a) The driver of an authorized emergency vehicle, when responding to an emergency
call or when in the pursuit of an actual or suspected violator of the law or when responding to but
not upon returning from a fire alarm, may exercise the privileges set forth in this section, but
subject to the conditions herein stated.

b) The driver of an authorized emergency vehicle may:
(1) Park or stand, irrespective of the provisions of this Traffic Code;
2) Proceed past a red or stop signal or stop sign, but only after slowing down
as may be necessary for safe operation;
3) Exceed the speed limits so long as he does not endanger life or property;
4) Disregard regulations governing direction of movement or turning in
specified directions.
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(©) The exemptions herein granted to an authorized emergency vehicle shall apply only
when the driver of any such vehicle while in motion sounds audible signal by bell, siren or exhaust
whistle as may be reasonably necessary, and when the vehicle is equipped with at least one lighted
flashing lamp as authorized by Section 345.18 which is visible under normal atmospheric
conditions from a distance of 500 feet to the front of such vehicle, except that an authorized
emergency vehicle operated as a police vehicle need not be equipped with or display a warning
light visible from in front of the vehicle.

(d) The foregoing provisions shall not relieve the driver of an authorized emergency
vehicle from the duty to drive with due regard for the safety of all persons, nor shall such
provisions protect the driver from the consequences of his reckless disregard for the safety of
others.

(WVaC 17C-2-5)

303.06 APPLICATION TO PERSONS RIDING ANIMALS OR DRIVING
ANIMAL-DRAWN VEHICLES.
Every person riding an animal or driving any animal-drawn vehicle upon a roadway shall
be granted all of the rights and shall be subject to all of the duties applicable to the driver of a
vehicle by this Traffic Code, except those provisions of this Traffic Code which by their very
nature can have no application.
(WVaC 17C-2-6)

303.07 IMPOUNDING OF VEHICLES; REDEMPTION.
Police officers are authorized to provide for the removal and impounding of a vehicle under
the following

(a) icle is left unattended upon any street, bridge or causeway and is so
illegally parked so as to constitute a hazard or obstruction to the normal movement
of traffic, or so as to unreasonably interfere with street cleaning or snow removal
operations.

(b) When any vehicle has been abandoned or junked on private or public property as
provided in

© When any v t the consent of the

(d) When any vehicle displays ille fails to display the t
lawfully required license plates.

(e) When any vehicle has been used in or connected with the commission of a felony.

® When any vehicle has been damaged or wrecked so as to be inoperable or violates
nt p f this Traffic \Y% Code 17C-15
its operation wo a on ha to life,

limb or property.

(g) When any vehicle is left unattended due to the removal of an ill, injured or arrested
operator.

(h) When any vehicle has been operated by any person who has failed to stop in case
of a crash or collision.

(i) When any vehicle has been operated by any person who is driving without a lawful
license or while his license has been suspended or revoked.

2010 Replacement
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§)) When any vehicle is found for which two or more citation tags for violations of this
Traffic Code have been issued and the owner or operator thereof has failed to
respond to such citation tags as lawfully required.

Any vehicle removed under authority of subsection (b) hereof shall be disposed of as
provided under West Virginia Code Article 17-24. Any other vehicle removed under authority
of this section shall be ordered into storage and the Police Department shall forthwith notify the
registered vehicle owner of the fact of such removal and impounding, reasons therefor and the
place of storage. Any person desiring to redeem an impounded vehicle shall appear at the Police
Department to furnish satisfactory evidence of identity and ownership or right to possession. Prior
to issuance of a release form, the claimant, owner or operator shall either pay the amount due for
any fines for violations on account of which such vehicle was impounded or, as the court may
require, post a bond in an amount set by the court, to appear to answer to such violations. The
pound operator shall release such vehicle upon the receipt of the release form and payment of all
towage and storage charges.

303.08 RIGHTS OF OWNERS OF REAL PROPERTY.

Nothing in this Traffic Code shall be construed to prevent an owner of real property used
by the public for purposes of vehicular travel by permission of the owner and not as matter of right
from prohibiting such use, or from requiring other or different or additional conditions than those
specified in this Traffic Code, or otherwise regulating such use as may seem best to such owner.
(WVaC 17C-2-9)

303.09 TRAFFIC VIOLATION CITATIONS; WARNING CITATION.

The Chief of the Police Department is authorized and directed to supply police officers
with tags or tickets for warning citations in addition to the tags or tickets used for traffic violation
citations.

Warning citations may be issued only for the following offenses and in the following
circumstances:

(a) Minor speeding violations.

(b) Disobedience of traffic signs or signals within a ten-day period immediately after

the installation thereof, where such disobedience is unintentional.

(c) Defective vehicle violations which defects do not pose an immediate grave danger
to safety. Such a warning citation shall order the repair of the defects within five
days or less, after which period the violator will be subject to arrest.

(d Expired operator’s license, expired registration plates and expired inspection
sticker violations occurring within ten days of such expiration.

Provided, however, that no more than two warning citations shall be issued to an individual
within a ninety-day period, and in no event shall more than one warning for the same offense be
issued to an individual within a ninety-day period. Provided further than no warning citations
shall be allowable where multiple violations occur during the same transaction or occurrence.

The Chief of Police shall have the authority to establish the procedure, for the form,
issuance, filing and checking of warning citations, and to change the same from time to time.
(1987 Code 15A-2-8)

2010 Replacement
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303.10 RECORD OF TRAFFIC VIOLATIONS.
a
d
t
violations, including but not limited to, a record of every conviction, forfeiture of bail, judgment
of acquittal and the amount of fine or forfeiture resulting from every traffic complaint deposited
with or presented to such Court.
(1987 Code 15A-2-9)

303.11 INTERFERING WITH CITY EMPLOYEES.
No driver or operator of any vehicle shall interfere in any manner with the employees of
the City in the discharge of their duties. Sufficient room shall at all times be given to such

employees to continue their work without interruption.
(1987 Code 15A-2-10)

303.12 PARTIES TO A CRIME.
Every person who commits, attempts to commit, conspires to commit, or knowingly aids
or abets in the commission of, any act declared herein to be a crime, whether individually or in

connection with one or more other persons or as a , agent or accessory, shall be guilty
of such offense, and every person who falsely, illfully induces, causes,
coerces, requires, permits or directs another to violate of this Traffic Code is

likewise guilty of such offense.
(1987 Code 15A-2-12)

303.13 OFFENSES BY PERSONS OWNING OR CONTROLLING VEHICLES.

It is unlawful for the owner, or any other person, employing or otherwise directing the
driver of any vehicle to require or knowingly to permit the operation of such vehicle upon a
highway in a er y to law.

If the fa vehicle is present in the vehicle at the time when another driver
is operating the vehicle upon the
D With defec ment in violation of Article 345;
2) In violation of the weight, height, length or width provisions of Article
347;

3) With improper registration in violation of Article 351; or
“4) With an expired vehicle inspection decal or certificate in violation of
Section 345.32,
the owner rather than the driver shall be arrested for any violation enumerated herein in lieu of
an arrest of the driver. If the owner of the vehicle is not present therein, then the driver shall be
arrested for any violation enumerated in this section.
(1987 Code 15A-2-13)

303.99 PENALTY.
Whoever violates any p f this Traffic r which no other penalty is provided
shall be fined not more than fi d dollars ($5
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ARTICLE 305
Traffic Control

305.01 Authority of Council as to
traffic control signs.

CROSS REFERENCES
Uniformity with State law required - see W. Va. Code
17C-2-7
Powers of Municipality - see W. Va. Code 17C-2-8

305.01 AUTHORITY OF COUNCIL AS TO TRAFFIC CONTROL
SIGNS.

Any sign erected by Council pursuant to authority contained in this Traffic Code may be
ordered changed or removed by Council; and nothing in this Traffic Code shall be construed as
limiting the authority of Council from directing that traffic control signs be erected in such form
and at such places as Council may deem proper.

(1987 Code 15A-3-1)
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CHAPTER THREE - Streets and Traffic Control Devices
Art. 311. Street Obstructions and Special Uses.
Art. 313. Traffic Control Devices.

ARTICLE 311
Street Obstructions and Special Uses

311.01 Placing injurious material 311.04 Parades and assemblages.
in street. 311.05 Roller skates, bicycles, etc.
311.02 Play streets. on sidewalks.
311.03 Toy vehicles on streets. 311.99 Penalty.
CROSS REFERENCES

See sectional histories for similar State law
Authority to prohibit littering in streets - see
W. Va. Code 8-12-5(3)
Authority to regulate processions or assemblages -
see W. Va. Code 17C-2-8(a)(3)
Dropping, leaking loads - see TRAF. 347.04

311.01 PLACING INJURIOUS MATERIAL IN STREET.

(a) No person shall throw or deposit upon any street or highway any glass bottle, glass,
nails, tacks, wire, cans or any other substance likely to injure any person, animal or vehicle upon
such street or highway.

(b) Any person who drops, or permits to be dropped or thrown, upon any street or
highway any destructive or injurious material shall immediately remove the same or cause it to
be removed.

©) Any person removing a wrecked or damaged vehicle from a street or highway shall
remove any glass or other injurious substance dropped upon the street or highway from such
vehicle.
(WVaC 17C-14-11)

(d) No person shall throw, place or deposit upon any street or highway any material,
article or substance which injures or damages, or is likely to injure or damage, the street or
highway.
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311.02 PLAY STREETS.

(@) No person shall use the public streets, highways, alleys, thoroughfares, roads or
avenues of the Municipality for the purpose of engaging in or playing any games or athletic
activities, except public ways specifically set aside for such purposes.

(b) When authorized signs are erected indicating any street or part thereof as a play
street, no person shall drive a vehicle upon any such street or highway or portion thereof except
drivers of vehicles having business or whose residence is within such closed area, and then any
such driver shall exercise the greatest care in driving upon any such street or highway or portion
thereof.

311.03 TOY VEHICLES ON STREETS.

No person on roller skates or riding in or by means of any sled, toy vehicle, skateboard
or similar device shall go upon any roadway except while crossing a street on a crosswalk and
except on streets set aside as play streets.

311.04 PARADES AND ASSEMBLAGES.

No person, group of persons or organization shall conduct or participate in any parade,
assemblage or procession other than a funeral procession upon any street or highway, or block
off any street or highway area, without first obtaining a permit from the Police Chief.

Applications for such permit shall be made on such forms as may be prescribed and shall
contain such information as is reasonably necessary to a fair determination of whether a permit
should be issued. Applications shall be filed not less than five days before the time intended for
such parade, procession or assemblage.

The permit may be refused or canceled if:

(a) The time, place, size or conduct of the parade including the assembly areas and
route of march would unreasonably interfere with the public convenience and safe
use of the streets and highways.

(b)  The parade would require the diversion of so great a number of police officers to
properly police the line of movement, assembly area and areas contiguous thereto
so as to deny normal police protection to the Municipality.

() The parade route of march or assembly areas would unreasonably interfere with
the mavamant nf nalina vahirlaoo fira fichtino anminmant Ar amhoilanca carvina
the movement of police vehicles, fire fighting equipment or ambulance service to
other areas of the Municipality.

(d) The parade would unreasonably interfere with another parade for which a permit
has been issued.

) The information contained in the application is found to be false, misleading or
incomplete in any material detail.

H An emergency such as a fire or storm would prevent the proper conduct of the
parade.
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The permit or any order accompanying it may limit or prescribe reasonable conditions,
including the hours, the places of assembly and of dispersal, the route of march or travel and the
streets, highways or portions thereof which may be used or occupied.

311.05 ROLLER SKATES, BICYCLES, ETC. ON SIDEWALKS.

No person shall use roller skates, coasters, tricycles, small wagons or any other device of
similar nature on wheels or runners, on any sidewalk in such a manner as to become a nuisance
or so as to endanger life, limb or property.

(1987 Code 15B-1-5)

311.99 PENALTY.
(EDITOR'S NOTE: See Section 303.99 for general Traffic Code penalty.)



L&
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ARTICLE 313

Traffic Control Devices

313.05
313.06

Obedience to traffic
control devices.
Obedience to traffic
control instructions at
street construction.
Traffic control signal
terms and lights.
Pedestrian control
signals.

313.01
313.02

313.07
313.03
313.04 313.08

313.99

Flashing traffic signals.
Unauthorized signs and
signals, hiding from
view, advertising.
Alteration, injury, re-
moval of traffic’
control devices.

Traffic violations in
construction zones.
Penalty.

CROSS REFERENCES

See sectional histories for similar State law
Authority to place traffic devices - see

W. Va. Code 17C 2), 17C-3-3
Placing traffic control devices on State highways -

see W. Va. Code 17C-2-8(b), 17C-3-2
Local regulations requiring traffic control devices -

see W. Va. Code 17C-2-8(c)
Traffic control devices defined - see TRAF. 301.43
Traffic control signal defined - see TRAF. 301.44

313.01 OBEDIENCE TO TRAFFIC CONTROL DEVICES.

(a) The driver of any vehicle shall obey the instructions of any official traffic control
device ic hereto ed in acc with the provisions of this Traffic Code, unless
otherw ir by a tr or police subject to the exceptions granted the driver of an

authorized emergency vehicle in this Traffic Code.

(b)

No provision of this Traffic Code for which signs are required shall be enforced

though no signs are erected or in place.
(WVaC 17C-3-4)
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313.02 OBEDIENCE TO TRAFFIC CONTROL INSTRUCTIONS AT
STREET CONSTRUCTION.

The driver of any vehicle shall obey the traffic-control instructions of any law enforcement
officer or persons authorized by the Commissioner of Highways or by proper local authorities to
operate traffic control devices, act as flagmen or operate authorized vehicles engaged in work at
or near the site of street or highway construction maintenance work, for the purpose of regulating,

or gui ffic, subject to the exceptions granted the driver of an authorized emergency
n this Code.
(WVaC 17C-3-4a)

313.03 TRAFFIC CONTROL SIGNAL TERMS AND LIGHTS.

Whenever traffic is controlled by traffic control signals exhibiting the words "go,"
"caution” or "stop," or exhibiting different colored lights successively one at a time, or with
arrows, the following colors only shall be used and such terms and lights shall indicate and apply
to drivers of vehicles and pedestrians as follows:

(a) Green alone or "go":

(1) Vehicular traffic facing the signal, except when prohibited under Section
343.02, may proceed straight through or turn right or left unless a sign at
such place prohibits either such turn. But vehicular traffic, including
vehicles turning right or left, shall yield the right of way to other vehicles
and to pedestrians lawfully within the intersection or an adjacent crosswalk
at the time such signal is exhibited.

(2) Pedestrians facing the signal may proceed across the roadway within any
marked or unmarked crosswalk.

(b) Yellow en
(1) th "
su c

shall not enter or be crossing the intersection when the red or "stop" signal
is exhibited.

) Pedestrians facing such signal are thereby advised that there is insufficient
time to cross the roadway, and any pedestrian then starting to cross shall
yield the right of way to all vehicles.

{C) Red aione of "siop".

(1)

2) A vehicle which is stopped in obedience to a red or "stop" signal as close
as practicable at the entrance to the crosswalk on the near side of the

proceeding as directed by the si such intersect except that
Council may by ordinance prohib uch right turn nst a red or
"stop" signal at any intersection which ordinance shall be effective when
a sign is erected at such intersection giving notice thereof.
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(d

(e)

Traffic Control Devices 313.05

3) A vehicle which is stopped in obedience to a red or "stop" signal as close
as practicable at the entrance to the crosswalk on the near side of the
intersection or, if none, then at the entrance to the intersection on a
one-way street which intersects another one-way street on which traffic
moves to the left, may cautiously make a left turn into the one-way street
but such vehicle shall yield the right of way to pedestrians lawfully within
a crosswalk and to other vehicular traffic proceeding as directed by the
signal at such intersection, except that Council may by ordinance prohibit
any such left turn against a red or "stop" signal at any intersection, which
ordinance shall be effective when a sign is erected at such intersection
giving notice thereof.

4) No pedestrian facing such signal shall enter the roadway unless he can do
so safely and without interfering with any vehicular traffic.

Red with green arrow:

(1) Vehicular traffic facing such signal may cautiously enter the intersection
only to make the movement indicated by such arrow but shall yield the
right of way to pedestrians lawfully within a crosswalk and to other traffic
lawfully using the intersection.

2) No pedestrian facing such signal shall enter the roadway unless he can do
so safely and without interfering with any vehicular traffic.

In the event an official traffic control signal is erected and maintained at a place
other than an intersection, the provisions of this section shall be applicable except
as to those provisions which by their nature can have no application. Any stop
required shall be made at a sign or marking on the pavement indicating where the
stop shall be made, but in the absence of any such sign or marking the stop shall
be made at the signal.

(Ord. 4-28-03.)

313.04 PEDESTRIAN CONTROL SIGNALS.
Whenever special pedestrian control signals exhibiting the words "walk" or "wait" are in
place such signals shall indicate as follows:

(a)

(b)

Walk. Pedestrians facing such signal may proceed across the roadway in the
direction of the signal and shall be given the right of way by the drivers of all
vehicles.

Wait. No pedestrian shall start to cross the roadway in the direction of such
signal, but any pedestrian who has partially completed his or her crossing on the
walk signal shall proceed to a sidewalk or safety island while the wait signal is
showing.

(WVaC 17C-3-6)

313.05 FLASHING TRAFFIC SIGNALS.
Whenever an illuminated flashing red or yellow signal is used in a traffic sign or signal
it shall require obedience by vehicular traffic as follows:
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(a) When a red lens is illuminated with rapid intermittent
flashes, drivers of vehicles shall stop before entering the nearest crosswalk at an
intersection or at a limit line when marked, or, if none, then before entering the
intersection and the right to proceed shall be subject to the rules applicable after
making a stop at a stop sign.

(b) When a yellow lens is illuminated with rapid
intermittent flashes, drivers of vehicles may proceed through the intersection or
past such signal only with caution.

(WVvaC 17C-3-7)

313.06 UNAUTHORIZED SIGNS AND SIGNALS, HIDING FROM VIEW,
ADVERTISING.

(a) No local authority or person shall place, maintain or display upon or in view of any
street or highway any unauthorized traffic control device or traffic control signal, or any
unauthorized sign, signal, marking or device which purports to be or is an imitation of or
resembles an official traffic control device or railroad sign or signal, or which attempts to direct
the movement of traffic or which hides from view or interferes with the effectiveness of any
official traffic control device or any railroad sign or signal, and no person shall place or maintain
nor shall any public authority permit upon any street or highway any traffic control device bearing
thereon any commercial advertising. This shall not be deemed to prohibit the erection upon
private property adjacent to a street or highway of signs giving useful directional information and
of a type that cannot be mistaken for official signs.

(b) Every such prohibited device, signal, sign or marking is hereby declared to be a
public nuisance and the Commissioner of Highways or other authority having jurisdiction over
the street or highway is hereby empowered to remove the same or cause it to be removed without
notice.

(WVaC 17C-3-8)

313.07 ALTERATION, INJURY, REMOVAL OF TRAFFIC CONTROL
DEVICES.
No person shall w1thout lawful authorlty attempt to or in fact alter deface, 1n]ure knock
UUWU O ICIMOVE au_y Ulllblal i dlllb bUllLlUl UCVI\—C o1 dlly uuuuau blgll o1 blglldl o1 dll)’

inscription, shield or insignia thereon, or any other part thereof.
(WVaC 17C-3-9)

313.08 TRAFFIC VIOLATIONS IN CONSTRUCTION ZONES.

(a) At each and every location where street or highway construction work is to be
conducted a sign shall be posted at least 1,000 feet from the construction site, or as close to 1,000
feet from the construction site as is practicable given the location of the site when workers are
present, notifying all motorists as to the speed limit and displaying the words "construction work".

(b) No person shall violate any posted speed restriction or traffic restriction at such
construction site referred to in subsection (a) of this section.

(© Nothing in this section shall be construed to preclude prosecution of any operator
of a motor vehicle who commits a violation of any other provision of this Traffic Code for such
violation.

(WWwaC 17C-3-4b)
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Traffic Control Devices

313.99

313.99 PENALTY.
(EDITOR'S NOTE: See Section 303.99 for general Traffic Code penalty.)
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CHAPTER FIVE - Vehicular Operation
Art. 331. Crashes. -
Art. 333. Driving Under the Influence; Reckless Driving.
Art. 335. Speed Restrictions.
Art. 337. Driving on Right; Passing.
Art. 339. Turning and Starting; Signals.
Art. 341. Right of Way.
Art. 343. Special Stops Required.
Art. 345. Safety and Equipment.
Art. 347. Commercial and Heavy Vehicles.
Art. 349. Miscellaneous Rules.
Art. 351. Licensing Generally.
Art. 353. Commercial Drivers.
Art. 355. Motorized Recreational Apparatus.

331.01
331.02
331.03
331.04
331.05

ARTICLE 331
Crashes
Crashes involving death 331.06 Immediate reports of
or personal injuries. crashes.
Crashes involving damage 331.07 When driver unable to
to vehicle. report.
Duty to give information 331.08 Garages to report
and render aid. bullet damage.
Collision with unattended 331.09 Written reports to City.
vehicle. 331.99 Penalty.
Collision with fixtures
upon a street or highway.
CROSS REFERENCES

See sectional histories for similar State law
Authority to require local crash report - see
W. Va. Code 17C-4-15
Impounding wrecked vehicles - see TRAF. 303.07
Removal of glass, etc. from highway - see TRAF. 311.01

2010 Replacement
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331.01 CRASHES INVOLVING DEATH OR PERSONAL INJURIES.

(a) The driver of any vehicle involved in a crash resulting in injury to or death of any
person shall immediately stop the vehicle at the scene of the crash or as close thereto as possible
but shall then forthwith return to and shall remain at the scene of the crash until he or she has
complied with the requirements of Section 331.03; provided, that the driver may leave the scene
of the crash as may reasonably be necessary for the purpose of rendering assistance to an injured
person as required by Section 331.03. Every such stop shall be made without obstructing traffic
more than is necessary.

(b) Any person violating the provisions of subsection (a) of this section after being
involved in a crash resulting in the death of any person is guilty of a felony and shall be prosecuted
under appropriate State law.

(©) Any person violating the provisions of subsection (a) of this section after being
involved in a crash resulting in physical injury to any person is guilty of a misdemeanor, and
subject to the penalty provided in this Traffic Code.

(WVaC 17C-4-1)

331.02 CRASHES INVOLVING DAMAGE TO VEHICLE.

The driver of any vehicle involved in a crash resulting only in damage to a vehicle which
is driven or attended by any person shall immediately stop such vehicle at the scene of such crash
or as close thereto as possible but shall forthwith return to and in every event shall remain at the
scene of such crash until he has fulfilled the requirements of Section 331.03. Every such stop
shall be made without obstructing traffic more than is necessary. Any person failing to stop or
comply with such requirements under such circumstances shall be guilty of a misdemeanor.
(WVaC 17C-4-2)

331.03 DUTY TO GIVE INFORMATION AND RENDER AID.

The driver of any vehicle involved in a crash resulting in injury to or death of any person
or damage to any vehicle which is driven or attended by any person shall give his or her name,
address and the registration number of the vehicle he or she is driving and shall upon request and
if available exhihit hig or her driver’s license to the nerson struck or the driver or occupant of or
person attending any vehicle collided with and shall render to any person injured in such crash
reasonable assistance, including the carrying, or the making arrangements for the carrying of such
person to a physician, surgeon or hospital for medical or surgical treatment if it is apparent that
such treatment is necessary or if such carrying is requested by the injured person.

(WVaC 17C-4-3)

331.04 COLLISION WITH UNATTENDED VEHICLE.

The driver of any vehicle which collides with any vehicle which is unattended shall
immediately stop and shall then and there either locate and notify the operator or owner of such
vehicle of the name and address of the driver and owner of the vehicle striking the unattended
vehicle or shall leave in a conspicuous place in the vehicle struck a written notice giving the name
and address of the driver and of the owner of the vehicle doing the striking and a statement of the
circumstances thereof. (WVaC 17C-4-4)

331.05 COLLISION WITH FIXTURES UPON A STREET OR HIGHWAY.

The driver of any vehicle involved in a crash resulting only in damage to fixtures or other
property legally upon or adjacent to a highway shall take reasonable steps to locate and notify the
owner or person in charge of such property of such fact and of his or her name and address and
of the registration number of the vehicle he or she is driving and shall upon request and if
available exhibit his or her driver’s license and shall make report of such crash when and as
required. (WVaC 17C-4-5)

2010 Replacement
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331.06 IMMEDIATE REPORTS OF CRASHES.

i vehicle in a crash resulting ury to or f on or
total p to an extent of one thou dollars ( shall
immediately by the quickest means of communication, give notice of such crash to the Police
Department. (WVaC 17C-4-6)

331.07 WHEN DRIVER UNABLE TO REPORT.
ver the d of a is physically of immediate
notific a crash as red in 331.06 and the ther the vehicle
at the time of the crash capable of making a notification, such occupant shall make or cause to be
made such notification not made by the driver.
(WVaC 17C-4-8)

331.08 GARAGES TO REPORT BULLET DAMAGE.

The p rge or repair shop to which is brought any motor vehicle
which shows hav k by any bullet, ort to the P De t
within twenty-four hours after such motor vehicle is r giving the ne ,

registration number, and the name and address of the owner or operator of such vehicle.
(WVaC 17C-4-12)

331.09 WRITTEN REPORTS TO CITY.

The driver of any vehicle involved in any accident of which he is required to file a report
with the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles of West Virginia shall also file a copy of such report
with the Chief of Police, at the same time and in the same manner as he files the report to the
Commissioner of Motor Vehicles.

(1987 Code 15C-1-9)

331.99 PENALTY.
(EDITOR'S NOTE: See Section 303.99 for general Traffic Code penalty.)
Any person violating the provisions of Section 331.01 after being involved in a crash
ing cal rybutno person shall be imprisoned for not more than thirty
or tm  than one lars ($1,000) or both.
(WvaC 17C-4-1)

2010 Replacement
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333.01 Driving under the influence.
333.02 Reckless driving.

ARTICLE 333

Driving Under the Influence; Reckless Driving

333.03 Hazardous driving.
333.99 Penalty.

CROSS REFERENCES

See sectional histories for similar State law

Authority to prohibit driving under the influence -

see W. Va, Code 8-12-5(21)

Compliance with State law - see W. Va. Code 17C-5-11a
Implied consent - see W. Va. Code 17C-5A

333.01 DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE.
Any person who:
Drives a vehicle in this Municipality while he or she:

(a)

(b)

@)

M oowpR

Is under the influence of alcohol;

Is under the influence of any controlled substance;

Is under the influence of any other drug;

Is under the combined influence of alcohol and any controlled
substance or any other drug; or

Has an alcohol concentration in his or her blood of eight hundredths
of one percent or more, by weight; and

While driving does any act forbidden by law or fails to perform any duty
imposed by law in the driving of the vehicle, which act or failure
proximately causes the death of any person within one year next following
the act or failure, is guilty of a misdemeanor, and shall be confined in jail
for not less than ninety days nor more than one year and shall be fined not
lgss than five hundred dollars ($500.00) nor more than one thousand dollars
($1,000).

Any person who:
Drives a vehicle in this Municipality while he or she:

M

M gowp

Is under the influence of alcohol;

Is under the influence of any controlled substance;

Is under the influence of any other drug;

Is under the combined influence of alcohol and any controlled
substance or any other drug; or

Has an alcohol concentration in his or her blood of eight hundredths
of one percent or more, by weight; and

2010 Replacement



(2) While driving does any act forbidden by law or fails to perform any duty
imposed by law in the driving of the vehicle, which act or failure
proximately causes bodily injury to any person other than himself or
herself, is guilty of a misdemeanor, and shall be confined in jail for not less
than one day nor more than one year, which jail term shall include actual
confinement of not less than twenty-four hours and shall be fined not less
tgan two hundred dollars ($200.00) nor more than one thousand dollars
($1,000).

(©) Any person who:

(1) Drives a vehicle in this Municipality while he or she:

Is under the influence of alcohol;

Is under the influence of any controlled substance;

Is under the influence of any other drug;

Is under the combined influence of alcohol and any controlled

substance or any other drug; or

Has an alcohol concentration in his or her blood of eight hundredths

of one percent or more, by weight, but less than fifteen hundredths

of one percent, by weight;

2) Is guilty of a misdemeanor, and, except as provided in West Virginia Code
17C-5-2(b), ec ned up to si nd s ned not
less than one ed ars 00) nor five dollars
(8$500.00). A person sentenced pursuant to this subsection shall receive
credit for any period of actual confinement he or she served upon arrest for
the subject offense.

m oawys

(d  Any person who drives a vehicle in this Municipality while he or she has an
alcohol concentration in his or her blood of fifteen hundredths of one percent or more, by weight,
is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be confined in jail for not less than
two days nor more than six months, which jail term is to include actual confinement of not less
than twe hours, and shall be fined not less than two hundred dollars ($200.00) nor more
than one d dollars ($1,000). A person sentenced pursuant to this subsection shall receive
credit for any period of actual confinement he or she served upon arrest for the subject offense.

(e) Any person who, being an habitual user of narcotic drugs or amphetamine or any
derivative thereof, drives a vehicle in this Municipality, is guilty of a misdemeanor, and shall be
confined in jail for not less than one day nor more than six months, which jail term shall include

c of not less than tw , shall be fi less hundred

S or more than five 0.00). A sent rsuant to
this subsection shall receive credit for any period of actual confinement he or she served upon
arrest for the subject offense.

69) Any person who:
(1)  Knowingly permits his or her vehicle to be driven in this Municipality by
any other person who:
Is under the influence of alcohol;
Is under the influence of any controlled substance;
Is under the influence of any other drug;
Is under the combined influence of alcohol and any controlled
substance or any other drug; or
Has an co n in his or her blood of eight hundredths
of one or weight;

M oaQw»

2010 Replacement
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(2) Is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be confined in jail for not more than
six months and shall be fined not less than one hundred dollars ($100.00)
nor more than five hundred dollars ($500.00).

(2) Any person who knowingly permits his or her vehicle to be driven in this
Municipality by any other person who is an habitual user of narcotic drugs or amphetamine or any
derivative thereof, is guilty of a misdemeanor, and shall be confined in jail for not more than six
months and shall be fined not less than one hundred dollars ($100.00) nor more than five hundred
dollars ($500.00).

(h) Any person under the age of twenty-one years who drives a vehicle in this
Municipality while he or she has an alcohol concentration in his or her blood of two hundredths
of one percent or more, by weight, but less than eight hundredths of one percent, by weight, shall,
for a first offense under this subsection, be guilty of a misdemeanor, and shall be fined not less
than twenty-five dollars ($25.00) nor more than one hundred dollars ($100.00). For a second or
subsequent offense under this subsection, such person is guilty of a misdemeanor, and shall be
confined in jail for twenty-four hours and shall be fined not less than one hundred dollars
(8100.00) nor more than five hundred dollars ($500.00). A person who is charged with a first
offense under the provisions of this subsection may move for a continuance of the proceedings,
from time to time, to allow the person to participate in the Motor Vehicle Alcohol Test and Lock
Program as provided for in West Virginia Code 17C-5A-3a. Upon successful completion of the
program, the court shall dismiss the charge against the person and expunge the person's record
as it relates to the alleged offense. In the event the person fails to successfully complete the
program, the court shall proceed to an adjudication of the alleged offense. A motion for a
continuance under this subsection may not be construed as an admission or be used as evidence.

A person arrested and charged with an offense under the provisions of this subsection or
subsection (a), (b), (c), (d), (e), (f) or (g) of this section may not also be charged with an offense
under this subsection arising out of the same transaction or occurrence.

(1) Any person who:
(1) Drives a vehicle in this Municipality while he or she:

Is under the influence of alcohol;

Is under the influence of any controlled substance;

Is under the influence of any other drug;

Is under the combined influence of alcohol and any controlled

substance or any other drug; or

Has an alcohol concentration in his or her blood of eight hundredths

of one percent or more, by weight; and

(2) The person while driving has on or within the motor vehicle one or more
other persons who are unemancipated minors who have not reached their
sixteenth birthday, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, and, shall be confined
in jail for not less than two days nor more than twelve months, which jail
term shall include actual confinement of not less than forty-eight hours, and
shall be fined not less than two hundred dollars ($200.00) nor more than
one thousand dollars ($1,000).

m oawp

) A person violating any provision of subsection (a), (b), (c), (d), (e), (f) or (h) of
this section, for the second offense under this section, is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be
confined in jail for not less than six months nor more than one year, and the court may, in its
discretion, impose a fine of not less than one thousand dollars nor more than three thousand
dollars.

2008 Replacement



(k) A person violating any provision of subsection (a), (b), (c), (d), (¢), (f) or (h) hereof
shall, for the third or any subsequent offense under this section, be guilty of a felony and charged
under West Virginia Code 17C-5-2.

0y For purposes of subsections (j) and (k) hereof relating to second, third and
subsequent offenses, the following types of convictions shall be regarded as convictions under this
section:
(1) Any conviction under the provisions of subsection (a), (b), (c), (d), (¢) or
(f) of this section or under a prior enactment of this section for an offense
which occurred within the ten-year period immediately preceding the date
of arrest in the current proceeding;
2) Any conviction under a municipal ordinance of this State or any other state
or a statute of the United States or of any other state of an offense which
has the same elements as an offense described in subsection (a), (b), (c),
(d), (e), (f) or (g) of this section, which offense occurred within the ten-year
period immediately preceding the date of arrest in the current proceeding.

(m) A person may be charged in a warrant or indictment or information for a second
or subsequent offense under this section, if the person has been previously arrested for or charged
with a violation of this section which is alleged to have occurred within the applicable time periods
for prior offenses, notwithstanding the fact that there has not been a final adjudication of the
charges for the alleged previous offense. In such case, the warrant or indictment or information
must set forth the date, location and particulars of the previous offense or offenses. No person
may be convicted of a second or subsequent offense under this section unless the conviction for
the previous offense has become final.

(n) The fact that any person charged with a violation of subsection (a), (b), (c), (d)
or (e) hereof, or any person permitted to drive as described under subsection (f) or (g) hereof, is
or has been legally entitled to use alcohol, a controlled substance or a drug shall not constitute a
defense against any charge of violating subsection (a), (b), (c), (d), (), (f) or (g) hereof.

{©) T'or purposcs of this scction, the torm "controlled substance” has the micaning

ascribed to it in West Virginia Code Chapter 60A.

(p) The sentences provided herein upon conviction for a violation of this section are
mandatory and may not be subject to suspension or probation; provided, that the court may apply
the provisions of West Virginia Code 62-11A-1 et seq. to a person sentenced or committed to a
term of one year or less for a first offense under this section. An order for home detention by the
court pursuant to the provisions of West Virginia Code 62-11B-1 et seq. may be used as an
alternative sentence to any period of incarceration required by this section for a first or subsequent
offense; provided, however, that for any period of home incarceration ordered for a person
convicted of second offense under this section, electronic monitoring shall be required for no
fewer than five days of the total period of home confinement ordered and the offender may not
leave home for those five days notwithstanding the provisions of West Virginia Code 62-11B-5;
provided further, that for any period of home incarceration ordered for a person convicted of a
third or subsequent violation of this section, electronic monitoring shall be included for no fewer
than ten days of the total period of home confinement ordered and the offender may not leave
home for those ten days notwithstanding West Virginia Code 62-11B-5.

(WVaC 17C-5-2)

2008 Replacement
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()] For purposes of this section, the phrase "in this Municipality" means anywhere
within the physical boundaries of this Municipality, including, but not limited to, publicly
maintained streets and highways, and subdivision streets or other areas not publicly maintained
but nonetheless open to the use of the public for purposes of vehicular travel.

(r) When used in this section, the terms or phrases "driving under the influence of
intoxicating liquor," "driving or operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated," "for any person
who is under the influence of intoxicating liquor to drive any vehicle," or any similar term or
phrase shall be construed to mean and be synonymous with the term or phrase "while under the
influence of alcohol...drives a vehicle" as the latter term or phrase is used in this section.

(s) A warrant or indictment which charges or alleges an offense, prohibited by the
provisions of this section, and which warrant or indictment uses any of the terms or phrases set
forth in subsection (r) hereof, shall not thereby be fatally defective if such warrant or indictment
otherwise informs the person so accused of the charges against him. (WVaC 17C-5-2a)

333.02 RECKLESS DRIVING.

(a) No person shall drive any vehicle upon any street or highway, or upon any
residential street, or in any parking area, or upon the ways of any institution of higher education,
whether public or private or upon the property of the Board of Education, or upon any property
within the Municipal park and public recreation system, in willful or wanton disregard for the
safety of persons or property.

(b) The provisions of subsection (a) hereof shall not apply to those areas which have
been temporarily closed for racing sport events or which may be set aside by the Municipality
within the park-and recreation system for exclusive use by motorcycles or other recreational
vehicles. (WVaC 17C-5-3)

333.03 HAZARDOUS DRIVING.
(a) No person shall operate a motor vehicle or motorcycle without exercising
reasonable and ordinary control over such vehicle.

(b) No person shall operate a motor vehicle or motorcycle in a weaving or zigzag
course unless such irregular course is necessary for safe operation or in compliance with law.

(©) No person shall operate a motor vehicle or motorcycle without giving his full time
and attention to the operation of such vehicle.

333.99 PENALTY.

(EDITOR'S NOTE: See Section 303.99 for general Traffic Code penalty.)

(a) Whoever violates Section 333.02 shall for a first offense be fined not less than
twenty-five dollars ($25.00) nor more than five hundred dollars ($500.00), or
imprisoned not less than five nor more than thirty days; for a second or
subsequent offense shall be fined not less than fifty dollars ($50.00) or more than
one thousand dollars ($1,000), or imprisoned not less than ten nor more than
thirty days, or both.

2008 Replacement
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(b) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (a) of this section, any person
convicted of a violation of Section 333.02 who in doing so proximately causes
another to suffer serious bodily injury shall be confined in jail not less than ten
days nor more than thirty days or fined not less than fifty dollars ($50.00) nor
more than one thousand dollars ($1,000) or both.

(c) For purposes of subsection (b) of this section, “serious bodily injury” means
bodily injury which creates a substantial risk of death, which causes serious or
prolonged disfigurement, prolonged impairment of health or prolonged loss or
impairment of the function of any bodily organ.

2008 Replacement
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ARTICLE 335
Speed Restrictions

335.01 Maximum speed limits. 335.04 Racing on streets and

335.02 Slow speed. highways prohibited.

335.03 Special speed limitations. 335.05 Prima facie evidence of
speed by radar.

335.99 Penalty.

CROSS REFERENCES
See sectional histories for similar State law
Authority to regulate speed - see W. Va. Code 17C-2-8,
17C-6-3
Minimum speed regulations - see W. Va. Code 17C-6-3(a)
Special speed limitations - see W. Va. Code 17C-6-4
et seq.
Use of radar - see W. Va. Code 17C-6-7

335.01 MAXIMUM SPEED LIMITS.

(@ No person may drive a vehicle on a street or highway at a speed greater than is
reasonable and prudent under the existing conditions and the actual and potential hazards. In
every event speed shall be so controlled as may be necessary to avoid colliding with any person,
vehicle or other conveyance on or entering the streets and highways in compliance with legal
requirements and the duty of all persons to use due care.

(b) Where no special hazard exists that requires lower speed for compliance with
subsection (a) of this section the speed of any vehicle not in excess of the limits specified in this
section or established as hereinafter authorized is lawful, but any speed in excess of the limits
specified below in this subsection or established as hereinafter authorized is unlawful.

(D in a school zone during school recess or while
children are going to or leaving school during opening or closing hours.
A school zone is all school property including school grounds and any
street or highway abutting such school grounds and extending one hundred
twenty-five feet along such street or highway from the school grounds.
Such speed restriction does not apply to vehicles traveling on a
controlled-access highway which is separated from the school or school
grounds by a fence or barrier approved by the Division of Highways;
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2) in any business or residence district;
3) on open country highways; except as otherwise
provided by this article.
The speeds set forth in this section may be altered as authorized in West Virginia Code
Article 17C-6.

(c) The driver of every vehicle shall, consistent with the requirements of subsection
(a) of this section, drive at an appropriate reduced speed when approaching and crossing an
intersection or railway grade crossing, when approaching and going around a curve, when
approaching a hill crest, when traveling upon any narrow or winding roadway and when special
hazard exists with respect to pedestrians or other traffic or by reason of weather or highway
conditions.

@ The speed limit on controlled-access highways and interstate highways, where no
special hazard exists that requires a lower speed, shall be not less than fifty-five miles per hour
and the speed limits specified in subsection (b) of this section do not apply.

(WVaC 17C-6-1)

335.02 SLOW SPEED.
No person shall drive a motor vehicle at such a slow speed as to impede the normal and
reasonable movement of traffic except when reduced speed is necessary for safe operation or in

compliance with law.
(WVaC 17C-6-3a(a))

335.03 SPECIAL SPEED LIMITATIONS.

(a) Subject to all other speed restrictions of this Traffic Code no person shall drive a
vehicle not designed for carrying passengers and equipped with pneumatic tires at a speed in
excess of:

(1) Twenty miles per hour in any business district;

2) Twenty-five miles per hour in any residence district;

3) Forty miles per hour on open country highway;

“) Trucks licensed at 8,000 pounds gross vehicle weight or less shall be
permitted the same speed as passenger cars.
(WVaC 17C-6-4)

(b)  No person shall drive any vehicle equipped with other than pneumatic tires at a
speed greater than a maximum of ten miles per hour.

No person shall drive a vehicle over any bridge or other elevated structure constituting a
part of a street or highway at a speed which is greater than the maximum speed which can be
maintained with safety to such bridge or structure, when such structure is so signposted.
(WVaC 17C-6-5)
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335.04 RACING ON STREETS AND HIGHWAYS PROHIBITED.

No person shall engage in, or aid or abet by serving as lookout or timer or in any other
cap whatever, any speed race, as h on any c street or highway in this
Mu ality. For the purposes of this " race" m

(a) The operation of a motor vehicle in speed acceleration competition with another

motor vehicle or motor vehicles; or

(b) The operation of a motor vehicle in speed acceleration competition against time;

or

©) The operation of a motor vehicle in speed competition with another motor vehicle

or motor vehicles where the speed exceeds the lawful speed limit.
(WvaC 17C-6-8(a))

335.05 PRIMA FACIE EVIDENCE OF SPEED BY RADAR.

The speed of a motor vehicle may be proved by evidence obtained by use of any device
de edto re and indicate or recor dofa ct by means waves
or ected when such evidence is by m e Police De . The

evidence so obtained shall be accepted as prima facie evidence of the speed of such vehicle.
(WVaC 17C-6-7)

335.99 PENALTY.
(EDITOR’S NOTE: See Section 303.99 for general Traffic Code penalty.)

2010 Replacement






43

337.01
337.02

337.03
337.04
337.05
337.06

(@)

ARTICLE 337

Driving on Right; Passing

Driving upon right side
of roadway; exceptions.
Passing to right when
proceeding in opposite
directions.

Overtaking, passing to
left; driver's duties.
Overtaking and passing
upon right.
Overtaking, passing to
left of center.
Additional restrictions
on driving upon left
side of roadway.

337.07
337.08
337.09
337.10
337.11
337.12

337.99

CROSS REFERENCES

Hazardous or no passing
Zones.

One-way roadways and
rotary traffic islands.
Driving in marked lanes
or continuous lines of
traffic.

Following too closely.
Driving upon divided
roadways.

Entering and exiting
controlled-access
highway.

Penalty.

See sectional histories for similar State law
Authority to establish one-way streets - see W. Va
Code 17C-2-8(4)

of the roadway, except as follows:

(b)

1) When overtaking and passing another vehicle proceeding in the same

337.01 DRIVING UPON RIGHT SIDE OF ROADWAY; EXCEPTIONS.
Upon all roadways of sufficient width a vehicle shall be driven upon the right half

direction under the rules governing such movement;

2) When the right half of a roadway is closed to traffic while under

construction or repair;

3) Upon a roadway divided into three marked lanes for traffic under the rules

applicable thereon; or
4) Upon a roadway designated and signposted for one-way traffic.

Upon all roadways any vehicle proceeding at less than the normal speed of traffic
at the time and place and under the conditions then existing shall be driven in the right-hand lane
then available for traffic, or as close as practicable to the right-hand curb or edge of the roadway,
except when overtaking and passing another vehicle proceeding in the same direction or when

preparing for a left turn at an intersection or into a private road or driveway.
(WVaC 17C-7-1)
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337.02 PASSING TO RIGHT WHEN PROCEEDING IN OPPOSITE
DIRECTIONS.

Drivers of vehicles proceeding in opposite directions shall pass each other to the right, and
upon roadways having width for not more than one line of traffic in each direction each driver
shall give to the other at least one-half of the main-traveled portion of the roadway as nearly as
possible.

(WvaC 17C-7-2)

337.03 OVERTAKING, PASSING TO LEFT; DRIVER'S DUTIES.

The following rules shall govern the overtaking and passing of vehicles proceeding in the

same direction, subject to these limitations, exceptions and special rules hereinafter stated.

(@) The driver of a vehicle overtaking another vehicle proceeding in the same direction
shall give an audible signal and pass to the left thereof at a safe distance and shall
not again drive to the right side of the roadway until safely clear of the overtaken
vehicle.

(b) Except when overtaking and passing on the right is permitted, the driver of an
overtaken vehicle shall give way to the right in favor of the overtaking vehicle on
audible signal and shall not increase the speed of his or her vehicle until completely
passed by the overtaking vehicle.

(WVaC 17C-7-3)

337.04 OVERTAKING AND PASSING UPON RIGHT.
(a) The driver of a vehicle may overtake and pass upon the right of another vehicle
only under the following conditions:

(1) When the vehicle overtaken is making or about to make a left turn;

2) Upon a street or highway with unobstructed pavement not occupied by
parked vehicles of sufficient width for two or more lines of moving
vehicles in each direction;

3) Upon a one-way street, or upon any roadway on which traffic is restricted
to one direction of movement, where the roadway is free from obstructions
and of sufficient width for two or more lines of moving vehicles.

(b) The driver of a vehicle may overtake and pass another vehicle upon the right only
under conditions permitting such movement in safety. In no event shall such movement be made
by driving off the pavement or main-traveled portion of the roadway.

(WVaC 17C-7-4)

337.05 OVERTAKING, PASSING TO LEFT OF CENTER.

No vehicle shall be driven to the left side of the center of the roadway in overtaking and
passing another vehicle proceeding in the same direction unless such left side is clearly visible and
is free of oncoming traffic for a sufficient distance ahead to permit such overtaking and passing
to be completely made without interfering with the safe operation of any vehicle approaching from
the opposite direction or any vehicle overtaken. Inevery event the overtaking vehicle must return
to the right-hand side of the roadway before coming within 100 feet of any vehicle approaching
from the opposite direction.

(WVaC 17C-7-5)
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337.06 ADDITIONAL RESTRICTIONS ON DRIVING UPON LEFT SIDE
OF ROADWAY.
(a) No vehicle shall at any time be driven to the left side of the roadway under the
following conditions:

(1) When approaching the crest of a grade or upon a curve in the street or
highway where the driver's view is obstructed within such distance as to
create a hazard in the event another vehicle might approach from the
opposite direction;

2) When approaching within 100 feet of or traversing any intersection or
railroad grade crossing;

3) When the view is obstructed upon approaching within 100 feet of any
bridge, viaduct or tunnel.

(b) The foregoing limitations shall not apply upon a one-way roadway.
(WVaC 17C-7-6)

337.07 HAZARDOUS OR NO PASSING ZONES.
When signs or markings are in place and clearly toa ily observ erson
indicating that overtaking and passing or driving to the the would be cially

hazardous, every driver of a vehicle shall obey the directions thereof.
(WVaC 17C-7-7)

337.08 ONE-WAY ROADWAYS AND ROTARY TRAFFIC ISLANDS.
(a) Upon a roadway designated and signposted for one-way traffic a vehicle shall be
driven only in the direction designated.

(b) A vehicle passing around a rotary traffic island shall be driven only to the right of
such island.
(WVaC 17C-7-8(b), (c))

337.09 DRIVING IN MARKED LANES OR CONTINUOUS LINES
OF TRAFFIC.

Whenever any roadway has been divided into two or more clearly marked lanes for traffic

the following rules in addition to all others consistent herewith shall apply:

(a) A vehicle shall be driven as nearly as practicable entirely within a single lane and
shall not be moved from such lane until the driver has first ascertained that such
movement can be made with safety.

(b) Upon a roadway which is divided into three lanes a vehicle shall not be driven in
the center lane which is clearly marked as a left turn lane except in preparation for
a left turn or where such center lane is at the time allocated exclusively to traffic
moving in the direction the vehicle is proceeding and is signposted to give notice
of such allocation.

(c) Official signs may be erected directing slow-moving traffic to use a designated lane
or designating those lanes to be used by traffic moving in a particular direction
regardless of the center of the roadway and drivers of vehicles shall obey the
directions of every such sign.

(WVaC 17C-7-9)
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337.10 FOLLOWING TOO CLOSELY.

(a) The driver of a motor vehicle shall not follow another vehicle more closely than
is reasonable and prudent having due regard for the speed of such vehicles and the traffic upon
and the condition of the street or highway.

(b) No operator of any motor truck, registered for a gross weight of more than 8,000
pounds, bus, special mobile equipment or any motor vehicle drawing another vehicle operating
upon any roadway outside of a business or residence district, shall follow within 200 feet of
another motor truck, bus, special mobile equipment or any motor vehicle drawing another vehicle;
provided that this provision shall not be construed to:

@) Prevent overtaking and passing;

) Apply upon any lane specially designated for the use of motor trucks or
combinations of vehicles, or within any section of a roadway posted or
marked as a "no-passing zone";

3) Apply to any convoy of vehicles of the military service of the United States
or of this State; and

“) Apply to funeral processions.

(©) Motor vehicles being driven upon any roadway outside of a business or residence
district in a caravan or motorcade whether or not towing other vehicles shall be so operated as to
allow sufficient space between each such vehicle or combination of vehicles so as to enable any
other vehicle to enter and occupy such space without danger. This provision shall not apply to:

1) Funeral processions; or

2) Any convoy of vehicles of the military service of the United States or of
this State.
(WVaC 17C-7-10)

337.11 DRIVING UPON DIVIDED ROADWAYS.

Whenever any street or highway has been divided into two roadways by leaving an
intervening space or by a physical barrier or clearly indicated dividing section so constructed as
to impede vehicular traffic, every vehicle shall be driven only upon the right-hand roadway and
no vehicle shall be driven over, across or within any such dividing space, barrier or section,
except tirough an opening in such physicai barrier or dividing section or space Or 4L d Crossover
or intersection established by public authority.

(WVaC 17C-7-11)

337.12 ENTERING AND EXITING CONTROLLED-ACCESS HIGHWAY.

No person shall drive a vehicle onto or from any controlled-access roadway except at such
entrances and exits as are established by public authority.
(WVaC 17C-7-12)

337.99 PENALTY.
(EDITOR’S NOTE: See Section 303.99 for general Traffic Code penalty.)
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ARTICLE 339
Turning and Starting; Signals

339.01 Conformity with provisions 339.08 Signals before changing
required. course, turning or
339.02 Right turns. stopping.
339.03 Left turns on two-way 339.09 Signals to be given by
roadways. hand and arm or signal
339.04 Left turns on other than device.
two-way roadways. 339.10 Hand and arm signals.
339.05 Specified turns at 339.99 Penalty.
intersections.

339.06 "U" turns restricted.
339.07 Starting vehicle.

CROSS REFERENCES
See sectional histories for similar State law
Authority to regulate the turning of vehicles - see
W. Va. Code 17C-2-8(a)(9)
Authority to specify different courses for turns -
see W. Va. Code 17C-8-5

339.01 CONFORMITY WITH PROVISIONS REQUIRED.

The driver of a vehicle intending to turn at an intersection shall do so as provided in this
article.
(WVaC 17C-8-1)

339.02 RIGHT TURNS.

Both the approach for a right turn and a right turn shall be made as close as practicable to
the right-hand curb or edge of the roadway.
(WVaC 17C-8-2)

339.03 LEFT TURNS ON TWO-WAY ROADWAYS.

At any intersection where traffic is permitted to move in both directions on each roadway
entering the intersection, an approach for a left turn shall be made in that portion of the right half
of the roadway nearest the centerline thereof and by passing to the right of such centerline where
it enters the intersection and after entering the intersection the left turn shall be made so as to
leave the intersection to the right of the centerline of the roadway being entered. Whenever
practicable the left turn shall be made in that portion of the intersection to the left of the center
of the intersection.

(WvaC 17C-8-3)
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339.04 LEFT TURNS ON OTHER THAN TWO-WAY ROADWAYS.

At any intersection where traffic is restricted to one direction on one or more of the
roadways, the driver of a vehicle intending to turn left at any such intersection shall approach the
intersection in the extreme left-hand lane lawfully available to traffic moving in the direction of
travel of such vehicle and after entering the intersection the left turn shall be made so as to leave
the intersection, as nearly as practicable, in the left-hand lane lawfully available to traffic moving
in such direction upon the roadway being entered.

(WVvaC 17C-8-4)

339.05 SPECIFIED TURNS AT INTERSECTIONS.

Council or other designated traffic authority may cause markers, buttons or signs to be
placed within or adjacent to intersections and thereby require and direct that a different course
from that specified in this article be traveled by vehicles turning at an intersection, and when
markers, buttons or signs are so placed no driver of a vehicle shall turn a vehicle at an intersection
other than as directed and required by such markers, buttons or signs. (WVaC 17C-8-5)

339.06 "U" TURNS RESTRICTED.
(a) No vehicle shall be turned so as to proceed in the opposite direction upon any
curve, or upon the approach to, or near the crest of a grade, where such vehicle cannot be seen

by the driver of any other vehicle approaching from either direction within 500 feet.
(WVaC 17C-8-6)

(b) No vehicle shall be turned so as to proceed in the opposite direction within an
intersection, or upon any street in a business district, or upon a freeway, expressway or
controlled-access highway, or where authorized signs are erected to prohibit such movement, or
at any other location unless such movement can be made with reasonable safety to other users of
the street and without interfering with the safe operation of any traffic that may be affected by
such movement.

339.07 STARTING VEHICLE.

No person shall start a vehicle which is stopped, standing or parked unless and until such
movement can be made with reasonable safety.
(WvaC 17C-8-7)

339.08 SIGNALS BEFORE CHANGING COURSE, TURNING OR
STOPPING.

(a) No person shall turn a vehicle at an intersection unless the vehicle is in proper
position upon the roadway as required in Sections 339.02 to 339.05, or turn a vehicle to enter a
private road or driveway or otherwise turn a vehicle from a direct course or move right or left
upon a roadway unless and until such movement can be made with reasonable safety. No person
shall so turn any vehicle without giving an appropriate signal in the manner hereinafter provided
in the event any other traffic may be affected by such movement.
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(b) A signal of intention to turn right or left when required shall be given continuously
during not less than the last 100 feet traveled by the vehicle before turning.

(©) No person shall stop or suddenly decrease the speed of a vehicle without first
giving an appropriate signal in the manner provided herein to the driver of any vehicle
immediately to the rear when there is opportunity to give such signal.

(WVaC 17C-8-8)

339.09 SIGNALS TO BE GIVEN BY HAND AND ARM OR
SIGNAL DEVICE.
Any stop or turn signal when required herein shall be given either by means of the hand
and arm or by a signal lamp or lamps or mechanical signal device, but when a vehicle is so
constructed or loaded that hand-and-arm signal would not be visible both to the front and rear of

such vehicle then such signals must be given by such a lamp or lamps or signal device.
(WVaC 17C-8-9)

339.10 HAND AND ARM SIGNALS.
All signals herein required given by hand and arm shall be given from the left side of the
vehicle in the following manner and such signals shall indicate as follows:

(a) Hand and arm extended horizontally.
(b) Hand and arm extended upward.
©) Hand and arm extended downward.

(WVvaC 17C-8-10)

339.99 PENALTY.
(EDITOR’S NOTE: See Section 303.99 for general Traffic Code penalty.)
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ARTICLE 341
Right of Way
341.01 Right of way at 341.04 Driving onto roadway
intersections. from private road or
341.02 Right of way when driveway; duty to
turning left. yield.
341.03 Right of way at 341.05 Right of way of
through street or emergency vehicle.
highway or stop 341.06 Turning into private drive-
intersections. way, alley or building.

341.99 Penalty.

CROSS REFERENCES
See sectional histories for similar State law
Authority to designate through streets and stop inter-
sections - see W. Va. Code 17C-2-8(a)(6), 17C-12-5

341.01 RIGHT OF WAY AT INTERSECTIONS.
(@) The driver of a vehicle approaching an intersection shall yield the right of way to
a vehicle which has entered the intersection from a different street or highway.

(b) When two vehicles enter an intersection from a different street or highway at
approximately the same time the driver of the vehicle on the left shall yield the right of way to the
vehicle on the right.

(©) The right-of-way rules declared in subsections (a) and (b) hereof are modified at
through streets or highways and otherwise as hereinafter stated in this article.
(WVaC 17C-9-1)

341.02 RIGHT OF WAY WHEN TURNING LEFT.

The driver of a vehicle within an intersection intending to turn to the left shall yield the
right of way to any vehicle approaching from the opposite direction which is within the
intersection or so close thereto as to constitute an immediate hazard, but such driver, having so
yielded and having given a signal when and as required by this Traffic Code may make such left
turn and the drivers of all other vehicles approaching the intersection from the opposite direction
shall yield the right of way to the vehicles making the left turn.

(WVvaC 17C-9-2)
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341.03 RIGHT OF WAY AT THROUGH STREET OR HIGHWAY OR STOP
INTERSECTIONS.
(a) The driver of a vehicle shall stop as required by Section 343.05 at the entrance to
a through street or highway and shall yield the right of way to other vehicles which have entered
the intersection from such through streets or highways or which are approaching so closely on
such through street or highway as to constitute an immediate hazard but the driver having so
yielded may proceed.

(b) The driver of a vehicle shall likewise stop in obedience to a stop sign as required
herein at an intersection where a stop sign is erected at one or more entrances thereto although
not a part of a through street or highway and shall proceed cautiously, yielding to vehicles not so
obliged to stop which are within the intersection or approaching so closely as to constitute an
immediate hazard, but may then proceed.

(WVaC 17C-9-3)

341.04 DRIVING ONTO ROADWAY FROM PRIVATE ROAD OR DRIVEWAY;
DUTY TO YIELD.
The driver of a vehicle about to enter or cross a street or highway from a private road or

driveway shall yield the right of way to all vehicles approaching on the street or highway.
(WVaC 17C-9-4)

341.05 RIGHT OF WAY OF EMERGENCY VEHICLE.

(a) Upon the immediate approach of an authorized emergency vehicle equipped with
at least one flashing lighted lamp of a color authorized by Section 345.18, which is visible under
normal atmospheric conditions from a distance of 500 feet to the front of such vehicle other than
a police vehicle when operated as an authorized emergency vehicle, and when the driver is giving
audible signal by siren, exhaust whistle or bell, the driver of every other vehicle shall yield the
right of way and shall immediately drive to a position parallel to, and as close as possible to, the
right-hand edge or curb of the roadway clear of any intersection and shall stop and remain in such
position until the authorized emergency vehicle has passed, except when otherwise directed by a
police officer.

(D) This section shaii noi operate 1o reiieve the driver of an authorized emergency
vehicle from the duty to drive with due regard for the safety of all persons using the street or
highway.

(WVaC 17C-9-5)

341.06 TURNING INTO PRIVATE DRIVEWAY, ALLEY OR BUILDING.
The driver of a vehicle intending to turn into a private road or driveway, alley or building
from a public street or highway shall be governed by the following rules:

(a) Approach for a right turn and a right turn shall be made as close as practicable to
the right-hand curb or edge of the roadway.

(b) Upon a roadway where traffic is proceeding in opposite directions, approach for
a left turn and a left turn shall be made from that portion of the right half of the
roadway nearest the center line thereof.
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(c) Upon a roadway where traffic is restricted to one direction, approach for a left turn
and a left turn shall be made as close as practicable to the left-hand curb or edge
of the roadway.

It shall be the duty of the driver of any vehicle entering a private road or driveway, alley

or building to yield the right of way to pedestrians lawfully using the sidewalk or sidewalk area
extending across any alleyway, private road, driveway or building.

341.99 PENALTY.
(EDITOR’S NOTE: See Section 303.99 for general Traffic Code penalty.)
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343.01
343.02
343.03
343.04
343.05
343.06

ARTICLE 343
Special Stops Required

Driving across grade 343.07 Stopping for school bus;
crossing. signs and warning

Stops at dangerous grade lights; sale of school
crossings. bus.

Stopping at grade 343.08 Stopping for passenger van;
crossing. signs and warning lights.
Moving heavy equipment 343.09 Obstructing inter-

across grade crossings. section or cross-
Through streets and stop walk.

intersections. 343.10 Yield signs.

Driving onto roadway from 343.99 Penalty.

place other than road-
way; stopping at side-
walk.

CROSS REFERENCES
See sectional histories for similar State law
Authority to establish through streets and stop inter-
sections - see W. Va. Code 17C-2-8(a)(6)

343.01 DRIVING ACROSS GRADE CROSSING.
(a) Whenever any person driving a vehicle approaches a railroad grade crossing under

any of the circumstances stated in this section, the driver of such vehicle shall stop within fifty
feet but not less than fifteen feet from the nearest rail of such railroad, and shall not proceed until
he can do so safely. The foregoing requirements shall apply when:

(1) A clearly visible electric or mechanical signal device gives warning of the
immediate approach of a railroad train;

(2) A crossing gate is lowered or when a human flagman gives or continues to
give a signal of the approach or passage of a railroad train,;

3) A railroad train approaching within approximately 1,500 feet of the street
or highway crossing emits a signal audible from such distance and such
railroad train, by reason of its speed or nearness to such crossing, is an
immediate hazard;

4 Any approaching railroad train is plainly visible and is in hazardous
proximity to such crossing.
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(b) No person shall drive any vehicle through, around or under any crossing gate or
barrier at a railroad crossing while such gate or barrier is closed or is being opened or closed.
(WVaC 17C-12-1)

343.02 STOPS AT DANGEROUS GRADE CROSSINGS.

Council or other designated traffic authority with the approval of the State Commissioner
of Highways is hereby authorized to designate particularly dangerous highway grade crossings of
railroads and to erect stop signs thereat. When such stop signs are erected the driver of any
vehicle shall stop within fifty feet but not less than fifteen feet from the nearest rail of such
railroad and shall proceed only upon exercising due care.

(WVaC 17C-12-2)

343.03 STOPPING AT GRADE CROSSING.

(a) Except as provided in subsection (f) of this section, the driver of a commercial
motor vehicle specified in subsection (b) of this section shall not cross a railroad track or tracks
at grade unless he or she first:

(1) Stops the commercial motor vehicle within fifty feet of, and not closer than
fifteen feet to, the tracks;

(2) Thereafter, listens and looks in each direction along the tracks for an
approaching train; and

3) Ascertains that no train is approaching.

When it is safe to do so, the driver may drive the commercial motor vehicle across the
tracks in a gear that permits the commercial motor vehicle to complete the crossing without
change of gears. The driver shall not shift gears while crossing the tracks.

(b) The following commercial vehicles are required to stop at railroad tracks or tracks
at grade:

(1) Every bus transporting passengers;

(2) Every commercial motor vehicle transporting any quantity of a United
States Department of Transportation defined division 2.3 chlorine;

3 Every commercial motor vehicle which, in accordance with United States
Department of Transportation regulations, is marked or placarded and is
required to stop 1n accordance with 49 C.F. K. part §392.1U(a)(3)(ZUU1);

“) Every cargo tank motor vehicle, loaded or empty, used for the
transportation of any hazardous material, as defined in Federal Department
of Transportation hazardous materials rules, 49 C.F.R. parts §107 through
§180 (2001);

5) Every cargo tank motor vehicle transporting a commodity which, at the
time of loading, has a temperature above its flashpoint as determined by 49
C.F.R. §173.120 (2001); and

(6) Every cargo tank motor vehicle, whether loaded or empty, transporting any
commodity exemption in accordance with 49 C.F.R. part §107 subpart B
(2001).

(c) Any vehicle owned by an employer which, in carrying on the employer’s business
or in carrying employees to and from work, carries more than six employees of the employer is
required to stop at all railroad tracks or tracks at grade, in accordance with subsection (a) of this
section.
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(d) All drivers of commercial motor vehicles not required to stop at railroad tracks or
tracks at grade as provided in subsection (a) of this section may not cross a railroad track or tracks
at grade unless he or she first slows the commercial motor vehicle to a speed which will permit
the commercial motor vehicle to be stopped before reaching the nearest rail of the railroad
crossing and permit exercise of due caution to ascertain that the tracks are clear of an approaching
train.

(e) All drivers of commercial motor vehicles may not proceed to cross a railroad
crossing unless there is sufficient space to drive completely through the crossing without stopping
and the vehicle has sufficient undercarriage clearance to drive completely through the crossing
without stopping.

® No stop need be made at:

D Any crossing where a police officer, crossing flagger or a traffic-control
signal directs traffic to proceed;

(2) A streetcar crossing, or railroad tracks used exclusively for industrial
switching purposes within a business district, as defined in 49 C.F.R.
§390.5 (2000);

(3) A railroad grade crossing controlled by a functioning highway traffic signal
transmitting a green indication which, under local law permits the
commercial motor vehicle to proceed across the track without slowing or
stopping; or

4) A railroad grade crossing which is marked with a sign indicating that the
rail line is out of service.

(2) Any person driving a vehicle specified in this section or a vehicle that requires a
commercial driver’s license who fails to comply with the requirements of this section is guilty of
a misdemeanor. Provided, that if the electric or mechanical signal device is malfunctioning, this
subsection shall not apply.

(WVaC 17C-12-3)

343.04 MOVING HEAVY EQUIPMENT ACROSS GRADE CROSSINGS.

(a) No person shall operate or move any crawler-type tractor, steam shovel, derrick,
roller or any equipment or structure having a normal operating speed of ten or less miles per hour
or a vertical body or load clearance of less than one-half inch per foot of the distance between any
two adjacent axles or in any event, of less than nine inches, measured above the level surface of
aroadway, upon or across any tracks at a railroad grade crossing without first complying with this
section.

(b) Notice of any such intended crossing shall be given to a station agent of such
railroad and a reasonable time be given to such railroad to provide proper protection at such
crossing.

(c) Before making any such crossing the person operating or moving any such vehicle
or equipment shall first stop the same not less than fifteen feet nor more than fifty feet from the
nearest rail of such railroad and while so stopped shall listen and look in both directions along
such track for any approaching train, and for signals indicating the approach of a train, and shall
not proceed until the crossing can be made safely.

2010 Replacement



(d) No such crossing shall be made when warning is given by automatic signal or
crossing gates or a flagman or otherwise of the immediate approach of a railroad train or car. If
a flagman is provided by the railroad, movement over the crossing shall be under his direction.
(WVaC 17C-12-4)

343.05 THROUGH STREETS AND STOP INTERSECTIONS.

(@) Council or other designated traffic authority may designate through streets or
highways and erect stop signs at specified entrances thereto or may designate any intersection as
a stop intersection and erect like signs at one or more entrances to such intersection.

(b) Every such sign shall bear the word "Stop" in letters not less than six inches in
height and such sign shall at nighttime be rendered luminous by steady or flashing internal
illumination, or by a fixed floodlight projected on the face of the sign, or by efficient reflecting
elements on the face of the sign.

(©) Every stop sign shall be erected as near as practicable to the nearest line of the
crosswalk on the near side of the roadway.

(d) Every driver of a vehicle approaching a stop sign shall stop before entering the
crosswalk on the near side of the intersection or in the event there is no crosswalk shall stop at a
clearly marked stop line, but if none, then at the point nearest the intersecting street or highway
where the driver has a view of approaching traffic on the intersecting street or highway before
entering the intersection except when directed to proceed by a police officer or traffic control
signal. (WVaC 17C-12-5)

343.06 DRIVING ONTO ROADWAY FROM PLACE OTHER THAN
ROADWAY; STOPPING AT SIDEWALK.

The driver of a vehicle within a business or residence district emerging from any alley,
driveway or building shall stop such vehicle immediately prior to driving onto a sidewalk or onto
the sidewalk area extending across any alleyway or private driveway, and shall yield the right of
way to any pedestrian as may be necessary to avoid collision, and upon entering the roadway shall
vield the right of way fo all vehicles approaching on such roadway.

(WVaC 17C-12-6) ~

343.07 STOPPING FOR SCHOOL BUS; SIGNS AND WARNING LIGHTS;
SALE OF SCHOOL BUS.

(a) The driver of a vehicle upon meeting or overtaking from either direction any school
bus which has stopped for the purpose of receiving or discharging any school children shall stop
the vehicle before reaching such school bus when there is in operation on such school bus flashing
warning signal lights, as referred to in West Virginia Code 17C-12-8 and such driver shall not
proceed until such school bus resumes motion, or is signaled by the school bus driver to proceed
or the visual signals are no longer actuated. This section applies wherever the school bus is
receiving or discharging children, including, but not limited to, any street, highway, parking lot,
private road or driveway: provided, that the driver of a vehicle upon a controlled access highway
need not stop upon meeting or passing a school bus which is on a different roadway or adjacent
to such highway and where pedestrians are not permitted to cross the roadway.

2010 Replacement
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(b) Every bus used for the transportation of school children shall bear upon the front
and rear thereof a plainly visible sign containing the words "school bus" in letters not less than
eight inches in height. When a contract school bus is being operated upon a street or highway for
purposes other than the actual transportation of children either to or from school, all markings
thereon indicating "school bus" shall be covered or concealed. Any school bus sold or transferred
to another owner by a county board of education, agency or individual, shall have all flashing
warning lights disconnected and all lettering removed or permanently obscured, except when sold
or transferred for the transportation of school children. (WVaC 17C-12-7)

343.08 STOPPING FOR PASSENGER VAN; SIGNS AND WARNING LIGHTS.

(a) Every passenger van used for the transportation of children shall bear upon the front
and rear thereof a plainly visible sign containing the warning “Caution: Loading and Unloading
Passengers” in letters not less than six inches in height. Every such passenger van shall be
equipped with either flashing warning signal lights as are contemplated and referred to in West
Virginia Code 17C-12-8, or a red caution flag which the driver or some other adult must use by
exiting the passenger van and displaying while assisting in the loading or unloading of passengers.
Such vehicles may also be equipped with a white flashing strobotron warning light that meets the
requirements set forth in West Virginia Code 17C-15-26(e¢).

(b) The driver of a vehicle upon meeting or overtaking from any direction any
passenger van which has stopped for the purpose of loading or unloading passengers shall stop his
or her vehicle before reaching the passenger van when there is in operation on the passenger van
flashing warning signal lights or when an adult is outside the passenger van with a red caution flag
and assisting with the loading or unloading of passengers. The driver of a vehicle may not
proceed until he or she is signaled by the passenger van driver to proceed, the passenger van

access highway need not stop upon meeting or
roadway or adjacent to the highway and where pedestrians are not permitted to cross the roadway.
(WVaC 17C-12-17a)

343.09 OBSTRUCTING INTERSECTION OR CROSSWALK.

No driver shall enter an intersection or a marked crosswalk unless there is sufficient space
on the other side of the intersection or crosswalk to accommodate the vehicle he is operating
without obstructing the passage of other vehicles or pedestrians, notwithstanding any traffic
control signal indication to proceed.

343.10 YIELD SIGNS.

No driver or operator of any vehicle approaching any street in the City at which a “Yield”
or “Yield Right of Way” sign is erected pursuant to this Traffic Code shall proceed without
yielding the right of way to any vehicle which may be approaching upon such street.

(1987 Code 15C-7-9)

343.99 PENALTY.
(EDITOR’S NOTE: See Section 303.99 for general Traffic Code penalty if no specific
penalty is pro

(a) Whoever violates
Section 343.06 shall be fined not more than one hundred dollars ($100.00); upon
a second conviction within one year thereafter shall be fined not more than two
hundred dollars ($200.00); and third or subsequent conviction, shall be
fined not more than five hundred ($500.00).

2010 Replacement
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(b)

©)

TRA ANNE 0

Any driver acting in violation of Section 343.07(a) for
a first offense, shall be fined not less than one hundred fifty dollars ($150.00) or
more than five hundred dollars ($500.00), or confined in jail not more than thirty
days, or both fined and confined. Upon conviction of a second violation of Section
343.07(a), the driver shall be fined five hundred dollars ($500.00), or confined in
jail not more than thirty days, or both fined and confined. Upon conviction of a
third or subsequent violation of Section 343.07(a), the driver shall be fined five
hundred dollars ($500.00) and confined not less than twenty-four hours in jail but
not more than thirty days.

Any driver gin 0 ctio 3.08(b)
shall be fined not less than fifty dollars ($5 nor h hun dollars
($200.00), or imprisoned not more than thirty days, or both. If the identity of the
driver cannot be ascertained, then any such owner or lessee of the vehicle in
viola of n 343.08(b) be fined not less tw dollars
($25. nor than one hun dollars ($100.00): ide er, that
such conviction shall not subject such owner or lessee to further administrative or
other penalties for such offense, notwithstanding other provisions of this Traffic
Code to the contrary.

2010 Replacement
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ARTICLE 345
Safety and Equipment

345.01

Driving unsafe vehicles;
application; farm and

345.18

Special restrictions on
lights.

road equipment 345.19 Motor vehicle or motor-
exceptions. cycle brakes.
345.02 When lighted lights 345.20 Inspection of brakes on
required. motorcycles, motor-
345.03 Measurement of distances driven cycles and

345.04

and heights.
Headlights on motor
vehicles and motor-
cycles.

345.21
345.22

mopeds.

Horn, siren and theft
alarm signal.

Muffler; muffler cutout;

345.05 Tail light; illumination excessive smoke, gas
of rear license plate. or noise.

345.06 Red light or red flag 345.23 Rear-view mirror.
on extended loads. 345.24 Windshield to be

345.07 Lights on parked or unobstructed; wind-
stopped vehicles. shield wiper.

345.08 Lights on slow-moving 345.25 Tire equipment
vehicles. restrictions.

345.09 Spotlights and 345.26 Safety glass in motor
auxiliary lights. vehicles.

345.10 Signal lamps and signal 345.27 Vehicles transporting
devices. explosives.

345.11 Cowl, fender and back- 345.28 Television receiver in

up lights; flashing

driver's view

hazard lights. prohibited.
345.12 Multiple-beam road- 345.29 Safety equipment for
lighting equipment motorcyclists, motor-
requirements. cycles, motor-driven
345.13 Use of headlight cycles and mopeds.
beams. 345.30 Certification labels on mopeds.
345.14 Single-beam road- 345.31 Child passenger safety devices

345.15

345.16
345.17

lighting equipment.
Lights on motorcycles,
motor-driven cycles
and mopeds.

Alternate road-lighting
equipment.

Number of driving
lights required or
permitted.

345.32
345.33

345.34
345.35

345.99

required; child safety seats
and booster seats.
Certificate of inspection

and approval.

Alteration of motor vehicles;
bumper height limits.

Sun screening devices.
Operation of vehicles with
safety belts

Penalty.
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CROSS REFERENCES
See sectional histories for similar State law
Obscured light on vehicles in combination - see
W. Va. Code 17C-15-13
Warning devices for commercial vehicles - see
W. Va. Code 17C-15-39
Bicycle equipment - see TRAF. Art. 373

345.01 DRIVING UNSAFE VEHICLES; APPLICATION; FARM AND
ROAD EQUIPMENT EXCEPTIONS.

(a) No person shall drive or move and no owner shall cause or knowingly permit to
be driven or moved on any street or highway any vehicle or combination of vehicles which is in
such unsafe condition as to endanger any person, or which does not contain those parts or is not
at all times equipped with such lamps and other equipment in proper condition and adjustment as
required in this article, or which is equipped in any manner in violation of this article, or for any
person to do any act forbidden or fail to perform any act required under this article.

(b) Nothing contained in this article shall be construed to prohibit the use of additional
parts and accessories on any vehicle not inconsistent with the provisions of this article.

(© The provisions of this article with respect to equipment on vehicles shall not apply
to implements of husbandry, road machinery, road rollers or farm tractors except as herein made
applicable. Every farm tractor equipped with an electric lighting system shall at all times
mentioned in Section 345.02 display a red tail lamp and either multiple-beam or single-beam head
lamps meeting the requirements of Section 345.02.

(WVaC 17C-15-1)

345.02 WHEN LIGHTED LIGHTS REQUIRED.

Every vehicle other than a school bus, motorcycle, motor-driven cycle or moped operated
upon a street or highway within this Municipality at any time from sunset to sunrise or during fog,
smoke, rain or other unfavorable atmospheric conditions, or at any other time when there is not
sufficient light to render clearly discernible persons and vehicles on the street or highway at a
distance of 500 feet ahead shall display lighted head lamps and illuminating devices as hereinafter
respectively required for different classes of vehicles, subject to exceptions with respect to parked
vehicles as provided for in Section 345.07(c). Every school bus, motorcycle, motor-driven cycle
and moped shall display lighted head lamps at all times when upon the street or highway.
(WVaC 17C-15-2)

345.03 MEASUREMENT OF DISTANCES AND HEIGHTS.

(@) Whenever requirement is hereinafter declared as to the distance from which certain
lamps and devices shall render objects visible or within which such lamps or devices shall be
visible such provisions shall apply during the times stated in Section 345.02 in respect to a vehicle
without load when upon a straight, level, unlighted street or highway under normal atmospheric
conditions unless a different time or condition is expressly stated.



(b) Whenever requirement is hereinafter declared as to the mounted height of lamps
or devices it shall mean from the center of such lamp or device to the level ground upon which
the vehicle stands when such vehicle is without a load.

(WVaC 17C-15-3)

345.04 HEADLIGHTS ON MOTOR VEHICLES AND MOTORCYCLES.

(@) Every motor vehicle other than a motorcycle, motor-driven cycle or moped shall
be equipped with at least two head lamps with at least one on each side of the front of the motor
vehicle, which head lamps shall comply with the requirements and limitations set forth in this
article.

(b) Every motorcycle, motor-driven cycle and moped shall be equipped with at least
one and not more than two head lamps which shall comply with the requirements and limitations
of this article.

© Every head lamp upon every motor vehicle, including every motorcycle,
motor-driven cycle and moped, shall be located at a height measured from the center of the head
lamp of not more than fifty-four inches nor less than twenty-four inches to be measured as set
forth in Section 345.03.
(WVaC 17C-15-4)

345.05 TAIL LIGHT; ILLUMINATION OF REAR LICENSE PLATE.

(a) Every motor vehicle, trailer or semitrailer, and any other vehicle which is being
drawn at the end of a train of vehicles, shall be equipped with at least one tail lamp mounted on
the rear, which, when lighted as hereinbefore required, shall emit a red light plainly visible from
a distance of 500 feet to the rear, provided that in the case of a train of vehicles only the tail lamp
on the rearmost vehicle need actually be seen from the distance specified.

(b) Every tail lamp upon every vehicle shall be located at a height of not more than
sixty inches nor less than twenty inches to be measured as set forth in Section 345.03(b).

(© Either a tail lamp or a separate lamp shall be so constructed and placed as to
illuminate with a white light the rear registration plate and render it clearly legible from a distance
of fifty feet to the rear. Any tail lamp or tail lamps, together with any separate lamp for
illuminating the rear registration plate, shall be so wired as to be lighted whenever the head lamps
or auxiliary driving lamps are lighted.

(WVacC 17C-15-5)

345.06 RED LIGHT OR RED FLAG ON EXTENDED LOADS.

Whenever the load upon any vehicle extends to the rear four feet or more beyond the bed
or body of such vehicle there shall be displayed at the extreme rear end of the load, at the times
specified in Section 345.02, a red light or lantern plainly visible from a distance of at least 500
feet to the sides and rear. The red light or lantern required under this section shall be in addition
to the red rear light required upon every vehicle. At any time there shall be displayed at the
extreme rear end of such load a red flag or cloth not less than twelve inches square and so hung
that the entire area is visible to the driver of a vehicle approaching from the rear.

(WvaC 17C-15-14)
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345.07 LIGHTS ON PARKED OR STOPPED VEHICLES.

(a) Whenever a vehicle is lawfully parked upon a street or highway during the hours
between sunset and sunrise and in the event there is sufficient light to reveal any person or object
within a distance of 500 feet upon such street or highway no lights need be displayed upon such
parked vehicle.

(b)  Whenever a vehicle is parked or stopped upon a roadway or shoulder adjacent
thereto, whether attended or unattended, during the hours between sunset and sunrise and there
is not sufficient light to reveal any person or object within a distance of 500 feet upon such street
or highway, such vehicle so parked or stopped shall be equipped with one or more lamps meeting
the following requirements: At least one lamp shall display a white or amber light visible from
a distance of 500 feet to the front of the vehicle, and the same lamp or at least one other lamp
shall display a red light visible from a distance of 500 feet to the rear of the vehicle, and the
location of such lamp or lamps shall always be such that at least one lamp or combination of lamps
meeting the requirements of this section is installed as near as practicable to the side of the vehicle
which is closest to passing traffic. The foregoing provisions shall not apply to a motorcycle,
motor-driven cycle or moped.

(© Any lighted head lamps upon a parked vehicle shall be depressed or dimmed.
(WVaC 17C-15-15)

345.08 LIGHTS ON SLOW-MOVING VEHICLES.

All vehicles including animal-drawn vehicles and including those referred to in Section
345.01(c) not hereinbefore specifically required to be equipped with lamps, shall at the times
specified in Section 345.02 be equipped with at least one lighted lamp or lantern exhibiting a white
light visible from a distance of 500 feet to the front of such vehicle and with a lamp or lantern
exhibiting a red light visible from a distance of 500 feet to the rear.

(WVaC 17C-15-16)

345.09 SPOTLIGHTS AND AUXILIARY LI S.

(a) Any motor vehicle except a public utility company maintenance
vehicle may be equipped with not more than one spot lamp and every lighted spot lamp shall be
so aimed and used upon approaching another vehicle that no part of the high-intensity portion of
the beam will be directed to the left of the prolongation of the extreme left side of the vehicle nor
more than 100 feet ahead of the vehicle. A public utility company maintenance vehicle may be
equipped with more than one spot lamp but all lighted spot lamps shall be aimed and used in
conformity to the requirements of this subsection.

(b) Any motor vehicle may be equipped with not more than two fog
lamps mounted on the front at a height not less than twelve inches nor more than thirty inches
above the level surface upon which the vehicle stands and so aimed that when the vehicle is not
loaded none of the high-intensity portion of the light to the left of the center of the vehicle shall
at a distance of twenty-five feet ahead project higher than a level of four inches below the level
of the center of the lamp from which it comes.



11

(©) Any motor vehicle may be equipped with not more than
one auxiliary passing lamp mounted on the front at a height not less than twenty-four inches nor
more than forty-two inches above the level surface upon which the vehicle stands and every
auxiliary passing lamp shall meet the requirements and limitations set forth in this article.

@ Any motor vehicle may be equipped with not more than
one auxiliary driving lamp mounted on the front at a height not less than sixteen inches nor more
than forty-two inches above the level surface upon which the vehicle stands and every such
auxiliary driving lamp shall meet the requirements and limitations set forth in this article.

(e) Any motor vehicle may be
equipped with a roof-mounted off-road light bar li d eco ed of le S:
, ever v leis lor u  any or hig th f-

0 htba h  devi ed ing

that prohibits light from being emitted while the ed ay.

(WVaC 17C-15-17)

345.10 SIGNAL LAMPS AND SIGNAL DEVICES.
(a) Any motor vehicle may be equipped and when required under this Traffic Code
shall be equipped with the following signal lamps or devices:
(1) A stop lamp on the rear which shall emit a red or yellow light and which
shall be actuated upon application of the service (foot) brake and which
may but need not be inco  ated w
(2) A lamp or lamps or mech  al sign le of clearly indicating
any intention to turn either to the right or to the left and which shall be
visible both from the front and rear.

(b) A stop lamp shall be plainly visible and understandable from a distance of 100 feet

to the rear both during n and signal or

intention to turn shall be v rstan ime and ttim

of 100 feet both to the front and rear. When a vehicle is equipped with a stop lamp or other
sign , 1 rl 11 times be maintained in good working condition. No
stop 1 sh aring or dazzling light.

(c) All mechanical signal devices shall be self-illuminated when in use at the times
mentioned in Section 345.02. (WVaC 17C-15-18)

345.11 COWL, FENDER AND BACK-UP LIGHTS; FLASHING
HAZARD LIGHTS.
(@) Any motor vehicle may be equipped with not more than two side cowl or fender
lamps which shall emit an amber or white light without glare.

(b) Any motor vehicle may be equipped with not more than one running-board courtesy
lamp on each side thereof which shall emit a white or amber light without glare.

(©) Except for school buses as provided in this subsection, any motor vehicle may be

ly or

he m

en in
owned and operated by a county board of education or privately owned and operated under
contract with a county board of education, shall be ba one
side of the rear door, with white lens or reflector ng and

to the rear of the bus for safe backing during darkness, and which, at the option of the county
board of education, may each provide fifty candlepower in illumination intensity instead of thirty-
two candlepower.
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@) Any vehicle may be equipped with lamps which may be used for the purpose of
warning the operators of other vehicles of the presence of a vehicular traffic hazard requiring the
exercise of unusual care in approaching, overtaking or passing, and when so equipped may display
such warning in addition to any other warning signals required by this article. The lamps used
to display such warning to the front shall be mounted at the same level and as widely spaced
laterally as practicable and shall display simultaneously flashing white or amber lights, or any
shade of color between white and amber. The lamps used to display such warning to the rear shall
be mounted at the same level and as widely spaced laterally as practicable, and shall show
simultaneously flashing amber or red lights or any shade of color between amber and red.

(e Vehicles used by "rural mail carriers" in carrying or delivering mail in rural areas
may be equipped with amber flashing lights. Such lights shall be on the front and rear of the
vehicle and may be activated when the vehicle is stopped or decreasing speed in order to stop in
the course of carrying, delivering or picking up mail along the route.

H Notwithstanding any other provision of this Code to the contrary, any motor vehicle
may be equipped with not more than one electroluminescent solid state ceramic front identification
plate without glare, mounted in conformance with the manufacturer’s specifications.

(g)  Vehicles used as the lead car in a funeral procession are hereby authorized to be
equipped with, but are not required to use, purple lamps or purple flashing lights. Such lamps
may be used for the purpose of warning the operators of other vehicles of the presence of a
vehicular traffic hazard requiring the exercise of unusual care in approaching, overtaking or
passing a funeral procession, and when so equipped may display such warning in addition to any
other warning signals required by this article. The lamps or flashing lights used to display such
warning to the front shall be mounted at the same level and as widely spaced laterally as
practicable and shall display simultaneously either illuminating or flashing purple lights. The
lamps used to display such warning to the rear shall be mounted at the same level and as widely
spaced laterally as practicable, and shall show simultaneously flashing or illuminated purple lights.
(WVaC 17C-15-19)

345.12 MULTIPLE-BEAM ROAD-LIGHTING EQUIPMENT
KEQUIRKEMENTS.

Except as hereinafter provided, the head lamps or the auxiliary driving lamp or the
auxiliary passing lamp or combinations thereof on motor vehicles other than a motorcycle,
motor-driven cycle or moped shall be so arranged that the driver may select at will between
distributions of light projected to different elevations and such lamps may, in addition, be so
arranged that such selection can be made automatically, subject to the following limitations:

(a) There shall be an uppermost distribution of light, or composite beam, so aimed and
of such intensity as to reveal persons and vehicles at a distance of at least 350 feet
ahead for all conditions of loading.

(b)  There shall be a lowermost distribution of light, or composite beam, so aimed and
of sufficient intensity to reveal persons and vehicles at a distance of at least 100
feet ahead; and on a straight level road under any condition of loading none of the
high-intensity portion of the beam shall be directed to strike the eyes of an
approaching driver.
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(©)

Safety Eauinment 345.15

Every new motor vehicle, other than a motorcycle, motor-driven cycle or moped,
registered in the State after January 1, 1952, which has multiple-beam road-lighting
equipment shall be equipped with a beam indicator, which shall be lighted
whenever the uppermost distribution of light from the head lamps is in use, and
shall not otherwise be lighted. Such indicator shall be so designed and located that
when lighted it will be readily visible without glare to the driver of the vehicle so
equipped. (WVaC 17C-15-20)

345.13 USE OF HEADLIGHT BEAMS.

Whenever a motor vehicle is being operated on a roadway or shoulder adjacent thereto
during the times specified in Section 345.02, the driver shall use a distribution of light, or
composite beam, directed high enough and of sufficient intensity to reveal persons and vehicles
at a safe distance in advance of the vehicle, subject to the following requirements and limitations:

(@)

(b)

Whe er of 0 an ng vehicle w 5

such use a i f or ite beam, so d

glaring rays are not projected into the eyes of the oncoming driver. The lowermost
distribution of light, or composite beam specified in Section 345.12(b) shall be
deemed to avoid glare at all times regardless of road contour and loading.
Whenever the driver of a vehicle follows another vehicle within 200 feet to the
rear, except when engaged in the act of overtaking and passing, such driver shall
use a distribution of light permissible under this Traffic Code other than the
uppermost distribution of light specified in Section 345.12(a).

(WvaC 17C-15-21)

345.14 SINGLE-BEAM ROAD-LIGHTING EQUIPMENT.

Head lamps arranged to provide a single distribution of light shall be permitted on motor
vehicles manufactured and sold prior to July 1, 1952 in lieu of multiple-beam road-lighting
equipment herein specified if the single distribution of light complies with the following
requirements and limitations:

(a)

(b)

The head lamps shall be so aimed that when the vehicle is not loaded none of the
high-intensity portion of the light shall at a distance of twenty-five feet ahead
project higher than a level of five inches below the level of the center of the lamp
from which it comes, and in no case higher than forty-two inches above the level
on which the vehicle stands at a distance of seventy-five feet ahead.

The intensity shall be sufficient to reveal persons and vehicles at a distance of at
least 200 feet. (WVaC 17C-15-22)

345.15 LIGHTS ON MOTORCYCLES, MOTOR-DRIVEN CYCLES

AND MOPEDS.

The head lamp or head lamps upon every motorcycle, motor-driven cycle and moped may
be of the single-beam or multiple-beam type but in either event shall comply with the requirements
and limitations as follows:

(a)

(b)

Every such head lamp or head lamps shall be of sufficient intensity to reveal a
person or a vehicle at a distance of not less than 100 feet when the motorcycle,
motor-driven cycle or moped is operated at any speed less than twenty-five miles
per hour and at a distance of not less than 200 feet when it is operated at a speed
of twenty-five or more miles per hour.

In the event the motorcycle, motor-driven cycle or moped is equipped with a
multiple-beam type head lamp or head lamps the upper beam shall meet the
minimum requirements set forth above and shall not exceed the limitations set forth
in Section 345.12(a) and the lowermost beam shall meet the requirements
applicable to a lowermost distribution of light as set forth in Section 345.12(b).
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(© In the event the motorcycle, motor-driven cycle or moped is equipped with a
single-beam lamp or lamps such lamp or lamps shall be so aimed that when the
vehicle is loaded none of the high-intensity portion of light, at a distance of
twenty-five feet ahead, shall project higher than the level of the center of the lamp
from which it comes. (WVaC 17C-15-23)

345.16 ALTERNATE ROAD-LIGHTING EQUIPMENT.

Any motor vehicle may be operated under the conditions specified in Section 345.02 when
equipped with two lighted lamps upon the front thereof capable of revealing persons and objects
seventy-five feet ahead in lieu of lamps required in Section 345.12, or Section 345.14, provided

that at no time shall it be operated at a speed in excess of twenty miles per hour.
(WVaC 17C-15-24)

345.17 NUMBER OF DRIVING LIGHTS REQUIRED OR PERMITTED.

@) At all times specified in Section 345.02 at least two lighted lamps shall be
displayed, one on each side at the front of every motor vehicle other than a motorcycle,
motor-driven cycle or moped, except when such vehicle is parked subject to the regulations
governing lights on parked vehicles.

(b)  Whenever a motor vehicle equipped with head lamps as herein required is also
equipped with any auxiliary lamps or a spot lamp or any other lamp on the front thereof projecting
a beam of intensity greater than 300 candlepower, not more than a total of four of any such lamps
on the front of a vehicle shall be lighted at any one time when upon a street or highway.
(WVaC 17C-15-25)

345.18 SPECIAL RESTRICTIONS ON LIGHTS.

(a) Any lighted lamp or illuminating device upon a motor vehicle other than head
lamps, spot lamps, auxiliary lamps or flashing front-direction signals which projects a beam of
light of an intensity greater than 300 candlepower shall be so directed that no part of the beam will
strike the level of the roadway on which the vehicle stands at a distance of more than seventy-five
feet from the vehicle.

(b) No person shall drive or move any vehicle or equipment upon any street or
highway with any lamp or device thereon displaying other than a white or amber light visible from
directly in front of the center thereof except as authorized by subsection (d) hereof.

©) Except as authorized in subsections (d) and (f) of this section and Section 345.11,
flashing lights are prohibited on motor vehicles: Provided, that any vehicle as a means for
indicating right or left turn, or any vehicle as a means of indicating the same is disabled or
otherwise stopped for an emergency may have blinking or flashing lights.

(d) Notwithstanding any other provisions of this Traffic Code, the following colors of
flashing warning lights are restricted for the use of the type of vehicle designated:
(1) Blue flashing warning lights are restricted to police vehicles. Authorization
for police vehicles shall be designated by the chief administrative official
of each police department.
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Except for standard vehicle equipment authorized by Section 345.11, red
flashing warning lights are restricted to the following:
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Ambulances;

Fire-fighting vehicles;

Hazardous material response vehicles;

Industrial fire brigade vehicles;

Rescue squad vehicles not operating out of a fire department;
School buses;

Class A vehicles, as defined by West Virginia Code 17A-10-1 of
those firefighters who are authorized by their fire chiefs to have the
lights;

Class A vehicles of members of duly chartered rescue squads not
operating out of a fire department;

Class A vehicles of members of ambulance services or duly
chartered rescue squads who are authorized by their respective
chiefs to have the lights;

Class A vehicles of out-of-state residents who are active members
of West Virginia fire departments, ambulance services or duly
chartered rescue squads who are authorized by their respective
chiefs to have the lights; and

West Virginia Department of Agriculture emergency response
vehicles.

Vehicles designated by the Secretary of the Department of Military
Affairs and Public Safety for emergency response or emergency
management by the Division of Corrections, Regional Jail and
Correctional Facility Authority, Division of Juvenile Services and
Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management; and
Class A vehicles of emergency response or emergency management
personnel as designated by the Secretary of the Department of
Military Affairs and Public Safety and the county commission of the
county of residence.

Red flashing warning lights attached to a Class A vehicle shall be operated
only when responding to or engaged in handling an emergency requiring the
attention of the firefighters, members of the ambulance services or
chartered rescue squads.

The use of red flashing warning lights shall be authorized as follows:

A.

Authorization for all ambulances shall be designated by the
Department of Health and Human Resources and the sheriff of the
county of residence.

Authorization for all fire department vehicles shall be designated by
the Fire Chief and the State Fire Marshal's Office.

Authorization for all hazardous material response vehicles and
industrial fire brigades shall be designated by the Chief of the Fire
Department and the State Fire Marshal's Office.

Authorization for all rescue squad vehicles not operating out of a
fire department shall be designated by the squad chief, the sheriff of
the county of residence and the Department of Health and Human
Resources.

Authorization for school buses shall be designated as set out in West
Virginia Code 17C-14-12.

Authorization for firefighters to operate Class A vehicles shall be
designated by their fire chiefs and the State Fire Marshal's Office.
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Authorization for members of ambulance services or any other
emergency medical service personnel to operate Class A vehicles
shall be designated by their chief official, the Department of Health
and Human Resources and the sheriff of the county of residence.
Authorization for members of duly chartered rescue squads not
operating out of a fire department to operate Class A vehicles shall
be designated by their squad chiefs, the sheriff of the county of
residence and the Department of Health and Human Resources.
Authorization for out-of-state residents operating Class A vehicles
who are active members of a West Virginia fire department,
ambulance services or duly chartered rescue squads shall be
designated by their respective chiefs.

Authorization for West Virginia Department of Agriculture
emergency response vehicles shall be designated by the
Commissioner or the Department of Agriculture.

Authorization for vehicles for emergency response or emergency
management by the Division of Corrections, Regional Jail and
Correctional Facility Authority, Division of Juvenile Services and
Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management shall
be designated by the Secretary of the Department of Military Affairs
and Public Safety.

Authorization for Class A vehicles of emergency response or
emergency management personnel as designated by the Secretary of
the Department of Military Affairs and Public Safety and the county
commission of the county of residence.

Yellow or amber flashing warning lights are restricted to the following:

SmQmEua w e

All other emergency vehicles, including tow trucks and wreckers,
authorized by the West Virginia Code Chapter 17C and 17C-15-27;
Postal service vehicles and rural mail carriers, as authorized in
Section 345.11;

Rural newspaper delivery vehicles;

rlag cai seivices,

Vehicles providing road service to disabled vehicles;

Service vehicles of a public service corporation;

Snow removal equipment; and

School buses; and

Automotive fire apparatus owned by a municipality or other political
subdivision, by a volunteer or part-volunteer fire company or
department or by an industrial fire brigade.

The use of yellow or amber flashing warning lights shall be authorized as
follows:

A.

Authorization for tow trucks, wreckers, rural newspaper delivery
vehicles, flag car services, vehicles providing road service to
disabled vehicles, service vehicles of a public service corporation
and postal service vehicles shall be designated by the sheriff of the
county of residence.

Authorization for snow removal equipment shall be designated by
the Commissioner of the Division of Highways.

Authorization for school buses shall be designated as set out in West
Virginia Code 17C-14-12.



D. Authorization for automotive fire apparatus shall be designated by
the Fire Chief in conformity with the NFPA 1901 standard for
automotive fire apparatus as published by the National Fire
Protection Association (NFPA) on July 18, 2003, and adopted by
the State Fire Commission by legislative rule (87 CSR 1, et seq.),
except as follows:

1. With the approval of the State Fire Marshal, used
automotive fire apparatus may be conformed to the NFPA
standard in effect on the date of its manufacture or
conformed to a later NFPA standard, and

2. Automotive fire apparatus may be equipped with blinking or
flashing headlamps.

e Notwithstanding the foregoing provisions of this section, any vehicle belonging to
a county board of education, an organization receiving funding from the state or federal transit
administration for the purpose of providing general public transportation, or hauling solid waste
may be equipped with a white flashing strobotron warning light. This strobe light may be installed
on the roof of a school bus, a public transportation vehicle, or a vehicle hauling solid waste not
to exceed one-third the body length forward from the rear of the roof edge. The light shall have
a single clear lens emitting light three hundred sixty degrees around its vertical axis and may not
extend above the roof more than six and one-half inches. A manual switch and a pilot light must
be included to indicate the light is in operation.

(H No person shall install or use flashing warning lights of an unauthorized color on
a vehicle other than as specified in this section, except that a police vehicle may be equipped with
either or both blue or red warning lights. (WVaC 17C-15-26)

345.19 MOTOR VEHICLE OR MOTORCYCLE BRAKES.
(a)

1) Every motor vehicle, other than a motorcycle, motor-driven cycle or
moped, when operated upon a street or highway shall be equipped with
brakes adequate to control the movement of and to stop and hold such
vehicle, including two separate means of applying the brakes, each of which
means shall be effective to apply the brakes to at least two wheels. If these
two separate means of applying the brakes are connected in any way, they
shall be so constructed that failure of any one part of the operating
mechanism shall not leave the motor vehicle without brakes on at least two
wheels.

(2) Every motorcycle, motor-driven cycle and moped, when operated upon a
street or highway, shall be equipped with at least one brake which may be
operated by hand or foot.

(3) Every trailer or semitrailer of a gross weight of 3,000 pounds or more
when operated upon a street or highway shall be equipped with brakes
adequate to control the movement of and to stop and to hold such vehicle
and so designed as to be applied by the driver of the towing motor vehicle
from its cab, and such brakes shall be so designed and connected that in
case of an accidental breakaway of the towed vehicle the brakes shall be
automatically applied.

4) Every new motor vehicle, trailer or semitrailer hereinafter sold in this State
and operated upon the streets or highways shall be equipped with service
brakes upon all wheels, with the following exceptions:

A. Trucks and truck-tractors having three or more axles need not have
brakes on the front wheels, except when such vehicles are equipped
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with at least two steerable axles, the wheels of one such axle need
not be equipped with brakes, and

B. Any motorcycle, motor-driven cycle or moped and any semitrailer
of less than 1,500 pounds gross weight need not be equipped with
brakes.

(5) In any combination of motor-driven vehicles, means shall be provided for
applying the rearmost trailer brakes, of any trailer equipped with brakes,
in approximate synchronism with the brakes on the towing vehicle and
developing the required braking effort on the rearmost wheels at the
fastest rate; or means shall be provided for applying braking effort first
on the rearmost trailer equipped with brakes; or both of the above means
capable of being used alternatively may be employed.

(6) Every such vehicle and combination of vehicles, except motorcycles,
motor-driven cycles and mopeds, shall be equipped with parking brakes
adequate to hold the vehicle on any grade on which it is operated, under
all conditions of loading on a surface free from snow, ice or loose
material. The parking brakes shall be capable of being applied in
conformance with the foregoing requirements by the driver's muscular
effort or by spring action or by equivalent means. Their operation may
be assisted by the service brakes or other source of power provided that
failure of the service brake actuation system or other power assisting
mechanism will not prevent the parking brakes from being applied in
conformance with the foregoing requirements. The parking brakes shall
be so designed that when once applied they shall remain applied with the
required effectiveness despite exhaustion of any source of energy or
leakage of any kind.

The same brake drums, brake shoes and lining assemblies, brake shoe
anchors and mechanical brake shoe actuation mechanism normally
associated with the wheel brake assemblies may be used for both the
service brakes and the parking brakes. If the means of applying the
parking brakes and the service brakes are connected in any way, they shall
be so constructed that a failure of any one part shall not leave the vehicle
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) The brake shoes operating within or upon the drums on the vehicle wheels
of any motor vehicle may be used for both service and hand operation.

(b) Every motor vehicle or combination of
motor-drawn vehicles shall be capable, at all times and under all conditions of loading, of being
stopped on a dry, smooth, level road free from loose material, upon application of the service
(foot) brake, within the distances specified below, or shall be capable of being decelerated at a
sustained rate corresponding to these distances:

Feet to stop Deceleration
from 20 miles in feet per
per second
Vehicle or combinations of vehicles
having brakes on all wheels 30 14
Vehicles or combinations of vehicles
not having brakes on all wheels 40 10.7
(c) All brakes shall be maintained in good working order and

shall be so adjusted as to operate as equally as practicable with respect to the wheels on opposite
sides of the vehicle. (WVaC 17C-15-31)
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345.20 INSPECTION OF BRAKES ON MOTORCYCLES, MOTOR-
DRIVEN CYCLES AND MOPEDS.
No person shall operate on any street or highway any motorcycle, motor-driven cycle or
moped in the event the Commissioner of Highways has disapproved the brake equipment upon
such vehicle or type of vehicle. (WVaC 17C-15-32)

345.21 HORN, SIREN AND THEFT ALARM SIGNAL.

(a) Every motor vehicle when operated upon a street or highway shall be equipped with
a horn in good working order and capable of emitting sound audible under normal conditions from
a distance of not less than 200 feet, but no horn or other warning device shall emit an
unreasonably loud or harsh sound or a whistle. The driver of a motor vehicle shall when
reasonably necessary to insure safe operation give audible warning with his horn but shall not
otherwise use such horn when upon a street or highway.

(b) No vehicle shall be equipped with nor shall any person use upon a vehicle any
siren, whistle or bell, except as otherwise permitted in this section.

(c) It is permissible but not required that any commercial vehicle be equipped with a
theft alarm signal device which is so arranged that it cannot be used by the driver as an ordinary
warning signal.

Any authorized emergency vehicle may be equipped with a siren, whistle or bell, capable
of emitting sound audible under normal conditions from a distance of not less than 500 feet and
of a type approved by the Department of Motor Vehicles, but such siren shall not be used except
when such vehicle is operated in response to an emergency or in the immediate pursuit of an actual
or suspected violator of the law, in which such latter events the driver of such vehicle shall sound
such siren when reasonably necessary to warn pedestrians and other drivers of the approach
thereof. (WVaC 17C-15-33)

345.22 MUFFLER; MUFFLER CUTOUT; EXCESSIVE SMOKE,
GAS OR NOISE.

(a) Every motor vehicle shall at all times be equipped with a muffler in good working
order and in constant operation to prevent excessive or unusual noise. Such muffler shall be the
muffler originally installed by the manufacturer of the vehicle or, if a replacement, the equivalent
thereof. No person shall use a muffler cutout, bypass or similar device upon a motor vehicle on
a street or highway.

(b) The engine and power mechanism of every motor vehicle shall be so equipped and
adjusted as to prevent the escape of excessive fumes or smoke. (WVaC 17C-15-34)

345.23 REAR-VIEW MIRROR.
Every motor vehicle which is so constructed or loaded as to obstruct the driver's view to
the rear thereof from the driver's position shall be equipped with a mirror so located as to reflect

to the driver a view of the street or highway for a distance of at least 200 feet to the rear of such
vehicle. (WVaC 17C-15-35)

345.24 WINDSHIELD TO BE UNOBSTRUCTED; WINDSHIELD
WIPER.

(a) No person shall drive any motor vehicle with any sign, poster or other
nontransparent material upon the front windshield, side wings or side or rear windows of such
vehicle which obstructs the driver's clear view of the street or highway or any intersecting street
or highway.
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(b) The windshield on every motor vehicle shall be equipped with a device for cleaning
rain, snow or other moisture from the windshield, which device shall be so constructed as to be
controlled or operated by the driver of the vehicle.

(c) Every windshield wiper upon a motor vehicle shall be maintained in good working
order. (WVaC 17C-15-36)

345.25 TIRE EQUIPMENT RESTRICTIONS.
(a) Every solid rubber tire on a vehicle shall have rubber on its entire traction surface
at least one inch thick above the edge of the flange of the entire periphery.

(b) No person shall operate or move on any highway any motor vehicle, trailer or
semitrailer having any metal tire in contact with the roadway.

(c) No tire on a vehicle moved on a highway shall have on its periphery any block,
stud, flange, cleat or spike or any other protuberance of any material other than rubber which
projects beyond the tread of the traction surface of the tire, except that:

(1) It shall be permissible to use farm machinery with tires having
protuberances which will not injure the street or highway;

) It shall be permissible to use tire chains of reasonable proportions upon any
vehicle when required for safety because of snow, ice or other conditions
tending to cause a vehicle to skid; and

3) It shall be permissible to use studded tires during the period from
November 1, of each year until April 15 of the following year. Provided
that in the interest of highway maintenance, no vehicle moved on a street
or highway, other than school buses, shall be equipped with studded tires
which are operational with a recommended air pressure greater than forty
pounds per square inch.

(«)) No studded tires or chains shall be sold or used within the Municipality which do
not meet the specifications established by the rules and regulations which the Commissioner of
Highways shall promulgate.

(e) Council may in its discretion issue special permits authorizing the operation upon
the street or highway of traction engines or tractors having movable tracks with transverse
corrugations upon the periphery of such movable tracks or farm tractors or other farm machinery,
the operation of which upon a highway would otherwise be prohibited under this Traffic Code.
(WVaC 17C-15-37)

345.26 SAFETY GLASS IN MOTOR VEHICLES.

(a) On and after July 1, 1951, no person shall operate any motor vehicle as specified
herein, nor shall any motor vehicle as specified herein be registered thereafter unless such vehicle
is equipped with safety glass of a type approved by the Commissioner of Highways wherever glass
is used in doors, windows and windshields. The foregoing provisions shall apply to all
passenger-type motor vehicles, including passenger buses and school buses, but in respect to
trucks, including truck tractors, the requirements as to safety glass shall apply to all glass used in
doors, windows, and windshields in the drivers' compartments of such vehicles.

(b) The term "safety glass" shall mean any product composed of glass, so
manufactured, fabricated or treated as substantially to prevent shattering and flying of the glass

when struck or broken, or such other or similar product as may be approved by the Commissioner.
(WVaC 17C-15-38)
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345.27 VEHICLES TRANSPORTING EXPLOSIVES.

Any person operating any vehicle transporting any explosive as a cargo or part of a cargo

upon a street or highway shall at all times comply with the provisions of this section.

(a) Such vehicle shall be marked or placarded on each side and the rear with the word
"Explosives" in letters not less than eight inches high, or there shall be displayed
on the rear of such vehicle a red flag not less than twenty-four inches square
marked with the word "Danger" in white letters six inches high.

(b) Every such vehicle shall be equipped with not less than two fire extinguishers,
filled and ready for immediate use and placed at a convenient point on the vehicle
so used.

(WVaC 17C-15-41)

345.28 TELEVISION RECEIVER IN DRIVER'S VIEW PROHIBITED.

No motor vehicle shall be operated on any street or highway in this Municipality when
equipped with a television receiver unless such receiver is so placed that the screen or picture tube
of such receiver is visible only in the rear seat of such motor vehicle and not in view of the
operator of such motor vehicle. (WVaC 17C-15-42)

345.29 SAFETY EQUIPMENT FOR MOTORCYCLISTS, MOTORCYCLES,
MOTOR-DRIVEN CYCLES AND MOPEDS.

(a) No person shall operate or be a passenger on any motorcycle or motor-driven cycle
unless he is wearing securely fastened on his head by either a neck or chin strap a protective
helmet designed to deflect blows, resist penetration and spread impact forces. Any helmet worn
by an operator or passenger shall meet the current performance specifications established by the
American National Standards Institute Standard, Z 90.1, the United States Department of
Transportation Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard No. 218 or Snell Safety Standards for
Protective Headgear for Vehicle Users.

(b) No person shall operate or be a passenger on any motorcycle or motor-driven cycle
unless he is wearing safety, shatter-resistant eyeglasses (excluding contact lenses), or eyegoggles
or face shield that complies with the performance specifications established by the American
National Standards Institute for Head, Eye and Respiratory Protection, Z 2.1. In addition, if any
motorcycle, motor-driven cycle or moped is equipped with a windshield or windscreen, the
windshield or windscreen shall be constructed of safety, shatter-resistant material that complies
with the performance specifications established by Department of Transportation Federal Motor
Vehicle Safety Standard No. 205 and American National Standards Institute, Safety Glazing
Materials for Glazing Motor Vehicles Operated on Land Highways, Standard Z 26.1.

) No person shall operate a motorcycle, motor-driven cycle or moped on which the
handlebars or grips are more than fifteen inches higher than the uppermost part of the operator's
seat when the seat is not depressed in any manner.

()] A person operating a motorcycle, motor-driven cycle or moped shall ride in a seated
position facing forward and only upon a permanent operator's seat attached to the vehicle. No
operator shall carry any other person nor shall any other person ride on such a vehicle unless the
vehicle is designed to catry more than one person, in which event a passenger may ride behind
the operator upon the permanent operator's seat if it is designed for two persons, or upon another
seat firmly attached to the vehicle to the rear of the operator's seat and equipped with footrests
designed and located for use by the passenger or in a sidecar firmly attached to the vehicle. No
person shall ride sidesaddle on a seat. An operator may carry as many passengers as there are
seats and footrests to accommodate those passengers. Additional passengers may be carried in a
factory produced side car provided that there is one passenger per seat. Passengers riding in a
sidecar shall be restrained by safety belts.
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(e) Every motorcycle, motor-driven cycle and moped shall be equipped with a rearview
mirror affixed to the handlebars or fairings and adjusted so that the operator shall have a clear
view of the road and condition of traffic behind him for a distance of at least 200 feet.

(WVaC 17C-15-44)

345.30 CERTIFICATION LABELS ON MOPEDS.

Every moped sold in this Municipality shall have permanently affixed to it a certification
label which shall contain the following information:

(1) Name of manufacturer;

2) Month and year of manufacture;

(3) Gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR);

4) Gross axle weight rating for front and rear axles (GAWR);

(5) Vehicle identification number;

(6) Classification type; and

@) Statement of conformance to Federal standards as required by Federal law.

(WVaC 17C-15-45)

345.31 CHILD PASSENGER SAFETY DEVICES REQUIRED; CHILD SAFETY
SEATS AND BOOSTER SEATS.

Every driver who transports a child under the age of eight years in a passenger automobile,
van or pickup truck other than one operated for hire shall, while the motor vehicle is in motion
and operated on a street or highway, provide for the protection of the child by properly placing,
maintaining and securing the child in a child passenger safety device system meeting applicable
federal motor vehicle safety standards; provided, that if a child is under the age of eight years and
at least four feet nine inches tall, a safety belt shall be sufficient to meet the requirements of this
section.

Any person who violates any provision of this section shall be fined not less than ten
dollars ($10.00) nor more than twenty dollars ($20.00).

A violation of this section does not by virtue of the violation constitute evidence of
negligence or contributory negligence or comparative negligence in any civil action or proceeding
for damages.

If any provision of this section or the application thereof to any person or circumstancc is
held invalid, the invalidity may not affect other provisions or applications of this section and to
this end the subsections of this section are declared to be severable.

If all seat belts in a vehicle are being used at the time of examination by a law officer and
the vehicle contains more passengers than the total number of seat belts or other safety devices as
installed in compliance with federal motor vehicle safety standards, the driver may not be
considered in violation of this section. (WVaC 17C-15-46)

345.32 CERTIFICATE OF INSPECTION AND APPROVAL.

No owner or operator of any vehicle required to be inspected under West Virginia Code
Article 17C-16 shall operate or permit to be operated such vehicle without having displayed
thereon a current and valid certificate of inspection and approval or fail to produce same upon

demand of any authorized person as therein designated.
(WVaC 17C-16-9)
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345.33 ALTERATION OF MOTOR VEHICLES; BUMPER HEIGHT LIMITS.
(a) No person shall operate upon a public street or highway any motor vehicle

r edtobereg ed Stat d of

0 the extent its ers, p ed
main horizontal bumper bar, exclusive of nt
sp d her for its gross veh  we r gcategory. The front and rear bumper height
of rveh swhosegrossve ew t ingis 10,000 pounds or less shall be no less than
six inches and no more than thirty-one inches. In the absence of bumpers, and in cases where
bumpe hts have been altered o ifi eight measurements shall be made to the bottom
of the rail. If a motor vehic a er, the bumper must be at least three inches in

vertical width, centered on the center line of the motor vehicle and not less than the width of the
wheel track distance. The provisions of this subsection do not apply to motor vehicles with a
cle rating in of 10,000 pounds. For the purpose of this subsection, the
SS weight r " means the manufacturer's gross vehicle weight ratings
established for that vehicle.

(b) The maximum distance between the vehicle body to the vehicle frame shall not
exceed three inches. The distance from the vehicle body to the vehicle frame shall be measured
from the vehicle body mount seat to the vehicle frame mount seat: provided, that the maximum
distance limitation shall not prohibit a body lift kit up to three inches to be added to the
manufacturer's original spacer between the body and the frame. No vehicle shall be modified to
cause the vehicle body or chassis to come in contact with the ground, expose the fuel tank to
d
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(©) Nothing contained in this section prevents the installation of heavy duty equipment,
including shock absorbers and overload springs.
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(e) This section does not apply to specially designed or modified motor vehicles when
op pu eets an inr vents. Such motor vehicles may
be ed streets ays ity.
® Modifications to motor vehicles, not prohibited herein, shall be made subject to

inspection as provided in subsection (h) hereof.
(2) Nothing contained in this section shall subject a vehicle modified solely by the

installation of tires not larger than two sizes beyond the maximum specified by the manufacturer
to inspection as provided in subsection (h) hereof.
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(h) Any motor vehicle which has been altered from the manufacturer's specification
with respect to bumper height for that vehicle make and model but within the allowable limits of
subsection (a) hereof or any motor vehicle which has been altered from the manufacturer's
specification for that vehicle make and model with respect to the distance from the vehicle body
to vehicle frame but within the allowable limits of subsection (b) hereof may be operated upon a
public street or highway in this Municipality, subject to inspection under West Virginia Code
17C-15-48: provided, that any motor vehicle which has been altered from the manufacturer's
specification by lowering the bumper height for that vehicle make and model within the allowable
limits of subsection (a) hereof shall be exempt from the inspection requirements hereunder and
may be operated upon a public street or highway in this Municipality subject to provisions of West
Virginia Code Chapter 17C-16. Each municipal law-enforcement agency must record on crash
report forms whether a modified vehicle was involved in the crash.

(WVaC 17C-15-48)

345.34 SUN SCREENING DEVICES.

(a) No person may operate a motor vehicle that is registered or required to be
registered in the State on any public highway, road or street that has a sun screening device on the
windshield, the front side wings and side windows adjacent to the right and left of the driver and
windows adjacent to the rear of the driver that do not meet the requirements of this section.
Provided, that law-enforcement K-9 and other emergency vehicles that are designed to haul
animals are exempt from this requirement.

(b) A sun screening device when used in conjunction with the windshield must be
nonreflective and may not be red, yellow or amber in color. A sun screening device may be used
only along the top of the windshield and may not extend downward beyond the ASI line or more
than five inches from the top of the windshield whichever is closer to the top of the windshield.

(©) A sun screening device when used in conjunction with the automotive safety glazing
materials of the side wings or side windows located at the immediate right and left of the driver
shall be a nonreflective type with reflectivity of not more than twenty percent (20%) and have a
light transmission of not less than thirty-five percent (35%). The side windows behind the driver
and the rear most windows may have a sun screening device that is designed to be nsed on
automotive safety glazing materials that has a light transmission of not less than thirty-five percent
(35%) and a reflectivity of not more than twenty percent (20%). If a sun screening device is used
on glazing behind the driver, one right and one left outside rear view mirror is required.

(d) Each manufacturer shall:

(D Certify to the State Police and Division of Motor Vehicles that a sun
screening device used by it is in compliance with the reflectivity and
transmittance requirements of this section;

(2)  Provide a label not to exceed one and one-half square inches in size, with
a means for the permanent and legible installations between the sun
screening material and each glazing surface to which it is applied that
contains the manufacturer's name and its percentage of light transmission;
and
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(3) Include instructions with the product or material for proper installation,
including the affixing of the label specified in this section. The labeling or
marking must be placed in the left lower corner of each glazing surface
when facing the vehicle from the outside.

(e) No person shall:
(1) Offer for sale or for use any sun screening product or material for motor
vehicle use not in compliance with this section; or
(2) Install any sun screening product or material on vehicles intended for use
on public roads without permanently affixing the label specified in this

section.
® The prov of this do not to a motor vehicle regis is
State in the name of a p , or the s legal an, who has an affidavit a
physician or an optometrist licensed to practice in this State that states that the person has a
physical th ary to the ehicle n sCree material
which w a eorlu sre e in vi of this on. The

affidavit must be in the possession of the person so afflicted, or the person's legal guardian, at all
times while being transported in the motor vehicle.

() The light transmittance requirement of this section does not apply to windows
behind the driver on trucks, buses, trailers, mobile homes and multipurpose passenger vehicles.

(h) As used in this section:

(1) "Bus" means a motor vehicle with motive power, except a trailer, designed
for carrying more than ten persons.
2) "Light transmission" means the ratio of the amount of total light to pass

through a product or material to the amount of the total light falling on the
product or material.

3) "Luminous reflectants”" means the ratio of the amount of total light that is
reflected outward by the product or material to the amount of the total light
falling on the product or materials.

C)) "Manufacturer”" means any person engaged in the manufacturing or
assembling of sun screening products or materials designed to be used in
conjunction with vehicle glazing materials for the purpose of reducing the
effects of the sun.

(5) "Motor homes" means vehicular units designed to provide temporary living
quarters built into and an integral part of or permanently attached to a
self-propelled motor vehicle chassis.

(6) "Multipurpose passenger vehicle" means a motor vehicle with motive
power, except a trailer, designed to carry ten persons or less which is
constructed either on a truck chassis or with special features for occasional
offroad operation.



) "Nonreflective" means a product or material designed to absorb light rather
than to reflect it.

€)) "Passenger car" means a motor vehicle with motive power, except a
multipurpose passenger vehicle, motorcycle or trailer, designed for
carrying ten persons or less.

C)) "Sun screening device" means film material or device that is designed to be
used in conjunction with motor vehicle safety glazing materials for reducing
the effects of the sun.

(10) "Truck" means a motor vehicle with motive power, except a trailer,
designed primarily for the transportation of property or special purpose
equipment.

(WVaC 17C-15-36a)

345.35 OPERATION OF VEHICLES WITH SAFETY BELTS.

(a) A person shall not operate a passenger vehicle on a public street or highway unless
the person, any passenger in the back seat under eighteen years of age, and any passenger in the
front seat of such passenger vehicle is restrained by a safety belt meeting applicable federal motor
vehicle safety standards. For the purposes of this section, "passenger vehicle" means a motor
vehicle which is designed for transporting ten passengers or less, including the driver, except that
such term does not include a motorcycle, a trailer or any motor vehicle which is not required on
the date of the enactment of this section under a federal motor vehicle safety standard to be
equipped with a belt system. The provisions of this section shall apply to all passenger vehicles
manufactured after the first day of January, 1967, and being 1968 models and newer.

(b) The required use of safety belts as ded he does to a duly
appointed or contracted rural mail carrier of the U States al Ser is actually
making mail deliveries or to a passenger or operator with a physically disabling condition whose
physical disability would prevent appropriate restraint in such safety belt if the condition is duly
certified by a physician who shall state the nature of the disability as well as the reason such
restraint is inappropriate.

(c) A violation of this section is not admissible as evidence of negligence or
contributory negiigence or comparative negiigence 1n any civil action or proceeding tor damages,
and shall not be admissible in mitigation of damages: provided, that the court may, upon motion
of the defendant, conduct an in camera hearing to determine whether an injured party's failure to
wear a safety belt was a proximate cause of the injuries complained of. Upon such a finding by
the court, the court may then, in a jury trial, by special interrogatory to the jury, determine (1)
that the injured party failed to wear a safety belt, and (2) that the failure to wear the safety belt
constituted a failure to mitigate damages. The trier of fact may reduce the injured party's
recovery for medical damages by an amount not to exceed five percent (5%) thereof. In the event
the plaintiff stipulates to the reduction of five percent (5 %) of medical damages, the court shall
make the calculations and the issue of mitigation of damages for failure to wear a safety belt shall
not be presented to the jury. In all cases, the actual computation of the dollar amount reduction
shall be determined by the court.
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(d) Notwithstanding any other provision of this Code to the contrary, no points may
be entered on any driver's record maintained by the Division of Motor Vehicles as a result of a
violation of this section.

(e) Nothing contained in this section shall be construed to abrogate or alter the
provisions of Section 345.31 relating to the mandatory use of child passenger safety devices.
(WVaC 17C-15-49)

® Any person who violates the provisions of this section shall be fined not more than
twenty-five dollars ($25.00). No court costs or other fees shall be assessed for a violation of this
section. Enforcement of this section shall be accomplished only as a secondary action when a
driver of a passenger vehicle has been detained for probable cause of violating another section of
this code.

345.99 PENALTY.
(EDITOR’S NOTE: See Section 303.99 for general Traffic Code penalty.)
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ARTICLE 347
Commercial and Heavy Vehicles

347.01 Opversize or overweight 347.04 Loads dropping or
vehicles. leaking.

347.02 Projecting loads on 347.05 Towing requirements.
passenger vehicles. 347.99 Penalty.

347.03 Maximum width, height
and length.

CROSS REFERENCES
See sectional histories for similar State law
Authority to designate weight limits on local streets -
see W. Va. Code 17C-2-8(a)(7)
Authority to permit oversized buses - see W. Va.
Code 17C-17-2(b)
Red light or flag on extended load - see TRAF. 345.07
Transporting explosives - see TRAF. 345.27

347.01 OVERSIZE OR OVERWEIGHT VEHICLES.

(a) No person shall operate or move a vehicle or combination of
vehicles of a size or weight of vehicle or load exceeding the maximum specified in West Virginia
Code Article 17C-17 upon any State route within the Municipality, except pursuant to special
written permit issued by the Commissioner of Highways, or upon any local truck route. Every
such permit shall be carried in the vehicle or combination of vehicles to which it refers and shall
be open to inspection by any police officer.

No holder of a permit issued by the Commissioner of Highways shall be required to obtain
any local permit or license or pay any local fee or charge for movement on any State route within
the Municipality; however, it shall be unlawful to operate any such vehicle or combination of
vehicles upon any roadway within the Municipality which is not a State route, except as provided
in subsection (c) hereof.

(b) No person shall operate a vehicle exceeding a size as
specified in Section 347.03 or exceeding a gross weight of ten tons, upon any street in the
Municipality other than a State route, except those local streets designated as a truck route and
marked as such by appropriate traffic signs, and except when such operation is necessary to load
or unload property, to go to or from the usual place of storage of such vehicle or to perform any
other legitimate business or act other than passage through the Municipality. Operators of vehicles
so deviating from either a State route or a designated truck route within the Municipality shall
confine such deviation to that required in order to accomplish the purpose of the departure.
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(c) Upon application and for good cause, the Police
Chief may issue a local permit authorizing an applicant to move an oversize or overweight vehicle
or combination of vehicles upon local streets.

No permittee shall be required to obtain a special permit from the Commissioner of
Highways for the movement of the vehicle or combination of vehicles on streets or highways
under local jurisdiction; however, the approval of the Commissioner of Highways shall be
required for movement upon State routes as provided in subsection (a) hereof.

The Police Chief may grant a permit for a single or round trip, or for such period of time,
not to exceed one year, as the Police Chief in his discretion deems advisable, or for the duration
of any construction project. The Police Chief may limit or prescribe terms or conditions of
operation for such vehicle or combination of vehicles by designating the route, hours, speed or
such other restrictions as may be necessary for the preservation of the public peace, property,
health and safety. The Police Chief may require the posting of bond or other security necessary
to compensate for any damage to a roadway or road structure.

For each such permit, the Police Chief shall charge five dollars ($5.00), and for each hour
of time or any part thereof spent by each police officer in supervising the movement of such
vehicle, the applicant shall pay the sum of ten dollars ($10.00).

Signs shall be posted indicating "no thru trucks - gross weight 10 tons" or words of similar
import to apprise drivers of the limitations imposed by this section. No driver shall disobey the
instructions indicated on any such sign.

Violation of any of the limitations, terms or conditions of the permit granted by the Police
Chief shall be cause for immediate revocation or suspension of such permit, and denial of request
for any future permit. Such violation shall also subject the violator to the penalty prescribed by
Section 303.99.

347.02 PROJECTING LOADS ON PASSENGER VEHICLES.

(a) No passenger-type vehicle shall be operated on any street or highway with any load
carried thereon extending beyond the line of the fenders of the left side of such vehicle nor
extending more than six inches beyond the line of the fenders on the right side thereof.

(b) A motor home, travel trailer or truck camper may exceed the maximum width
wmunnansilhnd v Cantinm 24T N2 f tha avnaoa wideh 10 atteihiitalhla ¢4 an ananetannnca that Aaaa na +
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exceed more than six inches beyond the body of the vehicle.

(WVaC 17C-17-3)

347.03 MAXIMUM WIDTH, HEIGHT AND LENGTH.

(a) A vehicle, including any load thereon, may not exceed a height of thirteen feet six
inches, but the owner or owners of such vehicles shall be responsible for damage to any bridge
or highway structure and to municipalities for any damage to traffic control devices or other
highway structures where such bridges, devices or structures have a vehicle clearance of less than
thirteen feet six inches.

(b) A motor vehicle, including any load thereon, may not exceed a length of forty feet

extreme overall dimension, inclusive of front and rear bumpers, except that a motor home and
school bus may not exceed a length of forty-five feet, exclusive of front and rear bumpers.

2008 Replacement



() Except as hereinafter provided in this subsection or in subsection (d) of this section,
a combination of vehicles coupled together may not consist of more than two units and no
combination of vehicles including any load thereon shall have an overall length, inclusive of front
and rear bumpers, in excess of fifty-five feet except as provided in West Virginia Code 17C-17-
11b, and except as otherwise provided in respect to the use of a pole trailer as authorized in West
Virginia Code 17C-17-5. The limitation that a combination of vehicles coupled together may not
consist of more than two units may not apply to:

(1) A combination of vehicles coupled together by a saddle-mount device used
to transport motor vehicles in a drive-away service when no more than three
saddle mounts are used, if equipment used in the combination meets the
requirements of the safety regulations of the United States Department of
Transportation and may not exceed an overall length of more than seventy-
five feet; or

2) A combination of vehicles coupled together, one of which is a travel trailer
or folding camping trailer having an overall length, exclusive of front and
rear bumpers, not exceeding sixty-five feet.

(d) A combination of two vehicles coupled together, one of which is a motor home, or
a combination of vehicles coupled together, one of which is a travel trailer or folding camping
trailer, may not exceed an overall length, exclusive of front and rear bumpers of sixty-five feet.

(e) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsections (a), (b), (c) and (d) of this section,
the Commissioner of Highways may designate, upon his or her own motion or upon the petition
of an interested party, a combination vehicle length not to exceed seventy feet.

® The length limitations for truck tractor-semitrailer combinations and truck tractor-
semitrailer-trailer combinations operating on the national system of interstate and defense
highways and those classes of qualifying federal-aid primary system highways so designated by
the United States Secretary of Transportation and those highways providing reasonable access to
and from terminals, facilities for food, fuel, repairs and rest and points of loading and unloading
for household goods carriers from such highways and further, as to other highways so designated
by the West Virginia Commissioner of Highways, shall be as follows: the maximum length of a
semitrailer unit operating in a truck tractor-semitrailer combination shall not exceed forty-eight
feet in length except where semitrailers have an axle spacing of not more than thirty-seven feet
between the rear axle of the truck tractor and the front axle of the semitrailer, such semitrailer
shall be allowed to be not more than fifty-three feet in length and the maximum length of any
semitrailer or trailer operating in a truck tractor-semitrailer-trailer combination may not exceed
twenty-eight feet in length and in no event shall any combinations exceed three units, including
the truck tractor: provided, that nothing herein contained shall impose an overall length limitation
as to commercial motor vehicles operating in truck tractor-semitrailer or truck tractor-semitrailer-
trailer combinations. (WVaC 17C-17-4)

(g) The total outside width, exclusive of safety equipment authorized by the United
States Department of Transportation, of any vehicle or the load thereon may not exceed ninety-six
inches, except as otherwise provided in West Virginia Code Article 17C-17: provided, that any
vehicle with a total outside width of 102 inches, exclusive of safety equipment authorized by the
United States Department of Transportation, may be operated on any street or highway designated
by the United States Department of Transportation or the Commissioner of the Department of
Highways or on any street or highway having a minimum lane width of ten feet.
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(h) Motor homes, travel trailers, truck campers, and motor buses with a total outside
width of 102 inches, excluding safety equipment authorized by the United States Department of
Transportation may operate on any street or highway.

(WVvaC 17C-17-2)

347.04 LOADS DROPPING OR LEAKING.

(a) No vehicle or combination of vehicles shall be operated on any street or highway
unless such vehicle or combination of vehicles is so constructed or loaded as to prevent any of its
load from dropping, sifting, leaking, or otherwise escaping therefrom, except that sand may be
dropped for the purpose of securing traction, or water or other substance may be sprinkled on a
roadway in cleaning or maintaining such roadway.

(b) No person shall operate on any street or highway any vehicle or combination of
vehicles with any load unless such load and any covering thereon is securely fastened so as to
prevent such covering or load from becoming loose, detached or in any manner a hazard to other
users of the street or highway.

(WVvaC 17C-17-6)

347.05 TOWING REQUIREMENTS.

(a) When one vehicle is towing another the drawbar or other connection shall be of
sufficient strength to pull all weight towed thereby and such drawbar or other connection shall not
exceed fifteen feet from one vehicle to the other except the connection between any two vehicles
transporting poles, pipe, machinery or other objects of structural nature which cannot readily be
dismembered.

(b) When one vehicle is towing another and the connection consists of a chain, rope
or cable, there shall be displayed upon such connection a white flag or cloth not less than twelve
inches square.

(WVaC 17C-17-7)

347.99 PENALTY.
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(a) Whoever violates Section 347.01 shall be fined in proportion to the amount of
weight in pounds in excess of that permitted or allowed:

1 to 4,000 $20.00
4 001 to 5,000 25.00
5 001 to 6,000 60.00
6 001 to 7,000 70.00
7 001 to 8,000 80.00
8 001 to 9,000 90.00
9,001 to 10,000 100.00
10,001 to 11,000 165.00
11,001 to 12,000 180.00
12,001 to 13,000 195.00
13,001 to 14,000 210.00
14,001 to 15,000 225.00
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15,001 to 16,000 320 00
16,001 to 17,000 340 00
17,001 to 18,000 360 00
18,001 to 19,000 380 00
19,001 to 20,000 400 00
20,001 to 22,000 500 00
22,001 to 24,000 550 00
24,001 to 26,000 600 00
26,001 to 28,000 650 00
28,001 to 30,000 700 00
30,001 to 32,000 750 00
32,001 to 34,000 800 00
34,001 to 36,000 850 00
36,001 to 38,000 900 00
38,001 to 40,000 950 00
40,001 and over 1,000 00

In the event any owner, lessee or borrower of a vehicle is charged with violating Section
347.01, the vehicle which is charged to be overloaded shall be impounded by the arresting officer
and shall not be released to such owner, lessee or borrower unless and until such owner, lessee
or borrower either shall have been found guilty and paid any fine assessed against such owner,
lessee or borrower, or shall have furnished cash or surety bond in at least double the amount of
the fine which may be assessed against such owner, lessee or borrower for such violation of
Section 347.01 and conditioned upon the payment of any such fine and costs assessed for such
violation, or shall have been acquitted of such charge. Such owner, lessee or borrower shall be
liable for any reasonable storage costs incurred in storing such vehicles provided, that if the owner
of such vehicle is a resident of or has a principal place of business located in this State, and the
vehicle has been fully licensed in the State, the vehicle shall not be impounded, but the arresting
officer shall deliver to the driver a written notice stating such violation; the place, date and time;
the license number of the vehicle; the title number and name and address of the owner; the
driver’s name, address, and the number of his operator’s or chauffeur’s card or permit; and the
court, place, date and time for hearing, which shall be within five days of such violation
(Saturdays, Sundays and holidays, excluded). A copy of such notice shall within forty-eight hours
be mailed to the owner of the vehicle. Upon the failure by such owner or his or its agent to
appear at the designated place and time, or upon failure to pay the fine and costs assessed, for
such violation, unless such owner shall have been acquitted of such charge, the court shall order
a bond or the impounding of said vehicle as provided in this section.

(Ord. 6-26-89.)
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ARTICLE 349
Miscellaneous Rules

349.01 Unattended motor vehicle. 349.12 Squealing tires, crack-
349.02 Backing a vehicle. ing exhaust noises.
349.03 Drivers' view and control 349.13 Taking, injuring or

to be unobstructed by tampering with vehicle.

load or persons. 349.14 Driving upon sidewalk,
349.04 Passengers in seat with street lawn or curb.

operator. 349.15 Shortcutting; avoiding
349.05 Passengers on running board. traffic control
349.06 Following authorized devices.

emergency vehicles. 349.16 Coasting prohibited.
349.061 Approaching authorized 349.17 Driving through safety

emergency vehicles. Zone.
349 07 Driving over fire hose. 349.18 Driving upon street
349 08 Funeral processions. posted as closed for
349 09 Opening door of vehicle )

on traffic side 349.19 ction of traffic.
349.10 Boarding or alighting 349.20 Vehicle security.

from vehicle. 349.21 Littering from a motor vehicle.
349.11 Unlawful riding. 349.99 Penalty.

CROSS REFERENCES

See sectional histories for similar State law
Obedience to traffic control devices - see TRAF. 313.01

349.01 UNATTENDED MOTOR VEHICLE.

No person driving or in charge of a motor vehicle shail permit it to stand unattended
without first stopping the engine, locking the ignition, r ing the key, setting
the brake thereon and, when standing upon any 3rade, tu the front wh or side
of the street or highway.

(WVaC 17C-14-1)

349.02 BACKING A VEHICLE.
The driver of a vehicle shall not back the same unless such movement can be made with

reasonable safety and without interfering with other traffic.
(WVvaC 17C-14-2)
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349.03 DRIVERS' VIEW AND CONTROL TO BE UNOBSTRUCTED BY
LOAD OR PERSONS.
(a) No person shall drive a vehicle when it is so loaded as to obstruct the view of the
driver to the front or sides of the vehicle or as to interfere with the driver's control over the
driving mechanism of the vehicle.

(b) No passenger in a vehicle shall ride in such position as to interfere with the driver's
view ahead or to the sides, or to interfere with his or her control over the driving mechanism of
the vehicle. (WVaC 17C-14-4)

349.04 PASSENGERS IN SEAT WITH OPERATOR.

No more than three persons including the operator shall ride or be permitted by such
operator to ride in the seat with the operator of any motor vehicle while such motor vehicle is
being operated on the streets or highways of this Municipality: provided, however, that the
limitation of this section shall not apply to a truck cab or truck crew compartment properly
designed for the occupancy of four persons including the operator, and so designated on the
registration card by the Division of Motor Vehicles.

(WVaC 17C-14-5)

349.05 PASSENGERS ON RUNNING BOARD.

No passenger shall ride nor shall the operator permit any passenger to ride on the running
boards of any motor vehicle while such vehicle is being operated on the streets or highways of this
Municipality. (WVaC 17C-14-6)

349.06 FOLLOWING AUTHORIZED EMERGENCY VEHICLES.

The driver of any vehicle other than one on official business may not follow any authorized
emergency vehicle traveling in response to a fire alarm or other emergency closer than 500 feet
or drive into or park such vehicle within the block where such authorized emergency vehicle has

stopped in answer to a fire alarm or other emergency.
(WVaC 17C-14-9)

349.061 APPROACHING AUTHORIZED EMERGENCY VEHICLES.

Lhe driver ot any vehicle approaching a stationary authorized emergency vehicle, when
the authorized emergency vehicle is giving a signal by displaying alternately flashing red, red and
white, blue, or red and blue lights or amber or yellow warning lights, shall:

(a) Proceed with due caution, yield the right-of-way by making a lane change not
adjacent to that of the authorized emergency vehicle, if possible with regard to
safety and traffic conditions, if on a highway having at least four lanes with not
less than two lanes proceeding in the same direction as the approaching vehicle and
reduce speed to a safe level for road conditions; or

(b) Proceed with due caution, reduce the speed of the vehicle, maintaining a safe speed
not to exceed fifteen miles per hour on any nondivided highway or street and
twenty-five miles per hour on any divided highway depending on road conditions,
if changing lanes would be impossible or unsafe.

(WVaC 17C-14-9a)

349.07 DRIVING OVER FIRE HOSE.

No vehicle shall be driven over any unprotected hose of the Fire Department when laid
down on any street or private driveway to be used at any fire or alarm of fire, without the consent
of the Fire Department official in command. (WVaC 17C-14-10)
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Miscellaneouns Rules 349.08

349.08 FUNERAL PROCESSIONS.

(a)
(1)

@)

&)

“4)
&)

(b)
(1

2)

3)

(c)
oY)

2

(d)

"Funeral director” and "funeral establishment" have the same meaning as set
forth in West Virginia Code 30-6-4.

"Funeral procession" means two or more vehicles accompanying the body
of a deceased person, or traveling to the church, chapel, cemetery, or other
location at which the funeral service or final disposition is to be held,
including a funeral lead vehicle or a funeral escort vehicle.

"Funeral lead vehicle" means any authorized law enforcement or nonlaw-
enforcement motor vehicle or a funeral escort vehicle being used to lead and
facilitate the movement of a funeral procession. A funeral hearse may serve
as a funeral lead vehicle.

"Funeral escort" means a person or entity that provides escort services for
funeral processions, including law-enforcement personnel and agencies.
"Funeral escort vehicle" means any motor vehicle that escorts a funeral
procession.

Regardless of any traffic control device or right-of-way provisions
prescribed by state or local ordinance, pedestrians and operators of all
vehicles, except as stated in subsection (b)(3) of this section, shall yield the
right-of-way to any vehicle which is part of a funeral procession being led
by a funeral escort vehicle or a funeral lead vehicle.
When the funeral lead vehicle lawfully enters an intersection, either by
reason of a traffic control device or at the direction of law-enforcement
personnel, the remaining vehicles in the funeral procession may follow
through the intersection regardless of any traffic control devices or right-of-
way provisions prescribed by state or local law.
Funeral processions have the right-of-way at intersections regardless of
traffic control devices subject to the following conditions and exceptions:
A. Operators of vehicles in a funeral procession shall yield the right-of-
way to an approaching emergency vehicle giving an audible or
visible signal;

B. Operators of vehicles in a funeral procession shall yield the right-of-
way when directed to do so by a police officer; and
C. Operators of vehicles in a funeral procession must exercise due care

when participating in a funeral procession.

All vehicles comprising a funeral procession shall follow the preceding
vehicle in the funeral procession as closely as is practical and safe.

Any ordinance, law or rule stating that motor vehicles shall be operated to
allow sufficient space enabling any other vehicle to enter and occupy such
space without danger is not applicable to vehicles in a funeral procession.

Liability for any death, personal injury or property damage suffered on

or after the first day of July, one thousand nine hundred ninety-nine, by any person in a funeral
procession may not be imposed upon a funeral director or funeral establishment or their employees
or agents unless the death, personal injury or property damage is proximately caused by the
negligent or intentional act of a funeral director or funeral establishment or their employees or

agents.
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(e) All nonlaw-enforcement funeral escort vehicles and funeral lead
vehicles may be equipped with at least one lighted circulation flashing lamp exhibiting an amber
or purple light or lens. Flashing amber or purple lights may be used when such vehicles are used
in a funeral procession. (WVaC Art. 17C-23)

349.09 OPENING DOOR OF VEHICLE ON TRAFFIC SIDE.

No person shall open the door of a motor vehicle on the side available to moving traffic
unless and until it is reasonably safe to do so, nor shall any person leave a door open on the side
of a motor vehicle available to moving traffic for a period of time longer than is necessary to load
or unload passengers.

349.10 BOARDING OR ALIGHTING FROM VEHICLE.
No person shall board or alight from any vehicle while such vehicle is in motion.

349.11 UNLAWFUL RIDING.

No person shall ride on any vehicle upon any portion thereof not designated or intended
for the use of passengers when the vehicle is in motion. This provision shall not apply to an
employee engaged in the necessary discharge of a duty or to persons riding within truck bodies
in space intended for merchandise.

349.12 SQUEALING TIRES, CRACKING EXHAUST NOISES.

No person shall unnecessarily race the motor of any vehicle and no person shall operate
any motor vehicle, except in an emergency, in such a manner that the vehicle is so rapidly
accelerated or started from a stopped position that the exhaust system emits a loud, cracking or
chattering noise unusual to its normal operation, or whereby the tires of such vehicle squeal or
leave tire marks on the roadway, commonly called "peeling".

349.13 TAKING, INJURING OR TAMPERING WITH VEHICLE.

(a) No person shall drive a vehicle, not his or her own, without consent of the owner
thereof, and with intent temporarily to deprive such owner of his or her possession of such
vehicle, but without intent to steal the vehicle. The consent of the owner of a vehicle to its taking
or driving shall not 1n any case be presumed or 1mp11ed because of such owner 's consent on a
l}lCVlUUD UbbdDIUll I,U l.llC ldl\llls Uy UIIVHIE Ul bubll VCIIILIC Uy l.llC Sainc Or a U.lllCl Clll. pCl 3011. I‘\lly
person who assists in, or is a party or accessory to or an accomplice in any such unauthorized
taking or driving, shall also be guilty of a violation of this section.

(WVaC 17A-8-4)

b) No person either individually or in association with one or more persons shall
willfully injure or tamper with any vehicle or break or remove any part or parts of or from a
vehicle without the consent of the owner.

No person with intent to commit any malicious mischief, injury or other crime shall climb
into or upon a vehicle whether it is in motion or at rest or with like intent attempt to manipulate
any of the levers, starting mechanism, brakes or other mechanism or device of a vehicle while the
same is at rest and unattended or with like intent set in motion any vehicle while the same is at
rest and unattended.

(WvVaC 17A-8-6)

349.14 DRIVING UPON SIDEWALK, STREET LAWN OR CURB.
(a) No person shall drive any vehicle, other than a bicycle, upon a sidewalk or
sidewalk area except upon a permanent or duly authorized temporary driveway.
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(b) No person shall drive a vehicle on a street lawn area or the curb of a street, except
upon a permanent or duly authorized temporary driveway or when otherwise lawfully authorized.

349.15 SHORTCUTTING; AVOIDING TRAFFIC CONTROL DEVICES.

(a) No person shall operate a motor vehicle across public or private property marked
with signs "No Through Traffic" or words of similar import for the purpose of passing from one
roadway to another.

(b) No person shall operate a motor vehicle across public or private property for the
purpose of avoiding compliance with a traffic control device.

(©) It shall be prima-facie evidence of a violation of this section for the operator of a
motor vehicle to cross public or private property as provided herein without using the service of
such property, stopping the engine or both.

349.16 COASTING PROHIBITED.
The operator of any motor vehicle when traveling on a down grade on any street, alley or
highway shall not coast with the gears of such vehicle in neutral.

349.17 DRIVING THROUGH SAFETY ZONE.
No operator of a vehicle shall drive the same over or through a safety zone.

349.18 DRIVING UPON STREET POSTED AS CLOSED FOR REPAIR.

No person shall drive upon, along or across a street or highway, or any part thereof, which
has been closed in the process of its construction, reconstruction or repair, and posted with
appropriate signs by the authority having jurisdiction to close such street or highway.

349.19 OBSTRUCTION OF TRAFFIC.

No person shall operate, stop, stand or park any motor vehicle on any street or alley within
the Municipality so as to obstruct or hinder the free flow of motor vehicle traffic except in
compliance with a lawful order of a police officer or in compliance with a traffic control sign,
signal or marking.

349.20 VEHICLE SECURITY.

(a) Every owner or registrant of a motor vehicle shall maintain security upon such
vehicle as required by West Virginia Code Article 17D-2A, and no person shall knowingly drive
or operate on any street within the Municipality any motor vehicle upon which security is required
by such Article unless the security is provided, and violation of any of the provisions of West
Virginia Code Article 17D-2A including failure to have a certificate of insurance, if required,
shall constitute a violation under this section.

(b) A defendant, who is charged with a traffic offense that requires an appearance in
court, shall present the court at the time of his or her appearance or subsequent appearance with
proof that the defendant had security in effect at the time of the traffic offense as required by this
section. The court shall not base its decision solely on the presentation of a certificate of
insurance as defined in West Virginia Code 17D-2A-4. The court shall require current
documentation from the defendant’s insurance company or agent that the defendant in fact was
insured at the time of the offense. If, as a result of the defendant’s failure to show proof, the
court determines that the defendant has violated this section, it shall notify the Division of Motor
Vehicles within five days.
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(©) In addition to any other penalty provided for violation of any provision of this
any person who vi vision of this se be fined not less than two
d dollars ($200.00) five hundred do ( .00)
The arrest procedures authorized in West Virginia Code 17C-19-4 shall apply to the
enforcement of the provisions of this section.
(Ord. 6-22-98.)

349.21 LITTERING FROM A MOTOR VEHICLE.

(a) It is unlawful for any driver or passenger of a motor vehicle or other conveyance
to place, deposit, dump, throw or cause to be placed, deposited, dumped or thrown, any litter
from a motor vehicle or other conveyance in or upon any public or private highway, road, street
or alley; any private property; any public property; or the waters of the State or within one
hundred feet of the waters of this State, except in a proper litter or other solid waste receptacle.

(b) For purposes of this section, "litter" means all waste material including, but not
limited to, any garbage, refuse, trash, disposable package, container, can, bottle, paper, ashes,
cigarette or cigar butt, carcass of any dead animal or any part thereof, or any other offensive or
unsightly matter, but not including the wastes of primary processes of mining, logging,
sawmilling, farming or manufacturing.

©) When there is more than one occupant in a motor vehicle or other conveyance and
it can not be determined which occupant is responsible for violating this section, the driver shall
be presumed to be responsible for the violation
(WvaC 17C-14-14)

349.99 PENALTY.
(EDITOR’S NOTE: See Section 303.99 for general Traffic Code penalty.)



AN ORDINANCE OF THE CITY OF GLEN DALE, WEST VIRGINIA, PROHIBITI G
USE OF ELECTRONIC COMMUNICATIONS DEVICE DRIVING WITHOUT
HANDHELD FEATURES; DEFINITIONS, EXCEPTIONS, PENALTIES.

SECTION ONE: The Council of the City of Glen Dale, hereby ordains

349.22 PROHIBITING USE OF ELECTRONIC COMMUNICATIONS DEVICE
DRIVING WITHOUT HANDHELD FEATURES; DEFINITIONS, EXCEPTIONS,
PENALTIES

(a) Except as provided in subsection (c) of this section, a person may not drive or
operate a motor vehicle on a public street or highway while:

(1) Texting; or

(2) Using a cell phone or other electronic communications device, unless the use is
accomplished by hands-free equipment.

(b) For purposes of this section, the following terms shall mean
(1) "Cell phone" shall mean a cellular, analog, wireless or digital telephone.

(2) "Driving" or "operating a motor vehicle" means operating a motor vehicle, with
the motor  running, including while temporarily stationary because of traffic, a traffic
control device, or other momentary delays, but does not include operating a motor
vehicle after the driver has moved the vehicle to the side of, or off, a highway and
halted in a location where the vehicle can safely remain stationary.

(3) "Electronic communication device" means a cell telephone, personal digital
assistant, electronic device with mobile data access, laptop computer, pager, broadband
personal communication device, 2-way messaging device, electronic game, or portable
computing device. For the purposes of this section, an "electronic communication
device" does not include:

(A) Voice radios, mobile radios, land mobile radios, commercial mobile radios or two
way radios with the capability to transmit and receive voice transmissions utilizing a
push-to-talk or press-to-transmit function; or

(B) Other voice radios used by a law-enforcement officer, an emergency services
provider, an employee or agent of public safety organizations, first responders, Amateur






Radio Operators (HAM) licensed by the Federal Communications Commission and school
bus operators.

(4) "Engaging in a call" means when a person talks into or listens on an electronic
communication device, but shall not include when a person dials or enters a phone
number on a pushpad or screen to initiate the call.

(5) "Hands-free electronic communication device" means an electronic
communication device that has an internal feature or function, or that is equipped with
an attachment or addition, whether or not permanently part of such electronic
communication device, by which a user engages in a call without the use of either hand
or both hands.

(6) "Hands-free equipment" means the internal feature or function of a hands-free
electronic communication device or the attachment or addition to a hands-free
electronic communication device by which a user may engage in a call or text without
the use of either hand or both hands.

(7) "Texting" means manually entering alphanumeric text into, or reading text from,
an electronic communication device, and includes, but is not limited to, short message
service, e-mailing, instant messaging, a command or request to access a World Wide
Web page or engaging in any other form of electronic text retrieval or entry, for present
or future communication. For purposes of this section, "texting" does not include the
following actions:

(A) Reading, selecting or entering a telephone number, an extension number, or
voicemail retrieval codes and commands into an electronic device by the pressing the
device in order to initiate or receive a phone call or using voice commands to initiate or
receive a telephone call;

(B) Inputting, selecting or reading information on a global positioning system or
navigation system; or

(C) Using a device capable of performing multiple functions, including fleet
management systems, dispatching devices, smart phones, citizens band radios or music
players, for a purpose that is not otherwise prohibited in this section.

(8) "Using a cell phone or other electronic communication device" means holding in
a person's hand or hands an electronic communication device while:

(A) Viewing or transmitting images or data;

(B) Playing games;






(C) Composing, sending, reading, viewing, accessing, browsing, transmitting, saving
or retrieving e-mail, text messages or other electronic data; or

(D) Engaging in a call.
(c) Subsection (a) of this section shall not apply to:

(1) A law-enforcement officer, a firefighter, an emergency medical technician, a
paramedic or the operator of an authorized emergency vehicle in the performance of
their official duties;

(2) A person using an electronic communication device to report to appropriate
authorities a fire, a traffic accident, a serious road hazard, or a medical or hazardous
materials emergencies.

(3) The activation or deactivation of hands-free equipment or a function of hands-
free equipment.

(d) This section does not supersede the provisions of any more restrictive provisions
for drivers of commercial motor vehicles prescribed by the provisions of section 353.08
state law or federal law or rule.

(e) Any person who violates the provisions of subsection (a) of this section is guilty
of a traffic offense and, upon conviction thereof, shall for a first offense be fined $100;
for a second offense be fined $200; and for a third or subsequent offense be fined
$300. No court costs or other fees shall be assessed for a violation of subsection (a) of
this section.

(f) Notwithstanding any other provision of this code to the contrary, points may not
be entered on any driver's record maintained by the Division of Motor Vehicles as a
result of a violation of this section, except for the third and subsequent convictions of
the offense, for which three points shall be entered on any driver's record maintained
by the Division of Motor Vehicles.

(9) Nothing contained in this section shall be construed to authorize seizure of a cell
phone or electronic device by any law-enforcement agency.

SECTION TWO: This Ordinance shall be effective from and after its date of
passage.

Passed First Reading:






Passed Second Reading:

Dave Blazer, Mayor

ATTEST:

Jane Criswell-Rickman, City Clerk
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Glen
Dale City Council Minutes

August 26, 2013

Glen Dale City Council met in regular session on Monday, August 26,
2013, at 7:30pm. in Council Chambers of the Glen Dale City Building. Those in
Attendance were Mayor Blazer,

Recorder Trembush, Council Members: Bero, English, Grisell, and Zinn. Also
present were Chief of Police Stenger, Water Superintendent Orlofske, City Clerk
Rickman and Attorney Barney. Councilman

Richmond and Byers were absent.

The minutes of the previous meeting were approved on a motion by Zinn
and second by English. Vote: Unanimous

A motion was made by English and seconded by Grisell to approve
payment of bills in the amount of $17,478.00. Vote: Unanimous

Zinn made a motion to accept standing committee reports and English
seconded. Vote: Unanimous

Attorney Barney read on first reading five ordinances by title needing to
be passed for the City to be in compliance with a state code. They were read
individually and voted on individually

by ROLL CALL VOTE. All were passed unanimously as follows:

#1. AN ORDINANCE OF THE CITY OF GLEN DALE,
WEST VIRGINIA, AMENDING ORDINANCE 353.01 ENTITLED DEFINITIONS
TO INCLUDE DEFINITIONS

FOR TEXTING. Motion to approve by Bero and seconded by Zinn. ROLL CALL
VOTE: BERO-YES; ENGLISH-YES; GRISELL- YES; ZINN-YES
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#2. AN ORDINANCE OF THE CITY OF GLEN DALE,
WEST VIRGINIA, AMENDING ORDINANCE 353.03 ENTITLED EMPLOYER
RESPONSIBILITIES.

Motion to approve by Zinn and seconded by English. ROLL. CALL VOTE: BERO-
YES; ENGLISH-YES; GRISELL-YES; ZINN-YES.

#3. AN ORDINANCE OF THE CITY OF GLEN DALE,
WEST VIRGINIA, DEFINING ACTIONS AND CONDITIONS DISQUALIFYING
AN INDIVIDUAL FROM

OPERATING A COMMERCIAL VEHICLE AND PENALTIES. Motion to approve
by Grisell and second by English. ROLL CALL VOTE:; BERO-YES; ENGLISH-
YE; GRISELL-YES;

ZINN-YES

#4. AN ORDINANCE OF THE CITY OF GLEN DALE,
WEST VIRGINIA, PROHIBITING COMMERCIAL DRIVERS FROM TESTING
WHILE DRIVING.

Motion to approve by Bero and seconded by Zinn. ROLL CALL: BERO-YES;
ENGLISH-YES; GRISELL-YES; ZINN-YES

#5. AN ORDINANCE OF THE CITY OF GLEN DALE,
WEST VIRGINIA, PROHIBITING THE USE OF ELECTRONIC
COMMUNICATIONS DEVICE

DRIVING WITHOUT HAND HELD FEATURES; DEFINITIONS, EXCEPT,
PENALTIES. Motion to approve by Bero and seconded by Zinn. ROLL CAL VOTE:
BERO-YES;

ENGLISH-YES; GRISELL-YES; ZINN-YES

English moved and Grisell seconded a request for an executive session at
7:48pm to discuss personnel matters. English moved and Grisell seconded a request to
return to regular session

at 8:23pm. Both were unanimous.

English made a motion, second by Bero, to adjourn at 8:24pm. Vote:
Unanimous






David Blazer, Mayor

Gerald A. Trembush, Recorder
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I any provision of this
per ned not less than two
lars

The arrest procedures authorized in West Virginia Code 17C-19-4 shall apply to the
enforcement of the provisions of this section.
(Ord. 6-22-98.)

349.21 LITTERING FROM A MOTOR VEHICLE.

(a) It is unlawful for any driver or passenger of a motor vehicle or other conveyance
to place, deposit, dump, throw or cause to be placed, deposited, dumped or thrown, any litter
from a motor vehicle or other conveyance in or upon any public or private highway, road, street
or alley; any private property; any public property; or the waters of the State or within one
hundred feet of the waters of this State, except in a proper litter or other solid waste receptacle.

(b) For purposes of this section, "litter" means all waste material including, but not

to e, , trash, dispo package, co can, bottle, p ashes,

€o c of any dead a or any part , or any other sive or
unsightly matter, but not including the wastes of primary processes of mining, logging,
sawmilling, farming or manufacturing.

©) When there is more than one occupant in a motor vehicle or other conveyance and
it can not be determined which occupant is responsible for violating this section, the driver shall
be presumed to be responsible for the violation.
(WVaC 17C-14-14)

349.99 PENALTY.
(EDITOR’S NOTE: See Section 303.99 for general Traffic Code penalty.)
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ARTICLE 351
Licensing Generally

351.01 Registration, certificate 351.07 Persons exempt from
of title required. license.

351.02 Registration card. 351.08 Display of license.

351.03 Display of registration 351.09 Certain acts prohibited.
plates. 351.10 Driving under suspension

351.04 Operation of vehicle or revocation.
without evidence of 351.11 Owner or operator
registration; use of allowing another to
temporary facsimile. drive.

351.05 Improper use of 351.99 Penalty.

registration card,

plate or permit.
351.06 Driver or motorcycle

license required.

CROSS REFERENCES
Impounding unlicensed vehicle - see TRAF. 303.07
Illumination of license plate - see TRAF. 345.05(c)

351.01 REGISTRATION, CERTIFICATE OF TITLE REQUIRED.
No person shall drive or move and no owner shall knowingly permit to be driven or moved
t or highway any cle t
17-A which is no iste e
or applied for or for which the appropriate fee h
otherwise permitted by the provisions therein: provided, that in the event of the sale of a vehicle
by on a stere the p pu the for a od of
not th S, rate icle u he ion ous o r and
display the registration thereof: provided further that he shall have and display on the demand of
any proper officer the consent in writing of such previous owner so to use such registration.
(WVaC 17A-3-1)

351.02 REGISTRATION CARD.

Every owner upon receipt of a registration card shall write his signature thereon with pen
and ink in the space provided. Every such registration card shall at all times be carried in the
vehicle to which it refers or shall be carried by the person driving or in control of such vehicle
who shall display the same upon demand of a police officer or any officer or employee of the
Department of Motor Vehicles.

(WVaC 17A-3-13)

2010 Replacement



351.03 DISPLAY OF REGISTRATION PLATES.

(@) Registration plates issued for vehicles required to be registered shall be attached to
the rear thereof except that on truck tractors and road tractors designed and constructed to puil
trailers or semi-trailers, the registration plate shall be mounted to the front.

(b)  Every registration plate shall at all times be securely fastened in a horizontal
position to the vehicle for which it is issued so as to prevent the plate from swinging and at a
height of not less than twelve inches from the ground, measuring from the bottom of such plate,
in a place and position to be clearly visible and shall be maintained free from foreign materials and
in a condition to be clearly legible.

(c) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (b) of this section, an owner of a
motor vehicle with a Class G registration as defined in West Virginia Code 17A-10-1 may choose
to:

() Display a standard, Class G registration plate in a horizontal position; or
(2) Display a specially designed Class G registration plate in a vertical position.
(WVaC 17A-3-15)

351.04 OPERATION OF VEHICLE WITHOUT EVIDENCE OF
REGISTRATION; USE OF TEMPORARY FACSIMILE.

No person shall operate or park, nor shall an owner knowingly permit to be operated or
parked upon any street or highway any vehicle required to be registered unless there is attached
thereto and displayed thereon or is in the possession of the operator when and as required by this
Traffic Code, a valid registration card and registration plate or plates issued therefor by the
Department of Motor Vehicles for the current registration year except as otherwise expressly
permitted in West Virginia Code Chapter 17-A.

In the event that the registration plate or plates originally issued are lost, destroyed or
stolen, a temporary facsimile of the plate or plates, showing the number of the same, may be
attached to the vehicle by the owner for a period of not more than fifteen days, or until a new plate
or plates are issued by the Department whichever is earlier: provided, that no such facsimile shall
be used and 1no such vehlcle shall be dI‘lVCIl upon the streets or hlghways of this Mun1c1pa11ty until

,,,,,,

LuC UwWIlICL lldb llULlllCU lll W umg lllC DLdLC rUllL«C Ul UIC lUbb Ul bUbll nglbLl dLlUll pldlc ur pldLCb

(WVaC 17A-9-2)

351.05 IMPROPER USE OF REGISTRATION CARD, PLATE OR PERMIT.

No person shall lend to another any certificate of title, registration card, registration plate,
special plate or permit issued to him if the person desiring to borrow the same would not be
entitled to the use thereof, nor shall any person knowingly permit the use of any of the same by
one not entitled thereto, nor shall any person display upon a vehicle any registration card,
registration plates or permit not issued for such vehicle or not otherwise lawfully used thereon
under this Traffic Code. (WVaC 17A-9-3)

351.06 DRIVER OR MOTORCYCLE LICENSE REQUIRED.

(a) No person, except those hereinafter expressly exempted, shall drive any motor
vehicle upon a street or highway in this Municipality or upon any subdivision street, used by the
public generally unless the person has a valid driver's license issued under the provisions of the
West Virginia Code for the type or class of vehicle being driven.

Any person licensed to operate a motor vehicle as provided in the West Virginia Code may
exercise the privilege thereby granted as provided in the West Virginia Code and, except as
otherwise provided by law, shall not be required to obtain any other license to exercise such
privilege by any county, municipality or local board or body having authority to adopt local police
regulations.

2010 Replacement
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(b)

Licensing Generally 351.07

No person, except those hereinafter expressly exempted, shall drive any motorcycle

upon a street or highway in this Municipality or upon any subdivision street, used by the public
generally unless the person has a valid motorcycle license, a valid license which has been endorsed
under West Virginia Code 17B-2-7b for motorcycle operation or has a valid motorcycle instruction
permit. (WVaC 17B-2-1)

351.07 PERSONS EXEMPT FROM LICENSE.
The following persons are exempt from the license required under Section 351.06:

(a)
(b)

(©)

(d

(e)

Any person while operating a motor vehicle in the armed services of the United
States while in the performance of his official duties;

A nonresident who is at least sixteen years of age and who has in his or her
immediate possession a valid driver’s license issued to the person in the person’s
home state or country unless the Commissioner determines the person’s home state
or country does not extend the same privileges to a resident of this State, may
operate a motor vehicle in this State only as a noncommercial driver for a period
not to exceed ninety days in any one calendar year;

A nonresident who is at least sixteen years of age, who has in the person’s
immediate possession a valid driver’s license issued to the person in the person’s
home state or country and who is employed in this State, or owns, maintains or
operates a place or places of business in this State, or engages in any trade,
profession or occupation in this State, in addition to the driving privileges extended
under subsection (b) hereof, unless the Commissioner determines the person’s
home state or country does not extend the same privileges to a resident of this
State, may operate a motor vehicle in this State only as a noncommercial driver in
traveling to and from the person’s place or places of employment, place or places
of business or place or places at which the person engages in the trade, profession
or occupation and in the discharge of the duties of the person’s employment,
business, trade, profession or occupation if the duties are such that, if performed
by a resident of the State of West Virginia over the age of eighteen years of age,
the resident would not be required under the provisions of West Virginia Code
Chapter 17 to obtain a Class A, B, C or D driver’s license. However, this
subsection shall not exempt any person who is required to obtain a West Virginia
driver’s license in accordance with the provisions of West Virginia Code 17B-2-1a;
A nonresident who is at least eighteen years of age and who has in his or her
immediate possession a valid commercial driver’s license issued to the person in
his or her home state or country and which meets the requirements of the federal
commercial motor vehicle act of 1986, Title XI of public law 99-570 and unless the
Commissioner determines the person’s home state or country does not extend the
same privilege to a resident of this State may operate a motor vehicle in this State
either as a commercial driver subject to the age limits applicable to commercial
driver in this State, or as a noncommercial driver subject to the limitations imposed
on nonresident drivers in subsections (b) and (c) hereof;

Any person who is a student, properly enrolled and registered in an accredited
school, college or university in this State, who is at least sixteen years of age and
who has in his or her immediate possession a valid driver’s license issued to the
person in the person’s home state, notwithstanding the limitations of subsections
(b) and (c) hereof may operate motor vehicle in this State only as noncommercial
driver: provided, that the state of which the person is a resident shall extend the
same privileges to residents of this State. This exemption shall be canceled
immediately when the student is graduated from school, college or university or is
expelled or ceases to be a student. (WVaC 17B-2-2)

2010 Replacement



351.08 DISPLAY OF LICENSE.

Every licensee shall have his or her driver's license in such person's immediate possession
at all times when operating a motor vehicle and shall display the same, upon demand of a
magistrate, municipal judge, circuit court judge, peace officer or an employee of the Division of
Motor Vehicles. However, no person charged with violating this section shall be convicted if such
person produces in court or the office of the arresting officer a driver's license theretofore issued
to such person and valid at the time of such person's arrest.
(WVaC 17B-2-9)

351.09 CERTAIN ACTS PROHIBITED.

No person shall commit any one of the following acts:

(@) Display or cause or permit to be displayed or have in his possession any fictitious
or fraudulently altered driver's or commercial driver's license or nonoperator's
identification;

(b)  Lend his driver's or commercial driver's license or nonoperator's identification to
any other person or knowingly permit the use thereof by another;

© Display or represent as one's own any driver's or commercial driver's license or
nonoperator's identification not issued to him;

(d)  Use a false or fictitious name in any application for a driver's or commercial
driver's license or nonoperator's identification or knowingly make a false statement
or knowingly conceal a material fact or otherwise commit a fraud in any such
application;

(e Permit any unlawful use of a driver's or commercial driver's license or
nonoperator's identification issued to him; or

§3) Do any act forbidden or fail to perform any act required by this Traffic Code or
West Virginia Code Chapter 17.

(WVvaC 17B-4-1)

351.10 DRIVING UNDER SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION.

No person shall drive a motor vehicle on any public street or highway of this Municipality
at a time when his privilege so to do has been lawfully suspended or revoked.

(ywvac 1L/0D%-0)

351.11 OWNER OR OPERATOR ALLOWING ANOTHER TO DRIVE.

No person shall authorize or knowingly permit a motor vehicle owned by him or under his
control to be driven upon any street or highway by any person who is not authorized hereunder
or in violation of any of the provisions of this Traffic Code or the West Virginia Code.

(WVaC 17B-4-4)

351.99 PENALTY.

(@) Whoever violates any provision of this article for which

no other penalty is provided shall be fined not more than five hundred dollars ($500.00); for a
or ion 11 be fined not more than five
dd ret or both.

2010 Replacement



BERRY, KESSLER.
RUTCHFIELD, TAYLOR
& GORDON
YRNEYS AT LAW
-4 SEVENTH ST
MOUNDSVILLE, W VA

26041

(L"XZE fSé»(
387 /2
AN ORDINANCE OF THE CITY OF GLEN DALE, WEST VIRGINIA,

IMPLEMENTING REQUIREMENT OF NEW RESIDENTS TO REGISTER
THEIR MOTOR VEHICLES WITH THE STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA

WHEREAS, new residents of the City of Glen Dale arrive from various states;
and

WHEREAS, the Council of the City of Glen Dale desires to implement an
ordinance enforcing the requirement that new residents register their motor vehicle
with the State of West Virginia.

BE IT THEREFORE ORDAI ED by the Council of the City of Glen Dale, West
Virginia.
SECTION ONE:  The Council of the City of Glen Dale, hereby ordains

Registration of vehicles of new residents.

(@)  Every owner of a motor vehicle, trailer or other vehicle, shall, within thirty

days after taking up residence in the state, apply to the division and obtain registration
and title for the vehicle.

b) For the purposes of this chapter there is a rebuttable presumption that a
natural person is a resident of the state if any of the following elements exist including,
but not limited to:

1. The person is registered to vote in this state.
2. The person enrolls the person’s child to be educated in a public
elementary or secondary school in this state.
3. The person is receiving public assistance from this state.
4. The person resides or has continuously remained in this state for a period
exceeding thirty days except for infrequent or brief absences.
The acce employment or engages in any trade,
or occu this , except that this does not include a person
muting on’'s ence in another state or whose employment

is seasonal or temporary, not exceeding ninety days.

6. The person has filed for a homestead tax exemption on property in this
state.
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(b) ocation.

(1) Except as otherwise provided in West Virginia Code 17B-4-3(b) or (d), or
subsection (b)(2) or (3) hereof, whoever drives a motor vehicle on any
street or highway of this Municipality at a time when his or her privilege
so to do has been lawfully suspended or revoked shall, for the first offense,
be fined not less than one hundred dollars ($100.00) nor more than five
hundred dollars ($500.00); for th offense, such , shall be
fined not less than one hundred ($100.00) nor than five
hundred dollars ($500.00); for the third or any subsequent offense, such
person shall be imprisoned for a period of thirty days and, in addition to

mandato ntence, not less th red fifty
rs ($150 more th ed dollars
A record of the conviction of any person under this section upon a charge
of driving a vehicle while the license of such person was suspended lawfully
shall be sent to the State Department of Motor Vehicles.

2) Any person who drives a motor vehicle on any public highway at a time
when his or her privilege to do so has been lawfully revoked for driving
under the influence of alcohol, controlled substances or other drugs, or any
combination thereof, or for driving while having an alcoholic concentration
in his or her blood of eight hundredths of one percent or more, by weight,
or for refusing to take a secondary chemical test of blood alcohol content,
for the first offense shall be imprisoned thirty days and in addition to the
mandatory jail sentence, shall be fined not less than one hundred dollars
($100.00) nor more than five hundred dollars ($500.00); for the second
offense, shall be imprisoned thirty days and in addition to the mandatory
jail sentence, shall be fined not less than one thousand dollars ($1,000) nor
more than three thousand dollars ($3,000); for the third or any subsequent
offense, the person is guilty of a felony and shall be prosecuted under
appropriate State law.

3) Any person who drives a motor vehicle on any public highway at a time
when his or her privilege to do so has been lawfully suspended for driving
while under the age of twenty-one years with an alcohol concentration in his
or her blood of two hundredths of one percent or more, by weight, but less

sha soned for
fty 0.00) nor

4) An order for home detention by the court pursuant to the provisions of
West Virginia Code Article 62-11B may be used as an alternative sentence
to any period of incarceration required by this section.

(©) Whoever violates Sections 351.02, 351.03, 351.05, 351.09

or 351.11 shall be fined not more than five hundred dollars ($500.00) or imprisoned not more than
thirty days, or both.
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353.01
353.02

353.03
353.04

to this article:

ARTICLE 353
Commercial Drivers

Definitions. 353.05 Exemptions.
Limitation on number of 353.06 Drivers prohibited from
driver's licenses. operating with any alcohol
Employer responsibilities. in system.
Commercial driver's license 353.99 Penalty.
required.
CROSS REFERENCES
Uniform Commercial Driver's License Act - see W.Va. Code

Art. 17E-1
Commercial vehicles - see TRAF. Art. 347
Driver's licensing - see TRAF. Art. 351

353.01 DEFINITIONS.
Notwithstanding any other provision of this Traffic Code, the following definitions apply

(@

(b)

(©

"Alcohol" means:

@) Any substance containing any form of alcohol, including, but not limited
to, ethanol, methanol, propanol and isopropanol,

2)

art, or from any substitute therefor;
3) Distilled spirits or that s kno yl alcohol, ethanol or s
of wine in any form (in all and mixtures thereof
whatever source or by whatever process produced); or
C)) Wine of not less than one half of one percent (0.5%) of alcohol by volume.
"Alcohol concentration" means:
1) The number of grams of alcohol per 100 milliliters of blood; or
2) The number of grams of alcohol per 210 liters of breath; or
3) The number of grams of alcohol per sixty-seven milliliters of urine; or
The of alcohol per eighty-six milliliters of serum.
means a license issued in accordance with the
requirements of West Virginia Code Article 17E-1 to an individual which
authorizes the individual to drive a class of commercial motor vehicle.
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AN ORDINANCE OF THE CITY OF GLEN DALE, WEST VIRGINIA,
AMENDING ORDINANCE 353.01 ENTITLED DEFENITIONS TO INCLUDE
DEFINITIONS FOR TEXTING

WHEREAS, texting and communicating on cell phones while driving constitutes
a threat to the safety of the residents and visitors of the City of Glen Dale; and

WHEREAS, the Council of the City of Glen Dale desires to implement ordinances
enforcing the prohibiting individual drivers as well as commercial drivers from texting or
using cell phones while driving.

BE IT THEREFORE ORDAINED by the Council of the City of Glen Dale, West
Virginia.

SECTION ONE: The Council of the City of Glen Dale, hereby ordains

353.01 DEFINITIONS:
Notwithstanding any other provision of this code, the following definitions apply to
this article:

(1) "Alcohol" means:

(A) Any substance containing any form of alcohol, including, but not limited to,
ethanol, methanol, propenyl and isopropanol;

(B) Beer, ale, port or stout and other similar fermented beverages, including sake or
similar products, of any name or description containing one half of one percent or more
of alcohol by volume, brewed or produced from malt, wholly or in part, or from any
substitute for malt;

(C) Distilled spirits or that substance known as ethyl alcohol, ethanol or spirits of
wine in any form including all dilutions and mixtures thereof from whatever source or
by whatever process produced; or

(D) Wine of not less than one half of one percent of alcohol by volume.

(2) "Alcohol concentration” means:

(A) The number of grams of alcohol per one hundred milliliters of blood;

(B) The number of grams of alcohol per two hundred ten liters of breath;

(C) The number of grams of alcohol per sixty-seven milliliters of urine; or






(D) The number of grams of alcohol per eighty-six milliliters of serum.

(3) "At fault traffic accident” means, for the purposes of waiving the road test, a
determination of fault by the official filing the accident report as evidenced by an
indication of contributing circumstances in the accident report.

(4) "Commercial driver's license" means a license or an instruction permit issued in
accordance with the requirements of this article to an individual which authorizes the
individual to drive a class of commercial motor vehicle.

(5) "Commercial driver's license information system" is the information system
established pursuant to the Federal Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act to serve as a
clearinghouse for locating information related to the licensing and identification of
commercial motor vehicle drivers.

(6) "Commercial driver instruction permit" means a permit issued pursuant to West
Virginia Code 17E-1-9(d).

(7) "Commercial motor vehicle" means a motor vehicle designed or used to
transport passengers or property:

(A) If the vehicle has a gross combination vehicle weight rating of twenty-six
thousand one pounds or more inclusive of a towed unit(s) with a gross vehicle weight
rating of more than ten thousand pounds;

(B) If the vehicle has a gross vehicle weight rating of twenty-six thousand one
pounds or more;

(C) If the vehicle is designed to transport sixteen or more passengers, including the
driver; or

(D) If the vehicle is of any size and transporting hazardous materials as defined in
this section.

(8) "Commissioner" means the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles of this state.

(9) "Controlled substance" means any substance classified under the provisions of
chapter sixty-a of West Virginia Code, the Uniform Controlled Substances Act, and
includes all substances listed on Schedules I through V, inclusive, of article two of said
chapter, as revised. The term "controlled substance" also has the meaning such term
has under 21 U.S.C. §802.6 and includes all substances listed on Schedules I through V
of 21 C.F.R. §1308 as they may be amended by the United States Department of
Justice.






(10) "Conviction" means an unvacated adjudication of guilt; a determination that a
person has violated or failed to comply with the law in a court of original jurisdiction or
by an authorized administrative tribunal or proceeding; an unvacated forfeiture of bail
or collateral deposited to secure the persons appearance in court; a plea of guilty or
nolo contendere accepted by the court or the payment of a fine or court cost or
violation of a condition of release without bail regardless of whether or not the penalty
is rebated, suspended, or probated.

(11) "Division" means the Division of Motor Vehicles.
(12) "Disqualification" means any of the following three actions:

(A) The suspension, revocation, or cancellation of a driver's license by the state or
jurisdiction of issuance.

(B) Any withdrawal of a person's privilege to drive a commercial motor vehicle by a
state or other jurisdiction as the result of a violation of state or local law relating to
motor vehicle traffic control other than parking or vehicle weight except as to violations
committed by a special permittee on the coal resource transportation system or vehicle
defect violations.

(C) A determination by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration that a person
is not qualified to operate a commercial motor vehicle under 49 C.F.R. Part §391
(2004).

(13) "Drive" means to drive, operate or be in physical control of a motor vehicle in
any place open to the general public for purposes of vehicular traffic. For the purposes
of section 353.06, "drive" includes operation or physical control of a motor vehicle
anywhere in this state.

(14) "Driver" means a person who drives, operates or is in physical control of a
commercial motor vehicle in any place open to the general public for purposes of
vehicular traffic or who is required to hold a commercial driver's license.

(15) "Driver's license" means a license issued by a state to an individual which
authorizes the individual to drive a motor vehicle of a specific class.

(16) "Electronic device" includes, but is not limited to, a cellular telephone, personal
digital assistant, pager or any other device used to input, write, send, receive, or read
text.

(17) "Employee" means an operator of a commercial motor vehicle, including full
time, regularly employed drivers, casual, intermittent or occasional drivers, leased
drivers and independent, owner-operator contractors when operating a commercial






motor vehicle, who are either directly employed by or under lease to drive a commercial
motor vehicle for an employer.

(18) "Employer" means a person, including the United States, a state or a political
subdivision of a state, who owns or leases a commercial motor vehicle or assigns a
person to drive a commercial motor vehicle.

(19) "Endorsement” means an authorization to a person to operate certain types of
commercial motor vehicles.

(20) "Farm vehicle" includes a motor vehicle or combination vehicle registered to a
farm owner or entity operating the farm and used exclusively in the transportation of
agricultural or horticultural products, livestock, poultry and dairy products from the farm
or orchard on which they are raised or produced to markets, processing plants, packing
houses, canneries, railway shipping points and cold storage plants and in the
transportation of agricultural or horticultural supplies and machinery to the farms or
orchards to be used on the farms or orchards.

(21) "Farmer" includes an owner, tenant, lessee, occupant or person in control of
the premises used substantially for agricultural or horticultural pursuits who is at least
eighteen years of age with two years licensed driving experience.

(22) "Farmer vehicle driver" means the person employed and designated by the
"farmer" to drive a "farm vehicle" as long as driving is not his or her sole or principal
function on the farm and who is at least eighteen years of age with two years licensed
driving experience.

(23)"Felony" means an offense under state or federal law that is punishable by
death or imprisonment for a term exceeding one year.

(24) "Gross combination weight rating (GCWR)" means the value specified by the
manufacturer as the loaded weight of a combination, articulated vehicle. In the absence
of a value specified by the manufacturer, GCWR will be determined by adding the gross
vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of the power unit and the total weight of the towed unit
and load, if any.

(25) "Gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR)" means the value specified by the
manufacturer as the loaded weight of a single vehicle. In the absence of a value
specified by the manufacturer, the GVWR will be determined by the total weight of the
vehicle and load, if any.

(26) "Hazardous materials" means any material that has been designated as
hazardous under 49 U.S.C. §5103 and is required to be placarded under subpart F of 49
C.F.R.,Part §172 or any quantity of a material listed as a select agent or toxin in 42
C.F.R.,Part §73.






(27) "Imminent hazard" means existence of a condition that presents a substantial
likelihood that death, serious illness, severe personal injury or a substantial
endangerment to health, property or the environment may occur before the reasonably
foreseeable completion date of a formal proceeding begun to lessen the risk of that
death, illness, injury or endangerment.

(28) "Issuance of a license" means the completion of a transaction signifying that
the applicant has met all the requirements to qualify for, including, but not limited to:
The initial issuance of a driver's license, the renewal of a driver's license, the issuance
of a duplicate license as a replacement to a lost or stolen driver's license, the transfer of
any level of driving privileges including the privilege of operating a commercial motor
vehicle from another state or jurisdiction, the changing of driver's license class,
restrictions or endorsements or the change of any other information pertaining to an
applicant either appearing on the face of a driver's license or within the driver record of
the licensee maintained by the division.

(29) "Motor vehicle" means every vehicle which is self- propelled and every vehicle
which is propelled by electric power obtained from overhead trolley wires but not
operated upon rails.

(30) "Noncommercial motor vehicle" means a motor vehicle or combination of motor
vehicles not defined by the term "commercial motor vehicle".

(31) "Out-of-service order" means a a declaration by an authorized enforcement
officer of a federal, state, Canadian, Mexican, county or local jurisdiction including any
special agent of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration that a driver, a
commercial motor vehicle, or a motor carrier operation is out of service pursuant to 49
C.F.R. §§386.72, 392.5, 395.13, 396.9 or compatible laws or the North American
uniform out-of-service criteria that an imminent hazard exists.

(32) "Violation of an out-of-service order" means:

(A) The operation of a commercial motor vehicle during the period the driver was
placed out-of-service;

(B) The operation of a commercial motor vehicle by a driver after the vehicle was
placed out-of-service and before the required repairs are made; or

(C) The operation of any commercial vehicle by a motor carrier operation after the
carrier has been placed out of service.

(33) "School bus" means a commercial motor vehicle used to transport preprimary,
primary or secondary school students from home-to-school, from school-to-home or to
and from school sponsored events. School bus does not include a bus used as a
common carrier.






(34) "Serious traffic violation" means conviction for any of the following offenses
when operating a commercial motor vehicle:

(A) Excessive speeding involving any single offense for any speed of fifteen miles
per hour or more above the posted limits;

(B) Reckless driving as defined in section three, article five, chapter seventeen-c of
West Virginia Code and careless or negligent driving, including, but not limited to, the
offenses of driving a commercial motor vehicle in willful or wanton disregard for the
safety of persons or property;

(C) Erratic or improper traffic lane changes including, but not limited to, passing a
school bus when prohibited, improper lane changes and other passing violations;

(D) Following the vehicle ahead too closely;

(E) Driving a commercial motor vehicle without obtaining a commercial driver's
license;

(F) Driving a commercial motor vehicle without a commercial driver's license in the
driver's possession. However, any person who provides proof to the law-enforcement
agency that issued the citation, by the date the person must appear in court or pay any
fine for such violation, that the person held a valid commercial driver's license on the
date the citation was issued, shall not be guilty of this offense;

(G) Driving a commercial motor vehicle without the proper class of commercial
driver's license or endorsements for the specific vehicle group being operated or for the
passengers or type of cargo being transported;

(H) A violation of state or local law relating to motor vehicle traffic control, other
than a parking violation, arising in connection with a fatal traffic accident; or

(I) Any other serious violations determined by the United States Secretary of
Transportation.

(3) Vehicle defects are excluded as serious traffic violations except as to violations
committed by a special permittee on the coal resource transportation road system.

(35) "State" means a state of the United States and the District of Columbia or a
province or territory of Canada or a state or federal agency of the United Mexican
States.

(36)"State of domicile" means the state where a person has his or her true, fixed
and permanent home and principle residence and to which he or she has the intention
of returning whenever absent in accordance with West Virginia Code 17A-3-1ca).






(37) "Suspension, revocation or cancellation" of a driver's license or a commercial
driver's license means the privilege to operate any type of motor vehicle on the roads
and highways of this state is withdrawn.

(38) "Tank vehicle" means any commercial motor vehicle that is designed to
transport any liquid or gaseous materials within a tank that is either permanently or
temporarily attached to the vehicle or the chassis. These vehicles include, but are not
limited to, cargo tanks and portable tanks as defined in 49 C. F. R. Part 171 (1998).
This definition does not include portable tanks having a rated capacity under one
thousand gallons.

(39) "Texting" means manually entering alphanumeric text into or reading text from
an electronic device.

(A) This action includes, but is not limited to, short messaging service, e-mailing,
instant messaging and a command or request to access a World Wide Web page or
engaging in any other form of electronic text retrieval or entry for present or future
communication.

(B) Texting does not include

(i) Reading, selecting or entering a telephone number, an extension number or
voicemail retrieval codes and commands into an electronic device for the purpose of
initiating or receiving a phone call or using voice commands to initiate or receive a
telephone call;

(i) Inputting, selecting or reading information on a global positioning system or
navigation system; or

(iii) Using a device capable of performing multiple functions including, but not
limited to, fleet management systems, dispatching devices, smart phones, citizen band
radios or music players for a purpose that is not otherwise prohibited by this section

(40) "Transportation Security Administration" means the United States Department
of Homeland Security Transportation Security Administration.

(41) "United States" means the fifty states and the District of Columbia.

(42) "Valid or Certified Medical Certification Status" means that an applicant or
driver has a current medical evaluation or determination by a licensed physician that
the applicant or driver meets the minimum federal motor carrier safety administration
physical qualifications within the prescribed time frames pursuant 49 CFR Part §391.
Not-certified means that an applicant or driver does not have a current medical
evaluation or has not been certified by a licensed physician as meeting the minimum






federal motor carrier safety administration physical qualifications pursuant 49 CFR Part
§391.

(43)"Vehicle Group™ means a class or type of vehicle with certain operating
characteristics.

SECTION TWO: This Ordinance shall be effective from and after its date of passage.

Passed First Reading:

Passed Second Reading:

Dave Blazer, Mayor

ATTEST:

Jane Criswell-Rickman, City Clerk

\\SERVER1 \workdocs\MAston\MNO\Ordinance.Glen.Dale\Ordinance.Glen.Dale..Cell Phone.Texting.08.23.13.docx






(m)

(n)

(0)

@)

(@

6y

"Farm vehicle" includes a motor vehicle or combination vehicle registered to the

farm owner or entity operating the farm and used exclusively in the transportation

of agricultural or horticultural products, livestock, poultry and dairy products from

the farm or orc on they aised or  duced kets,

plants, packing es, ries, ay shipp  points 1d sto

and in the transportation of agricultural or horticultural supplies and machinery to

such farms or orchards to be used thereon.

"Farmer" includes owner, tenant, lessee, occupant or person in control of the

premises used substantially for agricultural or horticultural pursuits, who is at least

eighteen years of age with two years licensed driving experience.

"Farmer vehicle driver" means the person employed and designated by the farmer

to drive a farm vehicle as long as driving is not his sole or principal function on the

farm, who is at least eighteen years of age with two years licensed driving

experience.

"Motor vehicle" means every vehicle which is self-propelled, and every vehicle

which is propelled by electric power obtained from overhead trolley wires but not

operated upon rails.

"Out-of-service order" means a temporary prohibition against driving a commercial

motor vehicle as a result of a determination by a law-enforcement officer, an

authorized enforcement officer of a federal, state, Canadian, Mexican, county or

local jurisdiction including any sp agent of ed otor Carrier S

Administration pursuant to 49 R. §838 3 395.13, 396.

compatible laws or the North American uniform out-of-service criteria that an

imminent hazard exists.

“Violation of an out-of-service order” means:

(1) The operation of a commercial motor vehicle during the period the driver
was placed out of service; or

(2) The operation of a commercial motor vehicle by a driver after the vehicle
was placed out of service and before the required repairs are made.
(WVaC 17E-1-3)

353.02 LIMITATION ON NUMBER OF DRIVER'S LICENSES.
No person who drives a commercial motor vehicle shall have more than one driver license
at one time. (WVaC 17E-1-4)

353.03 EMPLOYER RESPONSIBILITIES.

(a)

Each employer shall require the applicant to provide the information specified in

West Virginia Code 17E-1-5.

(b)

No employer may knowingly allow, permit, require or authorize a driver to drive

a commercial motor vehicle during any period in which the driver:

D Has a driver's license suspended, revoked or canceled by a state; has lost
the privilege to drive a commercial motor vehicle in a state, or has been
disqualified from driving a commercial motor vehicle;

(2) Has more than one driver's license at one time.

(3)  Or the commercial motor vehicle he or she is driving or the motor carrier
operation, is subject to an out-of-service order;

(4)  Is in violation of federal, state or local law or regulation pertaining to
railroad highway grade crossings; or
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AN ORDINANCE OF THE CITY OF GLEN DALE, WEST VIRGINIA,
AMENDING ORDINANCE 353.03 ENTITLED EMPLOYER RESPONSIBILITIES

SECTION ONE: The Council of the City of Glen Dale, hereby ordains.
353.03 EMPLOYER RESPONSIBILITIES:

(a) Each employer shall require the applicant to provide the information specified in
West Virginia Code Section 17E-1-5.

(b) No employer may knowingly allow, permit, require or authorize a driver to drive
a commercial motor vehicle during any period in which the driver:

(1) Has a driver's license suspended, revoked or canceled by a state; has lost the
privilege to drive a commercial motor vehicle in a state or has been disqualified from
driving a commercial motor vehicle;

(2) Has more than one driver's license at one time;

(3) The commercial motor vehicle he or she is driving or the motor carrier operation
is subject to an out-of-service order;

(4) Is in violation of federal, state or local law or regulation pertaining to railroad
highway grade crossings; or

(5) Is in violation of any provision of 49 C.F.R., Part § 382 related to controlled
substances and alcohol use and testing. (W. Va. C 17E-1-6)

(c) No employer may require or allow a driver to operate a commercial motor
vehicle while texting.

SECTION TWO: This Ordinance shall be effective from and after its date of passage.

Passed First Reading:

Passed Second Reading:

Dave Blazer, Mayor

ATTEST:

Jane Criswell-Rickman, City Clerk
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(5) Is in violation of any provision of 49 C.F.R., Part §382 related to
controlled substances and alcohol use and testing.
(WVaC 17E-1-6)

353.04 COMMERCIAL DRIVER'S LICENSE REQUIRED.

(a) Except when driving under a commercial driver's instruction permit accompanied
by the holder of a commercial driver's license valid for the vehicle being driven, no person shall
drive a commercial motor vehicle unless the person holds a commercial driver's license and
applicable endorsements valid for the vehicle they are driving.

(b) No person shall drive a commercial motor vehicle while their driving privilege is
suspended, revoked, canceled, expired, subject to a disqualification, or in violation of an
out-of-service order.

(©) Drivers of a commercial motor vehicle shall have a commercial driver's license in
their possession at all times while driving.
(WVaC 17E-1-7)

353.05 EXEMPTIONS.

(a) Bona fide farmers or farm vehicle drivers, as defined, operating a vehicle
otherwise covered by the commercial driver's license requirements may be exempted from the
provisions of this article only if the vehicle used is:

¢ Driven by a farmer or farm vehicle driver;

(2) Used only to transport either agricultural products, farm machinery, farm
supplies, to or from a farm;

(3) Not used in the operation of a common or contract motor carrier; and

(4)  Used within 150 miles of the qualifying farm. Farmers who wish to be
exempted from the commercial driver's license requirements must apply to
the Division of Motor Vehicles for a certificate of exemption.

(b) Active duty military personnel operating vehicles being used
for military purposes are exempted from the provisions of this article in accordance with the
provisions of 49 CFR § 383.3 (c)(2006).

(©) Operators of vehicles authorized to hold an
authorized emergency vehicle permit for use of red signal lights only are exempt from the
provisions of this article while the authorized emergency vehicle permit is in force. Vehicles in
this class include, but are not limited to, fire fighters and rescue equipment:

(1)  Owned and operated by state, county and municipal fire departments.

2) Owned and operated by state, county and municipal civil defense
organizations.

3) Owned and operated by a manufacturer engaged in a type of business that
requires fire fighter equipment to protect the safety of their plants and its
employees.

4) Owned and operated by volunteer fire departments.
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the exemption recognized by this subsection shall not be construed to permit the operation of such
equipment on any public road except such operation as may be required for a crossing of such
road: Provided, however, that no such equipment may be operated on a public road for a distance
exceeding five hundred feet from the place where such equipment entered upon the public road.

(e) The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Improvement Act of 1999
exempts vehicles used exclusively for personal use such as recreation vehicles and rental trucks
used only to transport the driver's personal or household property.

(WVaC 17E-1-8)

353.06 DRIVERS PROHIBITED FROM OPERATING WITH ANY
ALCOHOL IN SYSTEM.
(a) In addition to any other penalties provided by the West Virginia Code or these
Codified Ordinances, any person who drives, operates or is in physical control of acommercial
motor vehicle while having an alcohol concentration in his or her blood, breath or urine of four

hundredths of one percent or more, by weight, 1 be imprison r not

hours nor more rty and be fir not less than hund

nor more than fi red rs ($ 0). A person convicted of a second or any subsequent
offense under the provisions of this subsection s ned for a irty , and
the may, in i n, fine o one thou (31  )nor
mo n three th lar ).

(b) A person who violates the provisions of subsection (a) of this section shall be
treated in the same manner set forth in West Virginia Code 17C-19-3, as if he or she had been
arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol or of any controlled substance.

(© In addition to any other penalties provided by the West Virginia Code or these
Codified Ordinances, a person who drives, operates or is in physical control of a commercial
motor vehicle having any measurable alcohol in such person’s system or who refuses to take a
preliminary breath test to determine such person’s blood alcohol content as provided by West
Virginia Code 17E-1-15 shall be placed out of service for twenty-four hours by the arresting law-
enforcement officer. (WVaC 17E-1-14)
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353.99 PENALTY.

Unless another penalty is provided in thi , ver violates any this
article shall be fined not less than one hundre 1 ( 00) nor more th and
dollars ($1,000), or imprisoned for not more th , for
violation of Section 353.04, the offender shall be t llar
nor more than two thousand dollars ($2,000) or imprisoned not more than thirty days, or both.
For ird n o n 353. 0 11 be
fine ess 1 e o thou e llars

($2,500), or imprisoned for not more than thirty days, or both.
(WVaC 17E-1-25)
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AN ORDINANCE OF THE CITY OF GLEN DALE, WEST VIRGINIA,
DEFINING ACTIONS AND CONDITIONS DISQUALIFYING AN INDIVIDUAL
FRO OPERATING A COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLE AND PENALTIES

SECTIO ONE: The Council of the City of Glen Dale, hereby ordains
353.07 DISQUALIFICATIONS:

(a) A person may not operate a commercial motor vehicle if his or her privilege to
operate a commercial motor vehicle is disqualified under the provisions of the Federal
Motor Carrier Safety Improvement Act of 1999, 49 C.F.R. Part §383, Subpart D (2004)
or in accordance with the provisions of this section.

(1) For the purposes of determining first and subsequent violations of the offenses
listed in this section, each conviction resulting from a separate incident includes
convictions for offenses committed in a commercial motor vehicle or a noncommercial
motor vehicle.

(2) Any person disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for life under
the provisions of this chapter for offenses described in subsection (b,) subdivisions (4)
and (6) of this section is eligible for reinstatement of privileges to operate a commercial
motor vehicle after ten years and after completion of the Safety and Treatment
Program or other appropriate program prescribed by the division. Any person whose
lifetime disqualification has been amended under the provisions of this subdivision and
who is subsequently convicted of a disqualifying offense described in subsection (b),
subdivisions (1) through (8) of this section, is not eligible for reinstatement.

(3) Any disqualification imposed by this section is in addition to any action to
suspend, revoke or cancel the driver's license or driving privileges if suspension,
revocation or cancellation is required under another provision of the West Virginia Code

(4) The provisions of this section apply to any person operating a commercial motor
vehicle and to any person holding a commercial driver's license.

(b) Any person is disqualified from driving a commercial motor vehicle for the
following offenses and time periods if convicted of:

(1) Driving a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance;
(A) For a first conviction or for refusal to submit to any designated secondary

chemical test while operating a commercial motor vehicle, a driver is disqualified from
operating a commercial motor vehicle for a period of one year.






(B) For a first conviction or for refusal to submit to any designated secondary
chemical test while operating a noncommercial motor vehicle, a commercial driver's
license holder is disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for a period of
one year.

(C) For a first conviction or for refusal to submit to any designated secondary
chemical test while operating a commercial motor vehicle transporting hazardous
materials required to be placarded under 49 C.F.R. Part §172, Subpart F, a driver is
disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for a period of three years.

(D) For a second conviction or for refusal to submit to any designated secondary
chemical test in a separate incident of any combination of offenses in this subsection
while operating a commercial motor vehicle, a driver is disqualified from operating a
commercial motor vehicle for life.

(E) For a second conviction or refusal to submit to any designated secondary
chemical test in a separate incident of any combination of offenses in this subsection
while operating a noncommercial motor vehicle, a commercial motor vehicle license
holder is disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for life.

(2) Driving a commercial motor vehicle while the person's alcohol concentration of
the person's blood, breath or urine is four hundredths of one percent or more, by
weight;

(A) For a first conviction or for refusal to submit to any designated secondary
chemical test while operating a commercial motor vehicle, a driver is disqualified from
operating a commercial motor vehicle for one year.

(B) For a first conviction or for refusal to submit to any designated secondary
chemical test while operating a commercial motor vehicle transporting hazardous
materials required to be placarded under 49 C.F.R. Part §172, Subpart F, a driver is
disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for three years.

(C) For a second conviction or refusal to submit to any designated secondary
chemical test in a separate incident of any combination of offenses in this subsection
while operating a commercial motor vehicle, a driver is disqualified from operating a
commercial motor vehicle for life.

(3) Refusing to submit to any designated secondary chemical test required by the
provisions of this code or the provisions of 49 C.F.R. §383.72 (2004);

(A) For the first conviction or refusal to submit to any designated secondary
chemical test while operating a commercial motor vehicle, a driver is disqualified from
operating a commercial motor vehicle for one year.






(B) For the first conviction or refusal to submit to any designated secondary
chemical test while operating a noncommercial motor vehicle, a commercial driver's
license holder is disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for one year.

(C) For the first conviction or for refusal to submit to any designated secondary
chemical test while operating a commercial motor vehicle transporting hazardous
materials required to be placarded under 49 C.F.R. Part §172, Subpart F (2004), a
driver is disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for a period of three
years.

(D) For a second conviction or refusal to submit to any designated secondary
chemical test in a separate incident of any combination of offenses in this subsection
while operating a commercial motor vehicle, a driver is disqualified from operating a
commercial motor vehicle for life.

(E) For a second conviction or refusal to submit to any designated secondary
chemical test in a separate incident of any combination of offenses in this subsection
while operating a noncommercial motor vehicle, a commercial driver's license holder is
disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for life.

(4) Leaving the scene of an accident;

(A) For the first conviction while operating a commercial motor vehicle, a driver is
disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for one year.

(B) For the first conviction while operating a noncommercial motor vehicle, a
commercial driver's license holder is disqualified for one year.

(C) For the first conviction while operating a commercial motor vehicle transporting
hazardous materials required to be placarded under 49 C.F.R. Part §172, Subpart F
(2004), a driver is disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for a period
of three years.

(D) For a second conviction in a separate incident of any combination of offenses in
this subsection while operating a commercial motor vehicle, a driver is disqualified from
operating a commercial motor vehicle for life.

(E) For a second conviction in a separate incident of any combination of offenses in
this subsection while operating a noncommercial motor vehicle, a commercial driver's
license holder is disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for life.

(5) Using a motor vehicle in the commission of any felony as defined in section
three, article one of this chapter except that the commission of any felony involving the
manufacture, distribution or dispensing of a controlled substance or possession with






intent to manufacture, distribute or dispense a controlled substance falls under the
provisions of subdivision eight of this subsection;

(A) For the first conviction while operating a commercial motor vehicle, a driver is
disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for one year.

(B) For the first conviction while operating a noncommercial motor vehicle, a
commercial driver's license holder is disqualified from operating a commercial motor
vehicle for one year.

(C) For the first conviction while operating a commercial motor vehicle transporting
hazardous materials required to be placarded under 49 C.F.R. Part §172, Subpart
F,(2004), a driver is disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for a period
of three years.

(D) For a second conviction in a separate incident of any combination of offenses in
this subsection while operating a commercial motor vehicle, a driver is disqualified from
operating a commercial motor vehicle for life.

(E) For a second conviction in a separate incident of any combination of offenses in
this subsection while operating a noncommercial motor vehicle, a commercial motor
vehicle license holder is disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for life.

(6) Operating a commercial motor vehicle when, as a result of prior violations
committed operating a commercial motor vehicle, the driver's privilege to operate a
motor vehicle has been suspended, revoked or canceled or the driver's privilege to
operate a commercial motor vehicle has been disqualified.

(A) For the first conviction while operating a commercial motor vehicle, a driver is
disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for one year.

(B) For the first conviction while operating a commercial motor vehicle transporting
hazardous materials required to be placarded under 49 C.F.R. Part §172, Subpart
F,(2004), a driver is disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for a period
of three years.

(C) For a second conviction in a separate incident of any combination of offenses in
this subsection while operating a commercial motor vehicle, a driver is disqualified from
operating a commercial motor vehicle for life.

(7) Causing a fatality through the negligent operation of a commercial motor
vehicle, including, but not limited to, the crimes of motor vehicle manslaughter,
homicide and negligent homicide as defined in section five, article three, chapter
seventeen-b, and section one, article five, chapter seventeen-c of this code;






(A) For the first conviction while operating a commercial motor vehicle, a driver
is disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for one year.

(B) For the first conviction while operating a commercial motor vehicle transporting
hazardous materials required to be placarded under 49 C.F.R. Part §172, Subpart
F,(2004), a driver is disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for a period
of three years.

(C) For a second conviction in a separate incident of any combination of offenses in
this subsection while operating a commercial motor vehicle, a driver is disqualified from
operating a commercial motor vehicle for life.

(8) Using a motor vehicle in the commission of any felony involving the
manufacture, distribution or dispensing of a controlled substance or possession with
intent to manufacture, distribute or dispense a controlled substance, a driver is
disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for life and is not eligible for
reinstatement.

(c) Any person is disqualified from driving a commercial motor vehicle if convicted
of;

(1) Speeding excessively involving any speed of fifteen miles per hour or more
above the posted speed limit;

(A) For a second conviction of any combination of offenses in this subsection in a
separate incident within a three year period while operating a commercial motor
vehicle, a driver is disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for a period
of sixty days.

(B) For a second conviction of any combination of offenses in this section in a
separate incident within a three-year period while operating a noncommercial motor
vehicle, if the conviction results in the suspension, revocation or cancellation of the
commercial driver's license holder's privilege to operate any motor vehicle, a
commercial driver's license holder is disqualified from operating a commercial motor
vehicle for a period of sixty days.

(C) For a third or subsequent conviction of any combination of the offenses in this
subsection in a separate incident in a three- year period while operating a commercial
motor vehicle, a driver is disqualified from operating a commaercial motor vehicle for a
period of one hundred twenty days.

(D) For a third or subsequent conviction of any combination of offenses in this
subsection in a separate incident within a three- year period while operating a
noncommercial motor vehicle, if the conviction results in the suspension, revocation or
cancellation of the commercial driver's license holder's privilege to operate any motor






vehicle, a commercial driver's license holder shall be disqualified from operating a
commercial motor vehicle for a period of one hundred twenty days.

(2) Reckless driving as defined in section three, article five, chapter seventeen-c of
West Virginia Code, careless, or negligent driving including, but not limited to, the
offenses of driving a motor vehicle in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of
persons or property;

(A) For a second conviction of any combination of offenses in this subsection in a
separate incident within a three-year period while operating a commercial motor
vehicle, a driver is disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for a period
of sixty days.

(B) For a second conviction of any combination of offenses in this section in a
separate incident within a three-year period while operating a noncommercial motor
vehicle, if the conviction results in the suspension, revocation or cancellation of the
commercial driver's license holder's privilege to operate any motor vehicle, a
commercial driver's license holder is disqualified from operating a commercial motor
vehicle for a period of sixty days.

(C) For a third or subsequent conviction of any combination of the offenses in this
subsection in a separate incident in a three- year period while operating a commercial
motor vehicle, a driver is disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for a
period of one hundred twenty days.

(D) For a third or subsequent conviction of any combination of offenses in this
subsection in a separate incident within a three- year period while operating a
noncommercial motor vehicle, if the conviction results in the suspension, revocation or
cancellation of the commercial driver's license holder's privilege to operate any motor
vehicle, a commercial driver's license holder is disqualified from operating a commercial
motor vehicle for a period of one hundred twenty days.

(3) Making improper or erratic traffic lane changes;

(A) For a second conviction of any combination of offenses in this subsection in a
separate incident within a three-year period while operating a commercial motor
vehicle, a driver is disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for a period
of sixty days.

(B) For a second conviction of any combination of offenses in this section in a
separate incident within a three-year period while operating a noncommercial motor
vehicle, if the conviction results in the suspension, revocation, or cancellation of the
commercial driver's license holder's privilege to operate any motor vehicle, a
commercial driver's license holder is disqualified from operating a commercial motor
vehicle for a period of sixty days.






(C) For a third or subsequent conviction of any combination of the offenses in this
subsection in a separate incident in a three- year period while operating a commercial
motor vehicle, a driver is disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for a
period of one hundred twenty days.

(D) For a third or subsequent conviction of any combination of offenses in this
subsection in a separate incident within a three- year period while operating a
noncommercial motor vehicle, if the conviction results in the suspension, revocation or
cancellation of the commercial driver's license holder's privilege to operate any motor
vehicle, a commercial driver's license holder is disqualified from operating a commercial
motor vehicle for a period of one hundred twenty days.

(4) Following the vehicle ahead too closely;

(A) For a second conviction of any combination of offenses in this subsection in a
separate incident within a three-year period while operating a commercial motor
vehicle, a driver is disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for a period
of sixty days.

(B) For a second conviction of any combination of offenses in this section in a
separate incident within a three-year period while operating a noncommercial motor
vehicle, if the conviction results in the suspension, revocation, or cancellation of the
commercial driver's license holder's privilege to operate any motor vehicle, a
commercial driver's license holder is disqualified from operating a commercial motor
vehicle for a period of sixty days.

(C) For a third or subsequent conviction of any combination of the offenses in this
subsection in a separate incident in a three- year period while operating a commercial
motor vehicle, a driver is disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for a
period of one hundred twenty days.

(D) For a third or subsequent conviction of any combination of offenses in this
subsection in a separate incident within a three- year period while operating a
noncommercial motor vehicle, if the conviction results in the suspension, revocation or
cancellation of the commercial driver's license holder's privilege to operate any motor
vehicle, a commercial driver's license holder is disqualified from operating a commercial
motor vehicle for a period of one hundred twenty days.

(5) Violating any law relating to traffic control arising in connection with a fatal
accident, other than a parking violation;

(A) For a second conviction of any combination of offenses in this subsection in a
separate incident within a three-year period while operating a commercial motor
vehicle, a driver is disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for a period
of sixty days.






(B) For a second conviction of any combination of offenses in this section in a
separate incident within a three-year period while operating a noncommercial motor
vehicle, if the conviction results in the suspension, revocation, or cancellation of the
commercial driver's license holder's privilege to operate any motor vehicle, a
commercial driver's license holder is disqualified from operating a commercial motor
vehicle for a period of sixty days.

(C) For a third or subsequent conviction of any combination of the offenses in this
subsection in a separate incident in a three- year period while operating a commercial
motor vehicle, a driver is disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for a
period of one hundred twenty days.

(D) For a third or subsequent conviction of any combination of offenses in this
subsection in a separate incident within a three- year period while operating a
noncommercial motor vehicle, if the conviction results in the suspension, revocation or
cancellation of the commercial driver's license holder's privilege to operate any motor
vehicle, a commercial motor vehicle license holder is disqualified from operating a
commercial motor vehicle for a period of one hundred twenty days.

(6) Driving a commercial motor vehicle without obtaining a commercial driver's
license;

(A) For a second conviction of any combination of offenses in this subsection in a
separate incident within a three-year period while operating a commercial motor
vehicle, a driver is disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for a period
of sixty days.

(B) For a third or subsequent conviction of any combination of the offenses in this
subsection in a separate incident in a three- year period while operating a commercial
motor vehicle, a driver is disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for a
period of one hundred twenty days.

(7) Driving a commercial motor vehicle without a commercial driver's license in the
driver's possession except that any person who provides proof of possession of a
commercial driver's license to the enforcement agency that issued the citation by the
court appearance or fine payment deadline is not guilty of this offense;

(A) For a second conviction of any combination of offenses in this subsection in a
separate incident within a three-year period while operating a commercial motor
vehicle, a commercial driver's license holder is disqualified from operating a commercial
motor vehicle for a period of sixty days.

(B) For a third or subsequent conviction of any combination of the offenses in this
subsection in a separate incident in a three- year period while operating a commercial






motor vehicle, a commercial driver's license holder is disqualified from operating a
commercial motor vehicle for a period of one hundred twenty days.

(8) Driving a commercial motor vehicle without the proper class of commercial
driver's license or the proper endorsements for the specific vehicle group being
operated or for the passengers or type of cargo being transported;

(A) For a second conviction of any combination of offenses in this subsection in a
separate incident within a three-year period while operating a commercial motor
vehicle, a commercial driver's license holder is disqualified from operating a commercial
motor vehicle for a period of sixty days.

(B) For a third or subsequent conviction of any combination of the offenses in this
subsection in a separate incident in a three- year period while operating a commercial
motor vehicle, a commercial driver's license holder is disqualified from operating a
commercial motor vehicle for a period of one hundred twenty days.

(9) Driving a commercial motor vehicle while engaged in texting and convicted
pursuant to section fourteen-a of this article or similar law of this or any other
jurisdiction or 49 CFR §392.80;

(A) For a second conviction of any combination of offenses in this subsection in a
separate incident within a three-year period while operating a commercial motor
vehicle, a commercial driver's license holder is disqualified from operating a commercial
motor vehicle for a period of sixty days.

(B) For a third or subsequent conviction of any combination of the offenses in this
subsection in a separate incident in a three- year period while operating a commercial
motor vehicle, a commercial driver's license holder is disqualified from operating a
commercial motor vehicle for a period of one hundred twenty days.

(d) Any person convicted of operating a commercial motor vehicle in violation of any
federal, state or local law or ordinance pertaining to railroad crossing violations
described in subdivisions (1) through (6) of this subsection, is disqualified from
operating a commercial motor vehicle for the period of time specified;

(1) Failing to slow down and check that the tracks are clear of an approaching train,
if not required to stop in accordance with the provisions of section three, article twelve,
chapter seventeen- ¢ of West Virginia Code;

(A) For the first conviction, a driver is disqualified from operating a commercial
motor vehicle for a period of sixty days;






(B) For a second conviction of any combination of offenses in this subsection within
a three-year period, a driver is disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle
for one hundred twenty days; and

(C) For a third or subsequent conviction of any combination of offenses in this
subsection within a three-year period, a driver is disqualified from operating a
commercial motor vehicle for one year.

(2) Failing to stop before reaching the crossing, if the tracks are not clear, if not
required to stop, in accordance with the provisions of section one, article twelve,
chapter seventeen-c of the West Virginia Code;

(A) For the first conviction, a driver is disqualified from operating a commercial
motor vehicle for a period of sixty days;

(B) For a second conviction of any combination of offenses in this subsection within
a three-year period, a driver is disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle
for one hundred twenty days; and

(C) For a third or subsequent conviction of any combination of offenses in this
subsection within a three-year period, a driver is disqualified from operating a
commercial motor vehicle for one year.

(3) Failing to stop before driving onto the crossing, if required to stop in accordance
with the provisions of section three, article twelve, chapter seventeen-c of the West
Virginia Code;

(A) For the first conviction, a driver is disqualified from operating a commercial
motor vehicle for a period of sixty days;

(B) For a second conviction of any combination of offenses in this subsection within
a three-year period, the driver is disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle
for one hundred twenty days; and

(C) For a third or subsequent conviction of any combination of offenses in this
subsection within a three-year period, a driver is disqualified from operating a
commercial motor vehicle for one year.

(4) Failing to have sufficient space to drive completely through the crossing without
stopping in accordance with the provisions of section three, article twelve, chapter
seventeen-c of West Virginia Code;

(A) For the first conviction, a driver is disqualified from operating a commercial
motor vehicle for a period of sixty days;






(B) For a second conviction of any combination of offenses in this subsection within
a three-year period, a driver is disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle
for one hundred twenty days; and

(C) For a third or subsequent conviction of any combination of offenses in this
subsection within a three-year period, a driver is disqualified from operating a
commercial motor vehicle for one year.

(5) Failing to obey a traffic control device or the directions of an enforcement official
at the crossing in accordance with the provisions of section one, article twelve, chapter
seventeen-c of the West Virginia Code;

(A) For the first conviction, a driver is disqualified from operating a commercial
motor vehicle for a period of sixty days;

(B) For a second conviction of any combination of offenses in this subsection within
a three-year period, a driver is disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle
for one hundred twenty days; and

(C) For a third or subsequent conviction of any combination of offenses in this
subsection within a three-year period, a driver is disqualified from operating a
commercial motor vehicle for one year.

(6) Failing to negotiate a crossing because of insufficient undercarriage clearance in
accordance with the provisions of section three, article twelve, chapter seventeen-c of
West Virginia Code.

(A) For the first conviction, a driver is disqualified from operating a commercial
motor vehicle for a period of sixty days;

(B) For a second conviction of any combination of offenses in this subsection within
a three-year period, a driver is disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle
for one hundred twenty days; and

(C) For a third or subsequent conviction of any combination of offenses in this
subsection within a three-year period, a driver is disqualified from operating a
commercial motor vehicle for one year.

(e) Any person who is convicted of violating an out-of-service order while operating
a commercial motor vehicle is disqualified for the following periods of time:

(1) If convicted of violating a driver or vehicle out-of- service order while
transporting nonhazardous materials;






(A) For the first conviction of violating an out-of-service order while operating a
commercial motor vehicle, a driver is disqualified from operating a commercial motor
vehicle for one hundred eighty days.

(B) For a second conviction in a separate incident within a ten-year period for
violating an out of service order while operating a commercial motor vehicle, a driver is
disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for two years.

(C) For a third or subsequent conviction in a separate incident within a ten-year
period for violating an out-of-service order while operating a commercial motor vehicle,
a driver is disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for three years.

(2) If convicted of violating a driver or vehicle out-of- service order while
transporting hazardous materials required to be placarded under 49 C.F.R. Part §172,
Subpart F (2004) or while operating a vehicle designed to transport sixteen or more
passengers including the driver;

(A) For the first conviction of violating an out of service order while operating a
commercial motor vehicle, a driver is disqualified from operating a commercial motor
vehicle for one hundred eighty days.

(B) For a second conviction in a separate incident within a ten-year period for
violating an out-of-service order while operating a commercial motor vehicle, a driver
is disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for three years.

(C) For a third or subsequent conviction in a separate incident within a ten-year
period for violating an out-of-service order while operating a commercial motor vehicle,
a driver is disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for three years.

(f) After disqualifying, suspending, revoking or canceling a commercial driver's
license, the division shall update its records to reflect that action within ten days.

(9) In accordance with the provisions of 49 U.S.C. §313119(a)(19)(2004), and 49
C.F.R §384.226 (2004), notwithstanding the provisions of section twenty-five, article
eleven, chapter sixty-one of the West Virginia Code, no record of conviction, revocation,
suspension or disqualification related to any type of motor vehicle traffic control
offense, other than a parking violation, of a commercial driver's license holder or a
person operating a commercial motor vehicle may be masked, expunged, deferred or
be subject to any diversion program.

(h) Notwithstanding any provision in this code to the contrary, the division may not
issue any temporary driving permit, work-only driving permit or hardship license or
permit that authorizes a person to operate a commercial motor vehicle when his or her
privilege to operate any motor vehicle has been revoked, suspended, disqualified or
otherwise canceled for any reason.






(i) In accordance with the provisions of 49 C.F.R. §391.15(b), a driver is disqualified
from operating a commercial motor vehicle for the duration of any suspension,
revocation or cancellation of his or her driver's license or privilege to operate a motor
vehicle by this state or by any other state or jurisdiction until the driver complies with
the terms and conditions for reinstatement set by this state or by another state or
jurisdiction.

() In accordance with the provisions of 49 C.F.R. 353.52 (2006), the division shall
immediately disqualify a driver's privilege to operate a commercial motor vehicle upon a
notice from the Assistant Administrator of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety
Administration that the driver poses an imminent hazard. Any disqualification period
imposed under the provisions of this subsection shall be served concurrently with any
other period of disqualification if applicable.

(k) In accordance with the provisions of 49 C.F.R. 1572.11(a), the division shall
immediately disqualify a driver's privilege to operate a commercial motor vehicle if the
driver fails to surrender his or her driver's license with a hazardous material
endorsement to the division upon proper notice by the division to the driver that the
division received notice from the Department of Homeland Security Transportation
Security Administration of an initial determination of threat assessment and immediate
revocation that the driver does not meet the standards for security threat assessment
provided in 49 C.F.R. 1572.5. The disqualification remains in effect until the driver
either surrenders the driver's license to the division or provides the division with an
affidavit attesting to the fact that the driver has lost or is otherwise unable to surrender
the license.

(D) In accordance with 49 C.F.R §391.41, a driver is disqualified from operating a
commercial motor vehicle if the driver is not physically qualified to operate a
commercial motor vehicle or does not possess a valid medical certification status.

(m) In accordance with the provisions of 49 C.F.R. §383.73(g), the division shall
disqualify a driver's privilege to operate a commercial motor vehicle if the division
determines that the licensee has falsified any information or certifications required

under the provisions of 49 C.F.R. 383 Subpart J or 49 C.F.R. §383.71a for sixty days in
addition to any other penalty prescribed by this code.

SECTION TWO: This Ordinance shall be effective from and after its date of passage.

Passed First Reading:

Passed Second Reading:






Dave Blazer, Mayor

ATTEST:

Jane Criswell-Rickman, City Clerk






AN ORDINANCE OF THE CITY OF GLEN DALE, WEST VIRGINIA,
PROHIBITING COMMERCIAL DRIVERS FROM TEXTING WHILE DRIVING

SECTION ONE: The Council of the City of Glen Dale, hereby ordains
353.08 COMMERCIAL DRIVERS PROHIBITED FROM TEXTING:

(a) No commercial driver may engage in texting while driving a commercial motor
vehicle.

(b) No motor carrier may allow or require its drivers to engage in texting while
driving a commercial motor vehicle.

(c) For the purposes of this section only, and unless a more restrictive prohibition is
prescribed in this code, driving means operating a commercial motor vehicle with the
motor running, including while temporarily stationed because of traffic, a traffic control
device or other momentary delays. Driving does not include operating a commercial
motor vehicle with or without the motor running when the driver moved the vehicle to
the side of or off a highway, as defined in 49 CFR 390.5, and halted in a location where
the vehicle can safely remain stationary.

SECTION TWO: This Ordinance shall be effective from and after its date of passage.

Passed First Reading:

Passed Second Reading:

Dave Blazer, Mayor

ATTEST:

Jane Criswell-Rickman, City Clerk
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353.99 PENALTY.

Unless another penalty is provided in thi , ver violates any this
article shall be fined not less than one hundred ( 00) nor more th and
dollars ($1,000), or imprisoned for not more than thirty days, or both except that for the second
violation of Section 353.04, the offender shall be fined not less than five hundred dollars ($500.00)
nor more than two thousand dollars ($2,000) or imprisoned not more than thirty days, or both.
For ird tion n 353. 0 11 be
fine ess ($1, o thou e llars
($2,500), or imprisoned for not more than thirty
(WVaC 17E-1-25)

2006 Replacement
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ARTICLE 355
Motorized Recreational Apparatus

355.01 Definition. 355.04 Disclaimer.
355.02 Prohibition. 355.99 Penalty.
355.03 Exceptions.

CROSS REFERENCES
State law provisions - see W. Va. Code Art. 17F-1

355.01 DEFINITION.

For the purpose of this article, “motorized recreational apparatus” shall include but not be
limited to the following: all terrain vehicles (ATV) as defined by West Virginia Code §17A-1-
1311); S; ed w two or three
SNOw as -1- I, the City’s te
climate, any other such motorized apparatus which would appear to be used for the principal
purpose of recreation and not for the general transportation of persons or goods.

(Ord. 2-9-04.)

355.02 PROHIBITION.

No person shall operate, ride upon or use any motorized recreational apparatus for
transportation or recreational purposes, within or upon parks, recreational areas, sidewalks, or
walking trails which are publicly owned, leased or controlled, within the corporate limits of the
City.

No person shall knowingly permit another person to operate, ride upon or use any
motorized recreational apparatus for transportation or recreational purposes, within or upon parks,
recreational areas, sidewalks, or walking trails which are publicly owned, leased or controlled,
within the corporate limits of the City.

A or a mi S an ,
custodian s or by cont ,
ride upon or use any motorized recreational apparatus for transportation or recreational purposes,
within or upon parks, recreational areas, sidewalks, or walking trails which are publicly owned,
leased or controlled, within the corporate limits of the City. The term “knowingly” includes
knowledge that the parent, custodian or guardian should reasonably be expected to have
concerning the whereabouts of said minor in his or her custody. This requirement is intended to
hold a neglectful or careless parent, custodian or guardian up to a reasonable community standard
of parental responsibility through an objective test. It shall, therefore be no defense that the parent
or guardian was completely indifferent to the activities or conduct of such minor.

(Ord. 2-9-04.)

2005 Replacement



355.03 EXCEPTIONS.
Notwithstanding any other provision of this article, it shall not be an offense for any person
to use, ride or operate a motorized recreational apparatus within the corporate limits of the City

as follows:

(@
3
(@)
(e)
()

Upon a designated parade route, when such person or persons are duly registered
and recognized participants in parade which has been duly permitted by the City;
Upon private property;

Upon property otherwise restricted as to such use, when such person or persons are
participants in a duly organized exhibition or competition which has been duly
permitted by the City;

In a natural disaster; emergency; or in a situation requiring immediate action so as
to prevent death or serious injury or property damage;

For handicapped individuals to use motorized self-propelled vehicles of conveyance
within the City; and

All terrain vehicles which have snow plows affixed to them for snow removal in
the City immediately after a snow fall of significant accumulation (more than two
inches).

(Ord. 2-9-04.)

355.04 DISCLAIMER.
Nothing contained herein is intended to nor shall be construed so as to create or form the

ty ver o art of City, or of its
or susta any p n whoms rasa
th  art of the City as related in any matter to the

or nonenforcement of the provisions of this article.

355.99 PENALTY.

(@

Any violation of the prohibitions contained in this article shall constitute the

commission of a misdemeanor offense, and the Police Department for the City, or any other law
enforcement officer of any other policing agency exercising proper jurisdiction within the
corporate limits of the City, is hereby authorized and empowered to issue a citation and to charge
any person who violates the prohibitions contained in this article, jurisdiction thereof being in the
Municipal Court for the City.

(b)

A person convicted of violating the prohibitions contained in this article shall be

punished as follows:

(1) Any person convicted of a first offense shall be
fined not less than $25.00, nor more than $100.00 together with all
applicable court costs;

2) Any person convicted of a second offense shall
be fined not less than $50.00, nor more than $200.00 together with all
applicable court costs;

3) Any p convicted of a third or su
offense shall be fined nit less $100.00, nor more than
together with all applicable court costs.

(Ord. 2-9-04.)
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CHAPTER SEVEN - Parking
Art. 361. Parking Generally.

361.01

361.02

361.03

361.04
361.05

361.06
361.07

361.08

361.09
361.10

ARTICLE 361
Parking Generally
Prohibition against 361.11
parking on streets or
highways. 361.12
Police may remove
illegally stopped
vehicles. 361.13
Prohibited stopping,
standing or parking
places. 361.14
Vehicles parked
on private property. 361.15
Manner of angle and
parallel parking.
Accessible parking.
Junked and abandoned 361.16
vehicles.
Parking for certain
purposes prohibited. 361.99
Truck loading zones.
Bus stops and taxicab
stands.
CROSS REFERENCES

Parking in alleys and

narrow streets; exceptions.
Registered owner prima-
facie liable for unlawful
parking.

Trucks, tractor trailers or
equivalent vehicles prohibited
from parking on City streets.
"No Parking" space privileges;
temporary no parking.
Stopping, standing or parking
vehicles for a continuous
period of not more than

14 days.

Sunday parking or parking
upon express permission of
the Mayor or Chief of Police.
Penalty.

See sectional histories for similar State law
Authority to regulate the standing or parking of
vehicles - see W. Va. Code 17C-2-8(a)(1)
Authority to regulate parallel and angle parking -
see W. Va. Code 17C-13-4
Impounding of abandoned vehicles - see TRAF. 303.07
Duty to stop engine, set brake on grade and remove
key - see TRAF. 349.01
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361.01 PROHIBITION AGAINST PARKING ON STREETS OR
HIGHWAYS.

(a) Upon any street or highway outside of a business or residence district no person
shall stop, park or leave standing any vehicle, whether attended or unattended, upon the paved
or main-traveled part of the street or highway when it is practicable to stop, park or so leave such
vehicle off such part of the street or highway, but in every event an unobstructed width of the
street or highway opposite a standing vehicle shall be left for the free passage of other vehicles
and a clear view of such stopped vehicles shall be available from a distance of 200 feet in each
direction upon such highway or street.

~(b) s apply to the driver of any vehicle which is disabled while on
the paved or m p fa street or I ighway in such a manner and to such extent that
it is impossible to avoid stopping and temporarily leaving such disabled vehicle in such position.
(WvaC 17C-13-1)

361.02 POLICE MAY REMOVE ILLEGALLY STOPPED VEHICLES.

(a) Whenever any police officer finds a vehicle standing upon a street or highway in
violation of Section 361.01, such officer is hereby authorized to move such vehicle or require the
driver or other person in charge of the vehicle to move the same, to a position off the paved or
main-traveled part of such street or highway.

(b) Whenever any police officer finds a vehicle unattended upon any bridge or
causeway or in any tunnel where such vehicle constitutes an obstruction to traffic, such officer is
hereby authorized to provide for the removal of such vehicle to the nearest garage or other place
of safety.

(WVvaC 17C-13-2)

361.03 PROHIBITED STOPPING, STANDING OR PARKING PLACES.

(a) No person shall stop, stand or park a vehicle except when necessary to avoid
conflict with other traffic or in compliance with law or the directions of a police officer or traffic
control device, in any of the following places:

€Y On a sidewalk or curb;

(2) In front of a public or private driveway;

3) Within an intersection;

“) Within fifteen feet of a fire hydrant;

5) In a properly designated fire lane;

6) On a crosswalk;

@) Within twenty feet of a crosswalk at an intersection;

€] Within thirty feet upon the approach to any flashing beacon, stop sign or
traffic control signal located at the side of a roadway;

C)) Between a safety zone and the adjacent curb or within thirty feet of points
on the curb immediately opposite the ends of a safety zone, unless a
different length is indicated by signs or markings;

(10)  Within fifty feet of the nearest rail of a railroad crossing;



107 ~ Parking Generally 361.04

(11)  Within twenty feet of the driveway entrance to any fire station and on the
side of a street opposite the entrance to any fire station within seventy-five
feet of such entrance (when properly signposted);

(12)  Alongside or opposite any street excavation or obstruction when stopping,
standing or parking would obstruct traffic;

(I13)  On the roadway side of any vehicle stopped or parked at the edge or curb
of a street;

(14)  Upon any bridge or other elevated structure upon a street or highway or
within a street or highway tunnel;

(15) At any place where signs prohibit stopping, standing or parking, or where
the curbing or street is painted yellow or red, or at any place in excess of
the maximum time limited by signs;

(16) Within twenty feet of any mail receptacle served regularly by a carrier
using a motor vehicle for daily deliveries, if such parking interferes with or
causes delay in the carrier's schedule;

(17)  Upon any controlled-access highway;

(18) Atany place on any street or highway where the safety and convenience of
the traveling public is thereby endangered;

(19) Over or across any lines or marks established by the Municipality to
indicate parking spaces;

(20) In front of a wheelchair accessible ramp or curb cut which is part of a
sidewalk designed for use by the general public when the ramp or curb cut
is properly marked with blue paint;

(21) At any place where official signs permit parking by permit only, if such
vehicle does not have a proper permit for such parking.

(b) No person shall move a vehicle not lawfully under his control into any such
prohibited area or away from a curb such distance as is unlawful.
(WVaC 17C-13-3)

361.04 VEHICLES PARKED ON PRIVATE PROPERTY.

No driver of a vehicle shall stop, park or leave standing unattended any vehicle on a private
road or driveway or on private property without having express or implied permission from the
owner, tenant or lessee of such land. The owner, tenant or lessee of such private road or driveway
or prlvate property may move, or have moved any vehicle stopped, parked or left standing
unattended on his or her private road, driveway or private property as above prohibited without
any liability for the cost of moving any vehicle, nor shall he or she be liable to the owner of the
vehicle for any damage done to such vehicle in moving it, unless the owner, tenant or lessee of
such private road or driveway or private property was negligent in removing or authorizing the
removal of the vehicle. The owner of such vehicle shall be responsible to the persons removing
such vehicle for paying all removal costs. Any person who removes any vehicle under the
provisions of this section shall notify the State Police of such action, and, in addition notify the
Police Department.

(WVaC 17C-14-13)
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361.05 MANNER OF ANGLE AND PARALLEL PARKING.

(a) Every vehicle stopped or parked upon a roadway where there is an adjacent curb
shall be stopped or parked with the curb-side wheels of such vehicle parallel with and not more
than eighteen inches from the curb, unless it is impossible to approach so close to the curb; in such
case the stop shall be as close to the curb as possible and only for the time necessary to dlscharge
and receive passengers or to load or unload merchandise.

(b) This subsection does not apply to streets or parts thereof where angle parking is
lawfully permitted. However, no angle parking shall be permitted on a State or Federal-aid route
unless approved by the State Commissioner of Highways.

(©) Upon streets where angle parking is permitted, no person shall stop, stand or park
a vehicle other than at the angle to the curb or edge of the roadway as is indicated by appropriate
signs or marks.

(d) No vehicle shall be stopped or parked on a road or street with the vehicle facing
in a direction other than the direction of travel on that side of the road or street.

361.06 ACCESSIBLE PARKING.
(a) As used in this section, the following terms have the meanings ascribed to them in
this subsection:

(1) A person or applicant with a “mobility impairment” means a person who
is a citizen of West Virginia and as determined by a physician, allopath or
osteopath chiropractor, advanced nurse practitioner or physician's assistant
licensed to practice in West Virginia:

A. Cannot walk two hundred feet without stopping to rest;

B. Cannot walk without the use of or assistance from a brace, cane,
crutch, prosthetic device, wheelchair, other assistive device or
another person;

C. s restricted by lung disease to such an extent that the person’s force
(resplratory) expiratory volume for one second, when measured by

+ itar Ar tha nrfnrio] Avvaoan tancinn 1o
otux\,uuvu_y , 16 1865 wianl Onc 11T O i aneria:r OF S Z S EREH RO

less than sixty mm/hg on room air at rest;

Uses portable oxygen;

Has a cardiac condition to such an extent that the person’s

functional limitations are classified in severity as Class III or Class

IV according to standards established by the American heart

association; or
F. Is severely limited in his or her ability to walk because of an

arthritic, neurological, or other orthopedic physical condition.

(2) “Special registration plate” means a registration plate that displays the
international symbol of access, as adopted by the Rehabilitation
International Organization in nineteen hundred sixty-nine at its Eleventh
World Congress on Rehabilitation of the Disabled, in a color that contrasts
with the background, in letters and numbers the same size as those on the
plate, and which may be used in lieu of a regular registration plate;

mo
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)

“Removable windshield placard” (permanent or temporary) means a two-
sided, hanger style placard measuring three inches by nine and one half
inches, with all of the following on each side:

A. The international symbol of access, measuring at least three inches
in height, centered on the placard, in white on a blue background
for and in white on a red background for

B An number measuring one inch in height;

C. An expiration date in numbers measuring one inch in height; and

D. The seal or other identifying symbol of the issuing authority.

“Public entity” means state or local government or any department, agency,

special purpose district or other instrumentality of a state or local

government.

“Public facility” means all or any part of any buildings, structures, sites,

complexes, roads, parking lots or other real or personal property, including

the site where the facility is located.

“Place(s) of public accommodation” means a facility or facilities operated

by a private entity whose operations affect commerce and fall within at least

one of the following categories:

Inns, hotels, motels and other places of lodging;

Restaurants, bars or other establishments serving food or drink;

Motion picture houses, theaters, concert halls, stadiums or other

places of exhibition or entertainment;

Auditoriums, convention centers, lecture halls or other places of

public gatherings;

Bakeries, grocery stores, clothing stores, hardware stores, shopping

centers or other sales or rental establishments;

Laundromats, dry cleaners, banks, barber and beauty shops, travel

agencies, shoe repair shops, funeral parlors, gas or service stations,

offices of accountants and attorneys, pharmacies, insurance offices,

offices of professional health care providers, hospitals or other

service establishments;

Terminals, depots or other stations used for public transportation;

Museums, libraries, galleries or other places of public display or

collection;

Parks, zoos, amusement parks or other places of recreation;

Public or private nursery, elementary, secondary, undergraduate or

post-graduate schools or other places of learning and day care

centers, senior citizen centers, homeless shelters, food banks,

adoption agencies or other social service establishments; and

K. Gymnasiums, health spas, bowling alleys, golf courses or other
places of exercise or recreation.

“Commercial facility” means a facility whose operations affect commerce

and which are intended for nonresidential use by a private entity.

“Accessible parking” formerly known as “handicapped parking” is the

present phrase consistent with language within the American with

Disabilities Act (ADA).

“Parking enforcement personnel” includes any law enforcement officer as

defined by West Virginia Code 30-29-1, and private security guards,

parking personnel and other personnel authorized by a city, county or the

state to issue parking citations.

mom o Qe

e Q
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(b) An accessible parking space should comply with the provisions of the Americans
with Disabilities Act accessibility guidelines, contained in 28 C.F.R. 36, Appendix A, Section4.6.
In particular, the parking space should be a minimum of eight feet wide with an adjacent eight-foot
access aisle for vans having side mounted hydraulic lifts or ramps or a five-foot access aisle for
standard vehicles. Access aisles should be marked using diagonal two- to four-inch-wide stripes
spaced every twelve or twenty-four inches apart along with the words “no parking” in painted
letters which are at least twelve inches in height. All accessible parking spaces should have a
signpost in front or adjacent to the accessible parking space displaying the international symbol
of access sign mounted at a minimum of eight feet above the pavement or sidewalk and the top of
the sign. Lines or markings on the pavement or curbs for parking spaces and access aisles may
be in any color, although blue is the generally accepted color for accessible parking.

(©) A vehicle from any other state, United States territory or foreign country displaying
an officially issued special registration plate, placard or decal bearing the international symbol of
access shall be recognized and accepted as meeting the requirements of this section, regardless of
where the plate, placard or decal is mounted or displayed on the vehicle.

(d) Stopping, standing or parking places marked with the international symbol of access
shall be designated in close proximity to all public entities including state, county and municipal
buildings and facilities, places of public accommodation and commercial facilities. These parking
places shall be reserved solely for persons with a mobility impairment at all times.

e Any person whose vehicle properly displays a valid, unexpired special registration
plate or removable windshield placard may park the vehicle for unlimited periods of time in
parking zones unrestricted as to length of parking time permitted: Provided, that this privilege
does not mean that the vehicle may park in any zone where stopping, standing or parking is
prohibited or which creates parking zones for special types of vehicles or which prohibits parking
during heavy traffic periods during specified rush hours or where parking would clearly present
a traffic hazard. To the extent any provision of any ordinance of any political subdivision of this
State is contrary to the provisions of this section, the provisions of this section take precedence
and apply.

The parking privileges provided for in this subsection apply only during thoge timeg when
the vehicle is being used for the loading or unloading of a person with a mobility impairment.
Any person who knowingly exercises, or attempts to exercise these privileges at a time when the
vehicle is not being used for the loading or unloading of a person with a mobility impairment,

up st convic e ition to any other penalty he or she may otherwise incur, shall
be two hun 0 00); upon second conviction thereof, in addition to any other
penalty, he or she may otherwise incur, shall be fined three hundred dollars ($300.00); and upon
third and in tion to any other penalty he or she may otherwise
incur, sh $ 00).
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® Any person whose vehicle does not display a valid, special registration plate or
removable windshield placard may not stop, stand or park a motor vehicle in an area designated,
zoned or marked for accessible parking with signs or instructions displaying the international
symbol of access, either by itself or with explanatory text. The signs may be mounted on a post
or a wall in front of the accessible parking space and instructions may appear on the ground or
pavement, but use of both methods is preferred. Accessible parking spaces for vans having an
eight-foot adjacent access aisle should be designated as “van accessible” but may be used by any
vehicle displaying a valid special registration plate or removable windshield placard.

p violates the of this su ion be two ed
dollars 0. econd convic f, in additi any rpe he or ay
otherwise incur, shall be fined three hundred dollars ($300.00); and upon third and subsequent

s eof, in to any other penalty he or she may otherwise incur, shall be fined

e llars (§

(g) All signs that designate areas as “accessible parking” or that display the
international symbol of access shall also include the words “Up to $500 fine”.

(h) No person may stop, stand or park a motor vehicle in an area designated or marked
off as an accessible aisle to a van-accessible parking space or regular accessible parking space.
Any person, including a driver of a vehicle displaying a valid removable windshield placard or
special registration plate, who violates the provisions of this subsection shall be fined two hundred
dollars ($200.00); upon second conviction thereof, in addition to any other penalty he or she may
otherwise incur, shall be fined three hundred dollars ($300.00); and upon third and subsequent

S eof, ina to any other penalty he or she may otherwise incur, shall be fined
e  llars ($5
(1) Parking enforcement personnel who otherwise enforce parking violations may issue

citations for violations of this section and shall reference the number on the vehicle’s license plate,
since the driver normally will not be present.

) Law-enforcement agencies may establish a program to use trained volunteers to
collect information necessary to issue citations to persons who illegally park in designated
accessible parking spaces. Any law-enforcement agency choosing to establish a program shall
provide for workers’ compensation and liability coverage. The volunteers shall photograph the
illegally parked vehicle and complete a form, to be developed by supervising law-enforcement
agencies, that includes the vehicle’s license plate number, date, time and location of the illegally
parked vehicle. The photographs must show the vehicle in the accessible space and a readable
view of the license plate. Within the discretion of the supervising law-enforcement agency, the
volunteers may issue citations or the volunteers may submit the photographs of the illegally parked
vehicle and the form to the supervising law-enforcement agency, who may issue a citation, which
includes the photographs and the form, to the owner of the illegally parked vehicle. Volunteers
shall be trained on the requirements for citations for vehicles parked in marked, zoned or
designated accessible parking areas by the supervising law-enforcement agency.
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k) The Municipality in enforcing this section shall retain all fines and associated late
fees. These revenues shall be used first to fund the provisions of subsection (j) of this section, if
adopted by the Municipality or otherwise shall go into the Municipality’s General Revenue Fund.
(WVaC 17C-13-6)

361.07 JUNKED AND ABANDONED VEHICLES.

(2) For the purposes of this section, the following terms, phrases, words,
and their derivations shall have the meaning given herein. When not inconsistent with the context,
words used in the present tense include the future, words in the plural number include the singular
number and words in the singular number include the plural number. The word “shall” is always
mandatory and not merely directory.

€)) “City” is the City of Glen Dale.

2) “Chief of Police” is the Chief of Police of the City of Glen Dale.

(3) “Motor vehicle” is any vehicle which is self-propelled and designed to
travel along the ground and shall include, but not be limited to automobiles,
buses, motor-bikes, motorcycles, motorscooters, trucks, tractors, go-carts,
golf carts, campers and trailers.

4) “Junked motor vehicle” is any motor vehicle which does not have lawfully
affixed thereto both an unexpired license plate or plates and a current motor
vehicle safety inspection certificate, and the condition of which is wrecked,
dismantled, partially dismantled, inoperative, abandoned or discarded.

(5) “Person” means any person, firm, partnership, association, corporation,
company, or organization of any kind.
(6) “Private property” means any real property within the City which is

privately owned and which is not public property as defined in this section.

7 “Public property” means any street, highway, alley or other public right of
way, which includes the entire width between the boundary lines of every
way publicly maintained for the purpose of vehicular travel, and also means
any other publicly owned property or facility.

b
hpr‘larp(d )Nnmannp Fyrentinne No person shall park store, leave or nPrmﬁ the nm‘l(mo
storing or leaving of any motor vehicle of any kind which is in an abandoned wrecked
dismantled, inoperative, rusted, junked or partially dismantled condition whether attended or not,
upon any public or private property within the City for a period of time in excess of seventy-two
(72) hours. The presence of an abandoned, wrecked, dismantled, inoperative, rusted, junked or
partially dismantled vehicle or parts thereof, on private or public property is hereby declared a
public nuisance which may be abated as such in accordance with the provisions of this section.
This section shall not apply to any vehicle enclosed within a building on private property or to any
vehicle held in connection with a business enterprise, lawfully licensed by the City and properly
operated, or to any motor vehicle in operable condition specifically adopted or designated for
operation on drag strips or raceways, or any vehicle retained by the owner for antique collection
purposes.
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©) Whenever it comes to the attention of the Chief of Police that
any nuisance as defined in subsection (b) hereof exists in the City of Glen Dale, a notice in writing
shall be served upon the occupant of the land where the nuisance exists, or in case there is no such
occupant, then upon the owner of the property or his agent, notifying them of the existence of the
nuisance and requesting its removal in the time specified in this section, that is, within ten (10)
days from and after receipt of said notice.

(d) Upon proper notice and opportunity to be heard, the
owner of the abandoned, wrecked, dismantled or inoperative vehicle and the owner or occupant
of the private property on which same is located, either one or all of them, shall be responsible
for its removal. In the event of removal and disposition by the City, the owner, or occupant of
the private property where same is located, shall be liable for expenses incurred.

©)] The Chief of Police of the City shall give notice of removal to
the owner or occupant of the private property where it is located, at least ten (10) days before the
time of compliance. It shall constitute sufficient notice, when a copy of same is posted in a
conspicuous place upon the private property on which the vehicle is located and duplicate copies
are sent by certified mail, return receipt requested, to the owner or occupant of the private
property at his last known address.

® The notice shall contain the request for removal within the time
specified in this section, and the notice shall advise that upon failure to comply with the notice to
remove, the City or its designee shall undertake such removal with the cost of removal to be
levied against the owner or occupant of the property. The notice shall further advise such
recipient that a hearing can be requested by said recipient before the Mayor or his designee within
the ten (10) day period of compliance.

(& The persons to whom the notices are directed, or their duly
authorized agents may file a written request for a hearing before the Mayor or his designee within
the ten (10) day period of compliance prescribed herein for the purpose of defending the charges
by the City.

(h) The hearing shall be held as soon as practicable after the
filing of the request and the persons to whom the notices are directed shall be advised of the time
and place of said hearing at least five (5) days in advance thereof. At any such hearing the City
and the persons to whom the notices have been directed may introduce such witnesses and
evidence as either party deems necessary.

(i) If the violation prescribed in the notice
has not been remedied within the ten (10) day period of compliance, or in the event that a notice
requesting a hearing is timely filed, a hearing is had, and the existence of the violation is affirmed
by the Mayor or his designee, the Chief of Police or his designee shall have the right to take
possession of the junked motor vehicle and remove it from the premises. It shall be unlawful for
any person to interfere with, hinder, or refuse to allow such person or persons to enter upon
private property for the purpose of removing a vehicle under the provisions of this section.
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Within forty-eight (48) hours of the removal of such vehicle,
the Chief of Police shall give notice to the registered owner of the vehicle, if known, and also to
the owner or occupant of the private property from which the vehicle was removed, that said
vehicle, or vehicles, have been impounded and stored for violation of this section. The notice
shall give the location of where the vehicle or vehicles, are stored, and the costs incurred by the
City for removal.

k) Upon removing a vehicle under the provisions of
subsection (i) hereof, the City shall after ten (10) days cause notice of public sale of said vehicle
by publication of the sale, the notice to be published once in a newspaper of general circulation
in the City of Glen Dale, not less than twenty (20) days before the date of the proposed sale. The
notice of sale shall state:

(1 The sale is of abandoned in the possession of the City

(2) A description of the make, model, license number and
any other information which will accurately identify the vehicle.

3) The terms of the sale.

“) The date, time and place of the sale.

1)) The vehicle shall be sold to the highest and best bidder. At the time
of payment of the purchase price, the Chief of Police shall execute a certificate of sale in
duplicate, the original of which to be given to the purchaser, and the copy thereof to be filed with
the Clerk of the City. Should the sale for any reason be invalid, the City’s liability shall be
limited to the return of the purchase price.

(m) In the event such a sale is held, and any such
vehicle is unsold, the said Chief of Police may dispose of said vehicle in any manner deemed
appropriate to him including, but not limited to, demolishment or sale for discard value, and any
and all proceeds gained from such disposition shall be applied to the removal costs, and any
preliminary sale advertising expenses, plus the actual cost per day for storage for such vehicle.

(n) The owner of any vehicle seized under the
pr0v1s10ns of this sectlon _may redeem such vehlcle at any time after its removal but prlor to the
bdlC (V] § UCBU. ubuuu l.llUl CUI UlJUll pl UUl Ul UWIICT blllp auu pdylllClll l.U lllC bll.y Ul \JlCll UdlC Ul bubll
sum as may be determined and fixed for the actual and reasonable expense of removal, and any
preliminary sale advertising expenses, plus the actual cost per day for storage for each vehicle
redeemed.

(0) Upon the failure of the owner or occupant of
property on which abandoned vehicles have been removed by the City to pay the unrecovered
expenses incurred by the City in such removal, a lien shall be placed upon the property for the
amount of such expenses.

P The owner of any such motor vehicle may keep and
maintain one such motor vehicle (which would otherwise be in violation of this section) on the
property upon which he maintains his residence (and not upon the street, alley or other public
right of way) for the purpose of repairing same, provided that the said motor vehicle owner
complies with the following:
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1) Ap tfor said tion for repair purposes is obtained from the City
ata of five d (3£ .00).

2) The permit shall be valid for a period of forty-five (45) days, but may be
renewed for successive periods of forty-five (45) days each upon
application by said motor vehicle owner; but each such renewal shall only
be granted if, in the opinion of the Police Chief, evidence exists that
substantial repairs have been made to the motor vehicle in the preceding
permit period;

3) The permit shall be prominently displayed in the windshield area of the
motor vehicle at all times.

4) The motor vehicle shall be kept covered with a cloth, canvas or other such
type of material at all times when the repairs are not actively being made
on the motor vehicle;

S) In the event that residentially owned or occupied property is so owned or

ed by than one on, one shall be d
same -five (45) per he i this exc n
to permit only one motor vehicle to qualify for said exception--and thereby
be kept and maintained on said property--during the same period of time.

q Any on any provision of this section shall be subject to a
fine of not m two red ($200.00). Each act in violation of any of the
provisions hereof shall be deemed a separate offense.

(1987 Code 15A-2-11)

361.08 PARKING FOR CERTAIN PURPOSES PROHIBITED.
No person shall park any vehicle upon any street within the Municipality for the principal
purpose of:

(a) Displaying such vehicle for sale.

(b) Displaying advertising.

(c) Washing, greasing or repairing such vehicle, except repairs made necessary by an
emergency.

(d) Relieving the crowded condition of any parking lot, used car lot, automobile sales
lot, repair garage, automobile sales agency or used car sales agency.

361.09 TRUCK LOADING ZONES.

No person shall stop, stand or park a vehicle for any purpose or length of time other than
for the expeditious unloading and delivering or pickup and loading of materials in any place
marked as a truck loading zone during hours when the provisions applicable to such zones are in
effect. In no case shall the stop for loading and unloading of materials exceed thirty minutes.

361.10 BUS STOPS AND TAXICAB STANDS.

(a) No person shall stop, stand or park a vehicle other than a bus in a bus stop, or
other than a taxicab in a taxicab stand when any such stop or stand has been officially designated
and appropriately posted, except that the driver of a passenger vehicle may temporarily stop
therein for the purpose of and while actually engaged in loading or unloading passengers when
such stopping does not interfere with any bus or taxicab waiting to enter or about to enter such
zone, and then only for a period not to exceed three minutes, if such stopping is not prohibited
therein by posted signs.
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(b) The operator of a bus shall not stop, stand or park such vehicle upon any street at
any place for the purpose of loading or unloading passengers or their baggage other than at a bus
stop so designated and posted as such, except in case of an emergency.

(c) The operator of a bus shall enter a bus stop on a public street in such a manner that
the bus when stopped to load or unload passengers or baggage shall be in a position with the right
front wheel of such vehicle not further than eighteen inches from the curb and the bus
approximately parallel to the curb so as not to unduly impede the movement of other vehicular
traffic.

(d) The operator of a taxicab shall not stand or park such vehicle upon any street at any
place other than in a taxicab stand so designated and posted as such. This provision shall not
prevent the operator of a taxicab from temporarily stopping in accordance with other stopping or
parking provisions at any place for the purpose of and while actually engaged in the expeditious
loading or unloading of passengers.

361.11 PARKING IN ALLEYS AND NARROW STREETS;
EXCEPTIONS.

No person shall stop, stand or park any vehicle upon a street, other than an alley, in such
a manner or under such conditions as to leave available less than ten feet of the width of the
roadway for free movement of vehicular traffic, except that a driver may stop temporarily during
the actual loading or unloading of passengers or when directed to by a police officer or traffic
control signal.

Except as otherwise provided by law, no person shall stop, stand or park a vehicle within
an alley except while actually loading and unloading, and then only for a period not to exceed
thirty minutes.

361.12 REGISTERED OWNER PRIMA-FACIE LIABLE FOR
UNLAWFUL PARKING.

In any hearing on a charge of illegally parking a motor vehicle, testimony that a vehicle
bearing a certain license plate was found unlawfully parked as prohibited by the provisions of this
Traffic Code, and further testlmony that the records of the Department of Motor Vehicles shows
iliai il license pldlC was 1ssued o ile UCICllUdlll silali be pr lIIlcl-IdLlC CVIUCIILC illai ine venicie
which was unlawfully parked was so parked by the defendant. A certified copy of registration
from the Department of Motor Vehicles shall be proof of such ownership.

361.13 TRUCKS, TRACTOR TRAILERS OR EQUIVALENT VEHICLES
PROHIBITED FROM PARKING ON CITY STREETS.

It shall be illegal for any truck, road tractor, truck tractor, or tractor trailer combination
or equivalent vehicle with a GVW (gross vehicle weight) of 25,000 Ibs., or net vehicle weight of
10,000 Ibs. or more to be parked on any street, road or alley within the City of Glen Dale at any
time. Nothing in this paragraph should be construed as to narrow the effect of this prohibition
herein to only the specified weight limit. Said weight limit is intended for the category of
equivalent vehicles and not for specified truck types which are completely prohibited herein by
name and description.



This section intends that all and any streets, roadways or alleys within the City limits of
the City of Glen Dale be included in the meaning of this prohibition, except for Baltimore Avenue
west from Marx Lane to 9th Street, and Baltimore Avenue east from South Park to 8th Street.

Exceptions to this prohibition are to be made for local deliveries, to-wit: Section 347.01.

This section will be strictly enforced in accordance with the now present parking
enforcement laws within the City. Section 361.02 in regard to impounding vehicles is also

applicable to this provision herein when the provisions of this section are violated.
(1987 Code 15D-1-1A)

361.14 "NO PARKING" SPACE PRIVILEGES; TEMPORARY NO PARKING.

(@ Parking privileges and spaces designated as "no parking" space may be granted
upon consent of Council, and when so granted shall be definitely marked or the curb painted
yellow.

(b) When any "no parking" space privilege is so granted and the space is so marked
it shall be unlawful to park therein except in the exercise of the granted privilege.

(©) No person shall designate any "no parking" spaces or paint any curb yellow without
the consent of Council.

(d) Parking upon the roads, streets and alleys may be prohibited temporarily by order
of the Chief of Police for reasons of public safety or convenience, and the placing of official signs
on any road, street, or alley shall be notice of such prohibition; and it shall be unlawful to fail to
comply with the direction of such signs or to fail to move a vehicle before the time specified on
such signs. (1987 Code 15D-1-7)

361.15 STOPPING, STANDING OR PARKING VEHICLES FOR A
CONTINUOUS PERIOD OF NOT MORE THAN 14 DAYS.
No person shall stop, stand or park any vehicle upon any public street, highway or alley
for a continuous period of more than 14 days. Nor shall the registered owner of any such vehicle,
if he be other than the last known operator of said vehicle, permit or suffer to permit the

continuous stopping, standing or parking of the vehicle for a period of more than 14 days.
(1987 Code 15D-1-15)

361.16 SUNDAY PARKING OR PARKING UPON EXPRESS PERMISSION
OF THE MAYOR OR CHIEF OF POLICE.
Notwithstanding the provisions of Section 361.03(a), and specifically subsection (15),
concerning a prohibition against parking where official signs prohibit stopping or parking, parking
may be permitted upon any street, highway or public way on Sundays for religious worship, if

the street, highway or public way is so posted or upon express permission of the Mayor or Chief
of Police. (1987 Code 15D-1-16)

361.99 PENALTY.
(EDITOR’S NOTE: See Section 303.99 for general Traffic Code penalty.)
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371.01
371.02
371.03
371.04
371.05

CHAPTER NINE - Pedestrians and Bicycles

Art. 371. Pedestrians.
Art. 373. Bicycles.

ARTICLE 371
Pedestrians

Compliance with traffic 371.06
regulations.
Right of way in
crosswalk. 371.07
Crossing roadway
outside crosswalk. 371.08
Drivers to exercise
due care. 371.09
Moving upon right half
of crosswalk. 371.99

CROSS REFERENCES

Walking along streets
and highways; soliciting
rides.

Persons working on
streets and highways.
Protection of blind
pedestrians.

Electric personal assistive
mobility device.

Penalty.

See sectional histories for similar State law
Pedestrian defined - see TRAF. 301.21
Pedestrians at traffic signal - see TRAF. 313.03
Pedestrian control signal - see TRAF. 313.04

the restrictions stated in this article.
(WVaC 17C-10-1(a))

(a)

371.02 RIGHT OF WAY IN CROSSWALK.
When traffic control signals are not in place or not in operation the driver of a
vehicle shall yield the right of way, slowing down or stopping if need be to so yield, to a

a curb or other place of safety and walk or run i

is impossible for the driver to yield. This provision shall not apply under the conditions stated

in Section 371.03(b).

371.01 COMPLIANCE WITH TRAFFIC REGULATIONS.
Pedestrians shall be subject to traffic control signals at intersections as provided in Section
313.03, but at all other places pedestrians shall be accorded the privileges and shall be subject to
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(b) Whenever any vehicle is stopped at a marked crosswalk or at any unmarked
crosswalk at an intersection to permit a pedestrian to cross the roadway, the driver of any other
vehicle approaching from the rear shall not overtake and pass such stopped vehicle.

(WVaC 17C-10-2)

371.03 CROSSING ROADWAY OUTSIDE CROSSWALK.

(a) Every pedestrian crossing a roadway at any point other than within a marked
crosswalk or within an unmarked crosswalk at an intersection shall yield the right of way to all
vehicles upon the roadway.

(b) Any pedestrian crossing a roadway at a point where a pedestrian tunnel or overhead
pedestrian crossing has been provided shall yield the right of way to all vehicles upon the
roadway.

©) Between adjacent intersections at which traffic control signals are in operation
pedestrians shall not cross at any place except in a marked crosswalk.
(WVaC 17C-10-3)

371.04 DRIVERS TO EXERCISE DUE CARE.

Notwithstanding any other provision of this article every driver of a vehicle shall exercise
due care to avoid colliding with any pedestrian upon any roadway and shall give warning by
sounding the horn when necessary and shall exercise proper precaution upon observing any child

or any confused or incapacitated person upon a roadway.
(WVaC 17C-10-4)

371.05 MOVING UPON RIGHT HALF OF CROSSWALK.
Pedestrians shall move, whenever practicable, upon the right half of crosswalks.
(WVaC 17C-10-5)

371.06 WALKING ALONG STREETS AND HIGHWAYS; SOLICITING
RIDES.
(a) Where sidewalks are provided, no pedestrian shall walk along and upon an adjacent
1adway.

(b) Where sidewalks are not provided any pedestrian walking along and upon a street
or highway shall when practicable walk only on the left side of the roadway or its shoulder facing
traffic which may approach from the opposite direction.

(©) No person shall stand in a roadway for the purpose of soliciting a ride from the
driver of any vehicle.
(WVaC 17C-10-6)
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371.07 PERSONS WORKING ON STREETS AND HIGHWAYS.

The driver of a vehicle shall yield the right of way to persons engaged in maintenance or
construction work on a street or highway whenever he is notified of their presence by an official
traffic control device or flagman.

(WVaC 17C-10-8)

371.08 PROTECTION OF BLIND PEDESTRIANS.

The driver of a vehicle approaching a blind pedestrian who knows, or in the exercise of
reasonable care should know, that such pedestrian is blind because such pedestrian is carrying a
cane predominantly white or metallic in color with or without a red tip, or is using a guide dog
or otherwise, shall exercise care commensurate with the situation to avoid injuring such
pedestrian.

(WVacC 5-15-5)

371.09 ELECTRIC PERSONAL ASSISTIVE MOBILITY DEVICE.
(a) For purposes of this section, the definition of an "electric personal assistive
mobility device" is the same definition as previously set forth in Section 303.081 and "operator”

shall refer to the operator of an electric personal assistive mobility device.
(WVaC 17C-10A-1)

b) An electric personal assistive mobility device shall be equipped with:
(1) Front, rear and side reflectors;
2) A braking system that enables the operator to bring the device to a
controlled stop; and
3) If operated at any time from one-half hour after sunset to one-half hour
before sunrise, a lamp that emits a white light that sufficiently illuminates
the area in front of the device.

(c) An operator of an electric personal assistive mobility device traveling on a
sidewalk, roadway or bicycle path shall have the rights and duties of a pedestrian and shall
exercise due care to avoid colliding with pedestrians. An operator shall yield the right of way to
pedestrians.

(«)) Except as provided in this section, no other provisions of the motor vehicle code
shall apply to electric personal assistive mobility devices.
(WVaC 17C-10A-2)

371.99 PENALTY.
(EDITOR’S NOTE: See Section 303.99 for general Traffic Code penalty.)
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ARTICLE 373
Bicycles
373.01 Compliance; code appli- 373.06 Carrying articles.
cation to bicycles. 373.07 Lights and reflector on
373.02 Obedience to traffic - bicycle; signal device;
rules; exceptions. brakes.
373.03 Riding upon seats; 373.08 Reckless operation;
number of persons. control, course and
373.04 Attaching bicycle or speed.
sled to vehicle. 373.09 Bicycle helmets for children.
373.05 Riding on roadways 373.10 Operation on sidewalks
and bicycle paths. prohibited.

373.99 Penalty.

CROSS REFERENCES
See sectional histories for similar State law
Authority to regulate bicycle operation - see W. Va.
Code 17C-2-8(a)(8)
Bicycle defined - see TRAF. 301.03
Moped equipment and operation - see TRAF. 345.29

373.01 COMPLIANCE; CODE APPLICATION TO BICYCLES.
(a) No person shall do any act forbidden or fail to perform any act required in this
article.

(b) The parent of any child and the guardian of any ward shall not authorize or
knowingly permit any such child or ward to violate any of the provisions of this Traffic Code.

(©) These regulations applicable to bicycles shall apply whenever a bicycle is operated
upon any street or highway or upon any path set aside for the exclusive use of bicycles subject to
those exceptions stated herein.

(WVaC 17C-11-1)

373.02 OBEDIENCE TO TRAFFIC RULES; EXCEPTIONS.

Every person riding a bicycle upon a roadway shall be granted all of the rights and shall
be subject to all of the duties applicable to the driver of a vehicle by this Traffic Code, except as
to special regulations in this article and except as to those provisions of this Traffic Code which

by their nature can have no application.
(WvaC 17C-11-2)
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373.03 RIDING UPON SEATS; NUMBER OF PERSONS.
(a) A person propelling a bicycle shall not ride other than upon or astride a permanent
and regular seat attached thereto.

(b) No bicycle shall be used to carry more persons at one time than the number for
which it is designed and equipped.
(WvaC 17C-11-3)

373.04 ATTACHING BICYCLE OR SLED TO VEHICLE.

No person riding upon any bicycle, coaster, skateboard, roller skates, sled or toy vehicle
shall attach the same or himself to any vehicle upon a roadway.
(WvVaC 17C-11-4)

373.05 RIDING ON ROADWAYS AND BICYCLE PATHS.

(a) Ever er abicy a shall ride right side
of the roadway as , ising ssing a st le or one
proceeding in the same direction.

(b) Persons riding bicycles upon a roadway shall not ride more than two abreast except
on paths or parts of roadways set aside for the exclusive use of bicycles.

(c) Whenever a usable path for bicycles has been provided adjacent to a roadway,
bicycle riders shall use such path and shall not use the roadway.
(WVaC 17C-11-5)

373.06 CARRYING ARTICLES.

No person operating a bicycle shall carry any package, bundle or article which prevents
the driver from keeping at least one hand upon the handlebars.
(WvaC 17C-11-6)

373.07 LIGHTS AND REFLECTOR ON BICYCLE; SIGNAL DEVICE;
BRAKES.
(a) Every bicycle when 1n use at nighttime shall be equipped with a lamp on the front
which shall emit a white light visible from a distance of at least 500 feet to the front and with a

red reflector on the 0 ap by rtment of Motor Vehicles h shall be
visible from all dist s fty 30 the rear when directly in of lawful
u lamps o or vehicle. A lamp emitting a red light visible from a
d the rear used in ¢ dition to the red reflector.

(b) No person shall operate a bicycle unless it is equipped with a bell or other device
capable of giving a signal audible for a distance of at least 100 feet, except that a bicycle shall not
be equipped with nor shall any person use upon a bicycle any siren or whistle.

(c) Every bicycle shall be equipped with a brake which will enable the operator to
make the braked wheels skid on dry, level, clean pavement.
(WvaC 17C-11-7)
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373.08 RECKLESS OPERATION; CONTROL, COURSE AND SPEED.
No person shall operate a bicycle:

(@)

(b)
(©

(d)
©)

Without due regard for the safety and rights of pedestrians and drivers and
occupants of all other vehicles, and so as to endanger the life, limb or property of
any person while in the lawful use of the streets or sidewalks or any other public
or private property;

Without exercising reasonable and ordinary control over such bicycle;

In a weaving or zigzag course unless such irregular course is necessary for safe
operation in compliance with law;

Without both hands upon the handle grips except when necessary to give the
required hand and arm signals, or as provided in Section 373.06;

At a speed greater than is reasonable and prudent under the conditions then
existing.

373.09 BICYCLE HELMETS FOR CHILDREN.

(a)

As used in this section:

(1) "Bicycle" means a human-powered vehicle with wheels designed to
transport, by the action of pedaling, one or more persons seated on one or
more saddle seats on its frame. Such term also includes a human-powered
vehicle, and any attachment to such vehicle designed to transport by
pedaling when the vehicle is used on a public roadway, public bicycle path
or other public right-of-way, but does not include a tricycle.

2) "Tricycle" means a three-wheeled human-powered vehicle designed for use
as a toy by a single child under the age of six years, the seat of which is no
more than two feet from ground level.

3) "Public roadway" means a right of way under the jurisdiction and control
of this State or the Municipality for use primarily by motor vehicles.

)] "Public bicycle path" means a right of way under the jurisdiction and
control of this State or the Municipality for use primarily by bicycles and
pedestrians.

(5) "Other public right-of-way" means any right of way other than a public
roadway or public bicycle path that is under the jurisdiction and control of
this State or the Municipality and is designed for use and used by vehicular
or pedestrian traffic.

6) "Protective bicycle helmet" means a piece of headgear which meets or
exceeds the impact standards for protective bicycle helmets set by the
American National Standards Institute (ANSI) or the Snell Memorial
Foundation’s standards for protective headgear or American Society for
Testing and Materials (ASTM) for use in bicycling.

@) "Passenger" means any person who travels on a bicycle in any manner
except as an operator.
&) "Operator" means a person who travels on a bicycle seated on a saddle seat

from which that person is intended to and can pedal the bicycle.
(WVaC 17-11A-3)
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(b)

(1) It is unlawful for any person under fifteen years of age to operate or be a
passenger on a bicycle or any attachment to a bicycle used on a public
roadway, public bicycle path or other public right of way unless at all times
when the person is so engaged he or she wears a protective bicycle helmet
of good fit, fastened securely upon the head with the straps of the helmet.

(2) It is unlawful for any parent or legal guardian of a person under fifteen
years of age to knowingly permit such person to operate or be a passenger
on a bicycle or on any attachment to a bicycle used on a public roadway,
public bicycle path or other public right of way unless at all times when the
person is so engaged he or she wears a protective bicycle helmet of good
fit, fastened securely upon the head with the straps of the helmet.
(WVaC 17C-11A-4)

(©) Any helmet sold or offered for sale for use by operators
and passengers of bicycles shall be conspicuously labeled in accordance with the standard
described in subsection (a)(6) hereof, which shall constitute the manufacturer’s certification that
the helmet conforms to the applicable safety standards. (WVaC 17C-11A-5)

(d) A violation of subsection (b) hereof is not admissible as evidence
of negligence or contributory negligence or comparative negligence in any civil action or
proceeding for damages, and shall not be admissible in mitigation of damages.

(WVaC 17C-11A-6)

373.10 OPERATION ON SIDEWALKS PROHIBITED.
No person shall operate a bicycle on any sidewalk within the City.
(1987 Code 15E-2-9)

373.99 PENALTY.

(EDITOR'S NOTE: See Section 303.99 for general Traffic Code penalty.)

(a) Notwithstanding the provisions of Section 303.99, any parent or legal guardian
vio any r ement set in Section 373.09(b) shall be fined ten dollars
/41 s ban dsnd dn amn wen dvvrn bArven i Ancvrerrizeatrr ansrrinan walatad A o
\LDLU.UU} vl UL lb\.lull\ru w P\tl 1UL11L LYWU 1IUWULD 111 vuuuuuuu_y OVl ViIWL lviailvu wvuU a
child injury prevention program which includes injury prevention education or both
fined and required to perform such community service. Notwithstanding the
provisions of West Virginia Code 8-11-1, no court costs may be assessed to any
person violating the requirements of Section 373.09(b).

) In the case of a first violation of Section 373.09(b), the court may waive the fine
upon receipt of satisfactory proof that the person has a helmet or within a
reasonable time from the date of the violation, purchased or otherwise obtained,
a protective bicycle helmet.

© It is an absolute defense to a charge for a violation of Section 373.09 that a parent
or legal guardian is unable to pay for the protective bicycle helmet. Inability to
pay may be demonstrated by the filing of a financial affidavit in accordance with
the provisions of West Virginia Code 59-2-1(c). Any person who demonstrates
inability to pay shall be referred to the Governor’s highway safety program for
assistance in obtaining the appropriate helmet or helmets.

(WVaC 17C-11A-7)



